Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 1st June 2010, 11:42   #31

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
So was this a full fledged OTR or a unsuccessful Recce?
This was not full fledged OTR and was a successful Recce as others Mentioned. What made u to think otherwise

--Sree--
Old 1st June 2010, 11:52   #32

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Where is siddharths gypsy?

Dude is saving so many cars out there with his weird and whacky postitions

So was this a full fledged OTR or a unsuccessful Recce?
What do you call! full fledged successful OTR recce. Vehicle basher for sure. Definitely not for big gang. At the max 6-8 vehicles.
Old 1st June 2010, 13:52   #33

Based on the observations here, this track seems to be best if there are limited number of vehicles.

Crossing some points would need lot of attention, both from the spotters and the drivers. Not something that would be achievable (or, might be difficult) if there are too many vehicles.

@Jaggu: What happened to Dwarf? Isn't this the kind of place that guy would love?
Old 1st June 2010, 15:47   #34

Nothing happened to DwArF, Khan and myself were feeling lazy and decided we will take either Spidey or DwArF that's all.
Old 1st June 2010, 16:33   #35

One cant really make out from the pics how precariously dwarak's gypsy was dangling there on 3 wheels. Am not kidding you guys , it was scary.
Just a strong breeze would have been enough to make the vehicle tip over if we werent holding it down until the winch and the tow strap was hooked.

swastikviji and i did contemplate just getting dwarak out of the vehicle to safety and letting the vehicle roll over down that steep rocky slope... but since dwarak loves his vehicle so we decided to let it go as a passing thought

That descent is possible if the vehicle is placed correctly , dwarak somehow ended up in the wrong angle. after dwarak was rescued no one else tried it. Instead we decided to explore some alternate routes.

yes, as mentioned the trail is promising , but we need to venture deeper and away from the main road and the nearby town so that we do not attract unwanted attention.

Also we didnt explore too much, it was too hot and we did not have ANY supplies whatsoever.

and yes again,the trail can be hard on the vehicle.so have to be careful.

@pavan - did not take my vehicle or star aqua's jeep as they were parked elsewhere and i was already running late that morning and didnt want to delay the others.
Old 1st June 2010, 18:46   #36

Siddu,

Good thinking and observations. Thank you for holding me and my gypsy. May be redbull did the trick.

I made entry rightly, but the rock chips which were all around on the rock were harsh on the tyres. slipping on them, I went sideways. I was saved from rolls thanks to subbaiah's winch and sreeraj's achor.

It was a thrill filled sunday. We need to visit once more to explore more trails there.
Old 2nd June 2010, 09:48   #37

Excellent Reece guys & thanks for all the hard work (is it?? ) that you folks put in to find an OTR spot for the rest of the Team here.
Dwarak Uncle's Gypsy doing the balancing act looks scary.
The winch from Siddu's stable is a welcome surprise - looking forward to more info on the same.
Would have loved to be a spectator :-(
If you folks need some extra weight on the Jeeps / Gypsies look no further :-)
Old 2nd June 2010, 10:36   #38

that winch on the Gypsy looks nice. What capacity is that and what make?
Old 2nd June 2010, 10:52   #39

Originally Posted by siddartha View Post
One cant really make out from the pics how precariously dwarak's gypsy was dangling there on 3 wheels. Am not kidding you guys , it was scary.
=================
That descent is possible if the vehicle is placed correctly , dwarak somehow ended up in the wrong angle.
Originally Posted by dwaraka View Post
I made entry rightly, but the rock chips which were all around on the rock were harsh on the tyres. slipping on them, I went sideways.
Those stone chips are deadly and act like marbles under your feet on a granite floor!

Originally Posted by catchkumar View Post
The winch from Siddu's stable is a welcome surprise - looking forward to more info on the same.
Originally Posted by karizma9292 View Post
that winch on the Gypsy looks nice. What capacity is that and what make?
Winch is from Lambda (yes the same fwh people) and is under development, good that we had this vehicle and they also could gather some valuable inputs from this trip.
Old 2nd June 2010, 11:58   #40

Dwarak sir, does the KL-07 Gypsy belong to Subbaiah?
Old 2nd June 2010, 12:04   #41
DKG

whenever you are attempting to go down a slope where the ramifications of getting it wrong can cause injury its best to hook the car up to another car on top with a winch and allow some slack in the rope. If you do go out of control atleast the car is tethered.

The same can apply to going up a steep incline too when there is a risk of a back flip, better to hook to a car on the top
Old 2nd June 2010, 14:30   #42

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
Dwarak sir, does the KL-07 Gypsy belong to Subbaiah?
Yes it is. First serious offroading experience for him
Old 2nd June 2010, 17:46   #43

Good to see the OTR season starting. My "RED BULL" is getting ready with wider legs and new clutch.

Guys do call me for the next one when it happens.

Babu
Old 3rd June 2010, 18:03   #44

Dwarka ji, Hope you had a good fun. Really missed a lot.
Old 3rd June 2010, 19:54   #45

Guys please upload some video's of your offroading