Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 27th January 2010, 00:11   #61

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
@Rudra camp was not on the other side but at the valley of that hill, after the lake, you can see the brick stacks, that was the location as pointed out to me by Khan saab.
Hello!! I was baby sitting someone while you guys were having fun. It's difficult to split thought process in a time like that. More over, we got lost twice in the middle of nowhere.
Old 27th January 2010, 00:35   #62

Originally Posted by star_aqua View Post
What? he broke the snorkel head?? oh! i should have told him that the jeep has snorkel too
Star, no amount of warning or advice would save the odd snorkel, cladding, bumper, footrest etc from getting scraped/smashed or removed from the body completely on this trail.

Only certain vehicles, which came prepared with less/none of these extra fittings came out with least amount of damage

Originally Posted by Baburajs View Post
yes. The trail was quite Unforgiving at some areas. We the first group went through some trails that was by passed by the next groups as they considered it to be too difficult or too dangerous. . But we went through and I have the fibre cladding of my 340 broken in many places. Dont know if I can find a replacement for the same.
If you plan to go off roading in this part of the country again, I would suggest removing whats left of the cladding

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
.......Anyways - watch closely for the Scorpio's problems with IFS and also the Prowess it has with a 100+ BHP Engine and Torque!!

1 Scorpio on Rocks
2 Chennai Jeep

Pic #2 is definitely not a Chennai Jeep

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
I am glad the Scorpio team completed this time. Generally they are let down by the electronics of their steeds.
The reason they did is that each of them removed the Electronic TC switch for a good ol fashioned 4WD lever. They were so happy to share and show others this mod.

Originally Posted by dhrishikesh View Post
@ All,
Asking again, whose JONGA is that ?? Is it dieselised or still having original 4L petrol engine ??
Who has come with MH15 Temporary registration THAR ?? Is this a same Thar (Thar Adventure ??) which is on display in Auto Expo ???
The Jonga from Salem was with a Diesel engine from a mini Truck. Forgot which one.

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
It was part of the Jeepers team from Chennai. It is a dieselised version -- running a canter engine, IIRC.
Ahh right - Canter!

Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
Why is that Jeep sporting different tyres in the front? NDMS on the left and radial on the right.
Clipped a Rock edge. The rim and rock edge pinched the side wall. The NDMS was his spare. From what I understand this odd tire did not affect his movement through the other obstacles.

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Were there any last minute dropouts at all? In fact, I heard there were many gate crashers instead. Hope there was enough food for everybody.
Yup. Many Gate crashers, from what I understand some did not even pay. Those of you who did not pay yet, please speak with Dwarak and do the needful.

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
While driving towards Chennai, near Sri Perumbudur, I saw two jeeps - one black sporting nO. 36 and another grey MM540. I thought of waving them to stop but as traffic was heavy, couldn't. Would have loved meeting the folks
Black 540 is Ali's Jeep. The Grey color Jeep, grey all round? Sure? more a mix of 3-4 colors. That would be Arka's highly modded 540, which is quite a riot to drive.

You should have waved, they are a very friendly and enthusiastic bunch of guys.
Old 27th January 2010, 00:50   #63

Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
Hello!! I was baby sitting someone while you guys were having fun. It's difficult to split thought process in a time like that. More over, we got lost twice in the middle of nowhere.
we "planned" to have fun but then fate had other plans, rather almost "split" our "plans" into two. So we decided to chat and doze off on the rocks beside the lake, waiting for all. But i guess that was also fun, "contemplating" on what to do in the coming months.
Old 27th January 2010, 01:03   #64

Ok here are the pictures from my side. I know im not even near to pictures or the detailing by Rudra Sir, just a contribution from my side :

Picture arrival to the junction till the briefing :
BTW saw an amazing Lambo at airport road on that day. It was easily doing 200+.

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5285.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5286.jpg

Name:  IMG_5288.JPG
Views: 1553
Size:  46.8 KB

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5289.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5290.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5291.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5296.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5298.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5300.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5304.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5305.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5306.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5307.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5308.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5309.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5312.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5313.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5314.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5315.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5317.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5318.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5321.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5322.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5323.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5325.jpg

Last edited by livyodream : 27th January 2010 at 01:04.
Old 27th January 2010, 01:15   #65

Pictures toll Lunch :

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5325.jpg

Name:  IMG_5328.JPG
Views: 1479
Size:  117.4 KB

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5339.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5342.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5351.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5353.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5357.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5359.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5360.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5361.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5364.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5366.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5368.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5371.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5373.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5374.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5376.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5378.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5380.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5383.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5384.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5388.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5390.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5406.jpg

Name:  IMG_5413.JPG
Views: 1308
Size:  191.8 KB

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5420.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5422.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5431.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5432.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5438.jpg

Contd..
Old 27th January 2010, 01:22   #66

contd..

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5439.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5442.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5443.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5445.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5455.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5458.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5460.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5461.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5463.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5470.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5477.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5484.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5485.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5489.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5492.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5494.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5497.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5499.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5501.jpg

Name:  IMG_5503.JPG
Views: 1244
Size:  150.4 KB

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5506.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5513.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5516.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5518.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5522.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5524.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5537.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5540.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5553.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5570.jpg
Old 27th January 2010, 01:26   #67

contd..

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5583.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5586.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5588.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5594.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5597.jpg

Name:  IMG_5599.JPG
Views: 1149
Size:  163.3 KB

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5614.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5628.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5653.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5656.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5657.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5670.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5672.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5673.jpg
Old 27th January 2010, 01:37   #68

This is something no one noticed. Yes, the legend checking out our vijis jeeps top (having Thar in mind i suppose ).

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5701.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5702.jpg

After lunch till the Slush :

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5678.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5679.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5680.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5681.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5684.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5688.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5689.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5692.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5695.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5696.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5697.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5698.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5705.jpg

Name:  IMG_5708.JPG
Views: 1036
Size:  119.1 KB

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5709.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5711.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5713.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5716.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5720.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5722.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5729.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5730.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-img_5732.jpg
Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-test.gif  

Last edited by livyodream : 27th January 2010 at 01:56.
Old 27th January 2010, 02:12   #69

Too sleepy to process.
Tomorrows teaser :

Project THAR:

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-1.jpg

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-2.jpg

Complete detailing by Khan and Viji :

Few Facts about this Jeep:

1> Viji swastik is the first Indian/TBHPian to break the THAR's glove box . he somehow managed to fix it back later.

2> Shanawaz is one the 1st TBHPian to to turn on the ignition of the THAR.

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-3.jpg
And a brand new thread coming soon : "PROJECT THAR DOOR"
Contact either one of them for more details..

Not so Live Report: Bangalore Annual OTR, Avalakondu 24-25 Jan 2010!-4.jpg

Last edited by livyodream : 27th January 2010 at 02:20.
Old 27th January 2010, 02:21   #70

Originally Posted by IronWolf View Post
Star, no amount of warning or advice would save the odd snorkel, cladding, bumper, footrest etc from getting scraped/smashed or removed from the body completely on this trail.

Only certain vehicles, which came prepared with less/none of these extra fittings came out with least amount of damage

If you plan to go off roading in this part of the country again, I would suggest removing whats left of the cladding
Iron, i was not serious about my comments and you know what, the same jeep with the same extra fittings has done the same trail before without any damages. and for you there was some amount of bypass on the actual trail to save you and your jeep. do you know that?

@livyodream: thanks for the pics akaash. covered most.

Last edited by star_aqua : 27th January 2010 at 02:26.
Old 27th January 2010, 08:32   #71

Originally Posted by livyodream View Post
2> Shanawaz is one the 1st TBHPian to to turn on the ignition of the THAR.
Not really. Behram, Fazal & Cyrus must have done this before.
Old 27th January 2010, 08:53   #72

The trail was good, requiring skill and tactical approach, understanding the vehicles dynamics as well as engine characteristics.

It was not too severe and as we were at the rear could not watch the front guys in action.

It would be fun to do the same during monsoon where one needs effort to complete the same.

Our group from Chennai [including the lone Jonga from Salem] completed the trail without much problems and we thank the Bangalore JT guys for giving us the opportunity to explore the trail.

Also thank TBHP to provide the platform to spread the message.
Old 27th January 2010, 09:03   #73

Originally Posted by star_aqua View Post
Iron, i was not serious about my comments and you know what, the same jeep with the same extra fittings has done the same trail before without any damages. and for you there was some amount of bypass on the actual trail to save you and your jeep. do you know that?

@livyodream: thanks for the pics akaash. covered most.

Hey Vijay , This was a different trail than the earlier ones. It was through dense thorn bushes .

But Iron , yes you guys went through a by passed way which was also difficult but was less dangerous than which we first group went through.

Babu
Old 27th January 2010, 09:50   #74

Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
Why is that Jeep sporting different tyres in the front? NDMS on the left and radial on the right.
Yeh we were unfortunate enough to burst our front left tyre on the first rocky climb. Was due to the side wall hitting a sharp stone.
Old 27th January 2010, 10:27   #75

Mammoth event. 3 cheers to the organisers for this one. Ironwolf, continue your report, nice reading about the events. Vikram, did you take your gypsy ? Can't find any snaps of it.