Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 26th May 2010, 16:58   #31

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
In addition to Kunal's schedule, the bombay group has planned the Sawarsi and Rajmachhi events.

I know most of the out of towners are arriving by thursday night and are planning to halt at Pune.

So this is the plan:

Friday early morning to late evening, we do the Rajmachhi circuit in lonavla. Then we head to Kunal's farm (2hours drive). Then we proceed as per Kunal's schedule.

On Sunday, after breakfast, we head out to Sawarsi which is 2.5hours away and do that trail. This is the most difficult trail with steep climbs.

We would be done by late evening.

You guys are going to have three days to crazy offroading. That's a promise.
This seems to be perfect ,doing Rajmachi on Sunday would be impossible ,as Rajmachi is frequented by all sorts of people and is a picnic point these days.
SO Friday-Rajmachi, Saturday:Karjat ,Sunday: Sawrsai looks great.
Lets plan accordingly.

Last edited by mohan : 26th May 2010 at 17:00.
Old 26th May 2010, 17:07   #32

seems good doc
lets freeze on this so outstation guys can plan accordingly
word of advice: dont miss this
The Alfa Kilo Challenge event details.-03082008807.jpg  

The Alfa Kilo Challenge event details.-slide2.jpg  

The Alfa Kilo Challenge event details.-slide3.jpg  

Old 26th May 2010, 17:13   #33

Originally Posted by xtreme power View Post
seems good doc
lets freeze on this so outstation guys can plan accordingly
word of advice: dont miss this
This is the perfect recipe. Like water for chocolate!
Old 26th May 2010, 17:16   #34

Originally Posted by gsferrari View Post
Bangalore to Pune is EASY in 1 day. I have done Bangalore to Mumbai in the Gypsy with comfort in 1 day. 6:00am to 9:00pm. if you start earlier then you will be able to reach Pune in time for tea at 5:00pm. Plenty of time to rest.
We would be a convoy of 2-3 jeeps, so have to do it in 2 days.

Originally Posted by xtreme power View Post
i second staying at lonavala on thursday
the weather will be perfect
reduces the morning drive time also, so less fatigue
You folks suggest.. we will stay/travel around as you suggest.

Folks from Bangalore would stay Sunday night, rest/relax and then move on back to Bangalore.

khan saab il exchange the real tent story for a drive in spidey
Arre yaar, you are embarrassing me now. You can drive my Gypsy ANY TIME man. So now am waiting for juicy stories at the OTR.

Infact at any OTR, more than off-roading, it is being with friends, chit-chatting, light-banter, having fun is what is so priceless about these OTR's.
Old 26th May 2010, 17:24   #35
DKG

Like a good biker friend from Mumbai always says to me " Arre Deepak bhai full masti aur dhamaal karne ka apun ko!!"

Man this is going to be a riot. Allan you seem to be cooking up one hell of a recipe there !! Rajmachi and red bull women You keep talking like this I can bet this trip will become a family affair as no wife will let a hubby a mile anywhere near you !!
Old 26th May 2010, 17:27   #36

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post

Infact at any OTR, more than off-roading, it is being with friends, chit-chatting, light-banter, having fun is what is so priceless about these OTR's.
Yes, in the just concluded OTR, we practised the latter part thoroughly so that we get the technique of being with friends, chit-chatting, light-banter, having fun pakka
Old 26th May 2010, 20:25   #37

Guys Im in !
with my jeep !
Im so sure it is gonna be a blast.

SECRET-I was studying late yesterday night as my exams are going on, IT RAINED AT 3:30 !

So i think rains are going to be there after all !
Old 26th May 2010, 20:45   #38

Damn it - I was awake at 3.30 and I missed the shower!
Anyway, it was pretty cloudy this evening too - big rain clouds.
Old 26th May 2010, 21:05   #39

Khan - even with conservative driving, BLR to Pune is still under 1 day. Taking 2 days is too long. The NH4 is very good once you cross Haveri. If you all meet at Nelamangala toll booth at 6:00am sharp you will reach Rannebennur by 10:00am for a bite. Hubli is 1.5 hours from here. You should cross Belgaum by 1:30pm. Stop for lunch here. Kolhapur by 3:30pm. Satara by 5:00pm and Pune by 7:00pm max!!

These are conservative estimates...

2 days is too long! You will unnecessarily spend on hotel at Hubli.

Trust me on this. Just maintain 75-80 kph all the way through. This gives you 1 extra day to sort out vehicles and get your bearings.
Old 26th May 2010, 21:39   #40

Agree with GS here, you can easily do the Blr-Pune drive in a day, keeping sedate speeds.
Old 26th May 2010, 21:53   #41

Originally Posted by gsferrari View Post

2 days is too long! You will unnecessarily spend on hotel at Hubli.

Trust me on this. Just maintain 75-80 kph all the way through.
GS: If Jeeps are coming along then, 75-80 is tough to maintain all day through!!
Old 26th May 2010, 22:12   #42

See we are not planning a GQ blast, we want to reduce the fatigue and enjoy the trip as much as possible. ie if everybody can manage the time off from what they generally do. With a convoy, stops, photo shoots, etc etc it can take time or we will have to become serious highway drivers.

For us its 3 full day trails plus 1600+ Kms so lil sedate wont hurt.

Anyways nothing has been finalized yet and am sure it will happen only on the previous day, going by BLR boys standards
Old 26th May 2010, 23:58   #43

Guys, for a wanna be member of your gang, with my brand new Endy (yes I have seen pics of the Endy being pulled out of the muck by the crane, and I am not getting my poor baby any where close to that, until she's a little older and I'm a little bolder!), what are the options? I would love to be around, at least for part of the event, even if it's just as a spectator and to help you folks in any way I can!

I am from Pune, any chance me and some friends can join for a little amateur OTR somewhere?
Old 27th May 2010, 08:25   #44

We have been getting lots of queries regarding spectators and passengers, both online and offline. A protocol will be put up for the same by afternoon after I discuss with the rest of the gang (now officially called Extreme Offroaders )
Old 27th May 2010, 09:12   #45

@Tejas/Kunal/Allan: A request, please limit the participation (vehicles/passengers/spectators) to manageable numbers.

You can't satisfy everyone..