Originally Posted by headers View Post
if my "THAR" is ready, then i'm in too
Does that mean you will drive it down?
Old 19th May 2010, 22:03   #182
DKG

The Terra Tigers need to turn up in full force like they did in Bangalore. All in drivers seats, no passenger seat stuff please. Please ask Sanjay to come too.

Kya bhai aisa kare to kaisa? Monsoon fun is what we all have been waiting for.

Arka/Vikram come to Hyderabad and we'll drive across together with some more guys from here.

Some of you from the organisers should invite UBS. No gathering would be complete without him.
Old 19th May 2010, 22:29   #183

Originally Posted by DKG View Post

Some of you from the organisers should invite UBS. No gathering would be complete without him.
Already done that...
Old 19th May 2010, 22:38   #184

Kya bhai aisa kare to kaisa?
Typical Hyderabadi style, I just love this slang.

Sorry for going OT, just could not resist myself from posting.
Old 19th May 2010, 22:41   #185

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
Typical Hyderabadi style, I just love this slang.

Sorry for going OT, just could not resist myself from posting.
Spikey, we are expecting the Mahindra gang to be there as well with 5-6 thars which the chennai boys can drive.
Old 19th May 2010, 23:29   #186

The Terra Tigers need to turn up in full force like they did in Bangalore. All in drivers seats, no passenger seat stuff please. Please ask Sanjay to come too.

Kya bhai aisa kare to kaisa? Monsoon fun is what we all have been waiting for.
Did give a thought to that initally, however it is 1300 kms and there is the return drive to consider.

We could have done it with more boys and more jeeps probably. This time though will probably take the easier route of flying in and flying out.

Last edited by fiery enzyme : 19th May 2010 at 23:35.
Old 20th May 2010, 06:12   #187

@Chennai guys - the train is always an option. However ASININE and ILLEGAL taxes like Octroi will give the thieves opportunity to hassle you at the station when you go to pick up your vehicle. Better to train it to Kolhapur or somewhere sensible and then drive down from there. Only 350 kms that way to the venue.

Alternatively rent one of those "Automobile" transporter trucks from Mahindra...maybe BD can help with this load up and show up.
Old 20th May 2010, 06:39   #188

Originally Posted by gsferrari View Post
Alternatively rent one of those "Automobile" transporter trucks from Mahindra...maybe BD can help with this load up and show up.
THAT is a great idea BD sir, Spikey? VN my friend, any pointers?
Old 20th May 2010, 07:41   #189

It costs Rs.7500/- per car one way to truck it down from Chennai to Mumbai. It's cheaper to hire a bunch of drivers who will drive all your cars together in a convoy to Bombay.

Anyways, UBS has confirmed (as a passenger).
Old 20th May 2010, 08:08   #190

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
It costs Rs.7500/- per car one way to truck it down from Chennai to Mumbai. It's cheaper to hire a bunch of drivers who will drive all your cars together in a convoy to Bombay.

Anyways, UBS has confirmed (as a passenger).
Great! I look forward to interacting with Ubs !
Old 20th May 2010, 08:42   #191

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
thanks doc, now we can take a better decision..

if time permits, one can drive down!! Its more fun driving down..
Old 20th May 2010, 09:12   #192

I do Mumbai - Chennai very frequently by bike, car, gypsy and I can assure you, in the rains it will be an astonishing experience even if you take the GQ. If the Goa OTR is happening then drive up to Haveri and turn off from there towards Panaji. Wrap up here and turn towards Belgaum. I would skip NH-17 in the rainy season because you will encounter multiple truck accidents/breakdown scenes with ABSOLUTE certainty. The 7-8 hour journey will end up costing you at least 3 times as much on NH-17.

The best stretch of highway is between Kolhapur - Belgaum - Hubli - Haveri
Old 20th May 2010, 09:21   #193

hi motocamp,
I would like to join in as a passenger space permitting. It would be a memorable to see the legends of offroading in action.
Old 20th May 2010, 11:36   #194

Originally Posted by DDDHRUV View Post
hi motocamp,
I would like to join in as a passenger space permitting. It would be a memorable to see the legends of offroading in action.
Hi Dhruv , we will announce the booking amount and dates soon apart from other details , keep checking this thread.

Accomodation is the one limiting factor.
Old 20th May 2010, 11:39   #195

Originally Posted by headers View Post
thanks doc, now we can take a better decision..

if time permits, one can drive down!! Its more fun driving down..
Vikram, Fun yes it is. But we would need a complete week if we drive down and back. Remember it is 1300 kms approx.