Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 25th August 2009, 18:39   #91

The O-Team aka Organizers

An event of this nature,well-planned, fluid, improvised and executed would not have been possible with out the help of the O-Team, led by Maj.S.R.Roy and the JEEPers, from the Home of JEEPTHRILLS.

1) Maj.S.R.Roy (TPC2006-present)
2) Manoj Shah (TPC2008-Present)
3) Arca "DEEP" Datta (TPC2006-present)
4) Rajkumar Jaykumar (TPC2007-present)
5) DEE Ravi aka trooper
6) Venkat Muthaiyan
7) Mahendran.K
8) "Zeal" Siva
9) Raghav IGNITE
10)Aravind aka ABS
11) Mhd. Ali (TPC2006-present)
THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-majsrr01.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-manoj-shah.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-deep02.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-raj01.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-dravi02.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-dravi01.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-venkat01.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-mahendrank01.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-siva02.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-p1010107.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-aravaind.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-img_0202.jpg  

THE PALAR CHALLENGE 2009: Event Report-venkat02.jpg  

Last edited by ex670c : 25th August 2009 at 18:40.
Old 26th August 2009, 05:51   #92

Just when I compliment you guys for the excellent safety standards, it is all trashed with somebody riding down a pretty steep decline with no helmet or any protective gear either.
Old 26th August 2009, 10:57   #93

Slow speed manevour

Originally Posted by mazdayar View Post
Just when I compliment you guys for the excellent safety standards, it is all trashed with somebody riding down a pretty steep decline with no helmet or any protective gear either.
Mazdayar,
That was Ragav taking a short ride on ATV. He wasnt competing. I was present at the location and he was pretty slow, rather just getting a taste of ATV and was posing for the pic thats it! For a pic you need to be without helmet..doesnt it? :-)))

Last edited by vinod_nookala : 26th August 2009 at 10:59.
Old 26th August 2009, 14:14   #94

Hey guys

Check the following link from The Rainforest challenge website

Rainforest Challenge

It clearly states the level at which The Palar Chellenge is being witnessed. With personal accolades from veterans of The Rainforest Chellenge, it’s anybody's guess as to how TPC is being received not just in India but beyond our borders as well.

Sometimes, its quite flabbergasting to see that when one of our events is being witnessed as a premier off roading event by veterans in the field beyond geographic borders, our own folks who should in fact support the event end up making childish and irresponsible remarks to draw personal publicity. Guys, lets grow out of this group centric support for events and look at the larger picture as only that would ensure the growth of the sport in the country. Let’s support an event that has set the benchmark for off road events in terms of terrain, skill set, preparation and quality of organizational capabilities of the organizers. If anyone disagrees, try superseding it with an event of your own rather than ridiculing a quality competition. If someone can come up with something better, it would be received in the right spirits and im sure the organizers and participants of TPC would be more appreciative of it than anyone else as it helps the sport grow. NOW THAT IS BEING A TRUE ENTHUSIAST not just in words but in action.

For those who mentioned the rainforest challenge in previous posts (a month and half back) and had issues with TPC being pitted as the toughest Indian off road challenge, I guess even you would agree that finding mention on the RFC website takes some kind of quality. So till some one or some event manages to receive those laurels, I guess critics would have to eat humble pie.

Note to mods – Did not intend to target anyone personally. Just wanted to bring out the true achievement that TPC was and send a message across to the critics who were firing blanks. AFTER ALL IS THIS NOT THE PALAR CHALLENGE THREAD?

Last edited by petrol_head : 26th August 2009 at 14:16.
Old 26th August 2009, 14:23   #95

Its an honour!

Wonderful guys!! Just saw the link. Its an honour to be pictured in RFC website!!
Old 26th August 2009, 18:59   #96

Originally Posted by vinod_nookala View Post
Its an honour to be pictured in RFC website!!
Yup that too holding centerstage with all the laurels!
Old 27th August 2009, 10:54   #97

Guys, any feedback on how the different kind of tyres performed? How did the Maxxis trepador perform on sand. My little 100 mts of sand driving suggests that they are NOT at home on sand.

Old 27th August 2009, 11:24   #98

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
Guys, any feedback on how the different kind of tyres performed? How did the Maxxis trepador perform on sand. My little 100 mts of sand driving suggests that they are NOT at home on sand.
I dont know - but the guy who drove that Jeep ENJOYED himself.

I had no problems with my 235 Michelins doing her 3rd TPC
Old 27th August 2009, 11:55   #99

Performance of Various Tyres

This year it was not too hot during TPC09, and we had rains, the days before the event, so the sand was wet (water accumulation 1-3ft driving surface).

Day#1 (14/08/09) was moderately hot, with high humidity.

The Special Stages were Sand Quarries with Sand & Mud pits, this makes the pits a virtual sink hole with every wheel spin, as we saw in the 2nd Recce further corroborated by Day#1 SS1 manned by Trooper.

Even here we manged to get Zeal Siva's CJ3B stuck, during the event, while setting up the Special Stages, Mahendran with the 7.00X16 NDMS pulled Zeal Siva's JEEP out.

I'll List out the teams vehicles and Tyres
Team 1 - Vikram R (MG413W) 235/75/15 Michelin LTX
Dr.Jones (PROWLER) 31/10.50/15 BFG AT/KA
Rajamohan A (MM540) 7.50X16 JK Sand cum Highway

Team 2 - Sanjay David (MM540) 7.50X16 JK Sand cum Highway
Patrick V (CJ3B) 235/75/15 Pirelli Scorpio A/T
Vinod Nookala (MM540DP) 235/70/16 Bridgestone H/T

Team 3 - Vijayanand (JONGA) 7.50X16 Apollo Bullet
Dr. Rajkumar (CJ5) 7.50X16 Apollo Bullet
Babu (Isuzu Trooper)

Team 4 - Ranjith (CLASSIC) 235/75/15 Yokohama AT/S
Manzoor (MM540) 33/12.50/15 Kumho MT7
Jose (MM540) 235/75/15 Forcum MT

Team 5 - Sean Hameed (MG413W) 215/75/15 Yokohama AT/S
Baskar Keshavalu (MM540) 7.00X16 MRF NDMS

In the O-Team we had

Zeal Siva (CJ3B) 235/75/15 Maxxis Trepador
Rajkumar J (CJ3B) 235/75/15 Maxxis Trepador
Manoj Shah (MM540) 7.00X16 MRF NDMS
Venkat M (MM540) 7.00X16 MRF NDMS
Mahendran K (MM540) 7.00X16 MRF NDMS
Maj.SRRoy (MM540) 235/75/15 MRF Sigma GP
Arka (MM540) 7.50X16 Venture Re-treads
Deep (4W73) 8.25X20 MRF NDMS
Raghav (CJ3B) 6.00X16 MRF NDMS

Since most of the SS had a sand/mud factor the MT tyres were saving the day, on hot dry sand, the Maxxis type (Paddle tyres) tend to dig in a bit, but that helps in the climbs.

The Yokohama ATS performed quite well and they were in very able hands.

For Sand/Mud combination the Apollo Bullet are ideal. The JK Sand/Highway is not very aggressive for muddy situations.

I have seen the Forcum MT perform very well in Munnar, but on sand it digs in and does not facilitate forward movement.

Baskar Kesavalu did a fantastic job with the 7.00X16 NDMS, and was virtually unstoppable in the sand/mud special stages, he had a bit of difficulty in the regular sand climbs as expected of the 7.00X16 NDMS.

My retread very very good on flat sand, but on climbs they were miserable, no side lugs to grip out of a climb.

The Maxxis Mudzilla (31-11.50-15/16) is a good sand & mud pattern.

My choice for MM540 for TPC2010
1) 7.50X16 Apollo Bullet
2) 7.50X16 NDMS
3) Maxxis Mudzilla 31-11.50-16
Old 27th August 2009, 12:20   #100

Tyres

Arka Dude,
What about Bridgestone HT? Dont rob it off the fame yaar, it did what others dreamt for past 2 years!!

I strongly feel tyre contact patch and floatation plays an important role on sand than the kind of thread pattern you have. NDMS 700 16 even if u deflate to 15 psi doesnt give you enough floatation on sand due to center rib and aggressive threads. My earlier 265/75/16 bridgestone were even better on sand as it used to just float on sand. I got rod of it as it hindered full articulation and also was damn heavy!

I feel a tall tyre with 100 aspect ratio will do wonders on sand! However I quite agree with your tyre slection for all round performance

p.s - Is sanjay davids 7.50 16? Looks like 700-16 sand cum highway to me

Last edited by vinod_nookala : 27th August 2009 at 12:24.
Old 27th August 2009, 12:27   #101

Arka Dude,
What about Bridgestone HT? Dont rob it off the fame yaar, it did what others dreamt for past 2 years!!

I strongly feel tyre contact patch and floatation plays an important role on sand than the kind of thread pattern you have. NDMS 700 16 even if u deflate to 15 psi doesnt give you enough floatation on sand due to center rib and aggressive threads. My earlier 265/75/16 bridgestone were even better on sand as it used to just float on sand. I got rod of it as it hindered full articulation and also was damn heavy!

I feel a tall tyre with 100 aspect ratio will do wonders on sand! However I quite agree with your tyre slection for all round performance
Hi Vinod,

You are Hillary Clinton (Running Mate) to any team.

But I pray tell us how many times your team-mates were pulled or winched out of the climbs/ Special Stages .

That becomes the performance element.

Arka
Old 27th August 2009, 14:12   #102

Originally Posted by ex670c View Post
how many times your team-mates were pulled or winched out of the climbs/ Special Stages .

I got pulled around 3 times day 2 and once on day 1. And my main problem was articulation sir!

Ofcourse I did not use a JEEP
Old 27th August 2009, 16:46   #103

Articulate

Originally Posted by headers View Post
I got pulled around 3 times day 2 and once on day 1. And my main problem was articulation sir!
Are you sure, I thought it was due to lack of preparation.

Don't you think a set of Maxxis trepadors would have compensated for the lack of articulation?

Last edited by ex670c : 27th August 2009 at 16:57.
Old 27th August 2009, 17:50   #104

Driving skills vs tyre thread

Hi Vinod,

You are Hillary Clinton (Running Mate) to any team.

But I pray tell us how many times your team-mates were pulled or winched out of the climbs/ Special Stages .

Arka
Didnt quite understand the Hillary Clinton comparision, anyway i think my teammates didnt require towing 99% due to their driving skills. That 1 % stuck up happened due to not enough breakover angle and thats when we landed on our belly. Some of our otherstuck ups were pure stupidity

So where do tyres come here? Well, tall tyres of sanjay gave 540 almost match 3bs breakover angle and allowed him to go low tyre pressures (he could have still gone lower). Never found his sand tyres zooming off and my tyres struggling for grip in the same section. Floatation is the key on sand , thread is not! HT's are pathetic in slush and mud i agree but on sand i didnt find any difference!

4x4 gurus can throw some light...

p.s- Iam looking forward to this discussion as this would decide my next tyre, else Arka will not allow me participate next time

Last edited by Jaggu : 28th August 2009 at 12:14. Reason: 2 smilies per post, pleaese. Thanks
Old 27th August 2009, 18:26   #105

I thought it was due to lack of preparation.

Don't you think a set of Maxxis trepadors would have compensated for the lack of articulation?
Definitely NOT - Infact I'm quite happy with my Michelins. You are right about the lack of preparation bit, but when work beckons, one has to give priority right?

Iam looking forward to this discussion as this would decide my next tyre, else Arka will not allow me participate next time

Vinod, we better take it offline - I need some hydrant to discuss these issues!