Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 4th July 2010, 21:59   #16

MM 540 on rock surface

Me giving the rock surface a shot under the guidance of His Highness "Sri Santosh". NDMS at 20psi, not as bad as thought...got on top with ease.

Nayans '78 beauty, 3 gear CJ3B powered by a B275 motor negotiating some deceptive bottom scraping rocks.

Last edited by The Wolf : 4th July 2010 at 22:09.
Old 4th July 2010, 22:53   #17

santosh & his mom in a 340, the zig zag lines, smooth decent...........Inspiration!

CJ 340 with lockers + Santosh + Santosh's mom + well-known zigzag lines + smooth decent= Inspiration!!!

Last edited by The Wolf : 4th July 2010 at 22:56.
Old 4th July 2010, 23:22   #18

Originally Posted by karizma9292 View Post
Santhosh nice intro man , keep the pics rolling in . Man you messed my name in intro pic
Dude you messed up Santosh's name (look up) and my name in the below post no 10

Last edited by The Wolf : 4th July 2010 at 23:23.
Old 4th July 2010, 23:48   #19

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
----AND good night - Espano Vs Paraguay beckons ----
Well, that turned out to be a dud...!!

So, we pushed on into the trail...

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-deeper-we-went....jpg

then came across a typical entrance to the new obstacle - a un-autho sand quarry.

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-enterance-sand-quarry.jpg

Nayan comes in smoothly with care

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-nayan-entering-dad.jpg

Sugan remembers lessons on Rock - comes with xtra care

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-sugan-entering-care.jpg

So whats the plan going on?

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-planning-something....jpg

Something fishy?

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-what-these-guys-looking-.jpg

Ah, so there is a water body below - GUM boots come to rescue...

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-testing-waters.jpg

Or do they? Water was Deeper than gum boots!!

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-deeper-than-gum-boots-eh.jpg

So, it was my honor to do the job and lead the way

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-sant-going-it1.jpg

I felt the rear nearly topple over, or may be in the head!! Was scary!!

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-sant-going-it2.jpg

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-sant-going-it3.jpg

Final push starts...

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-push1.jpg

1 pic is missing here, the moment I entered - went in with a BIG bang..!! Eventually cleared it.

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-push2.jpg

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-push3.jpg

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-push4.jpg

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-push5.jpg

Went under to check - the skid plate took the brunt - life saver!!!

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-underbody-check.jpg

So, someone got the confidence that it can be done - BUT I expected him to the last of the lot..!! That too with the FULL-SLICKS he was on..!!

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-arul1.jpg

Spectacular entry...

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-arul2.jpg

And out he came...

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-arul3.jpg

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-arul4.jpg

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-arul5.jpg

Look at the 'whatever that is' tyres he rode on..!!

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-arul-tyres.jpg

So who's next? Unfortunately no one else thought they were upto it, I did not have the guts to push them, especially both the bangy jeeps did not have skid plates under them. So hit a water break, photo shoot and we scoot to the next challenge...

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-break-scoot.jpg

Mum&Son - Kya family hai!!

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-mum-son-kya-family-hai.jpg

The last clean PIC of the Jeeps...!!

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-last-clean-pic.jpg

I think the tiny 2 inch Crab must have cursed the next obstacle - since we had to move its home; a 1-foot boulder out of the way. Not because a 4wd wont drive over it, but the slush needed flat out entry and exit, and the boulder was BANG in the middle, and we didnt want to risk a busted diff.

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-crab.jpg

Ganee Enters...

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-ganee-enters.jpg

Ganee Floors it... with those slicks

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-ganee-attempts.jpg

And he clears

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-ganee-clears.jpg

So this looked a straight forward slush obstacle, step on it, get into it and drive out the other side. Who ever thought this was to be the highlight of the day...!!

Last edited by svsantosh : 5th July 2010 at 00:03.
Old 5th July 2010, 01:10   #20

I wonder how I missed the crab incident!!!

This ones for Sugan and gypsy lovers, his 3 wheel landing on the rocky summit...

Last edited by The Wolf : 5th July 2010 at 01:17.
Old 5th July 2010, 12:16   #21

Guys, thanks for the pics and videos.

How many know that only Santosh's camera had 912 pics taken from it on that day ?
Old 5th July 2010, 12:23   #22

Originally Posted by ganesh_bbr View Post
Guys, thanks for the pics and videos.

How many know that only Santosh's camera had 912 pics taken from it on that day ?
Unbelievable!!!
BUT, I cant see even one quarter of them here, where art they???!!!

Ganee Enters...

Attachment 380856
Man thats some articulation!!! Looks like the wheel has come off the axle...hehe. The good 'ol CJ3Bs, still a force to reckon with!!!

Last edited by The Wolf : 5th July 2010 at 12:35.
Old 5th July 2010, 22:09   #23

Rut No2, Entry...into the chassis breaker!

Santosh making a steep decent into rut No2, the rut has a immediate dip and then a climb. Once the vehicle is out on dry land there are 2 more staged gradients...

Here is santosh entering the rut area, some psyching and melodrama inside the jeep may be...LOL!!!

Diving in, and bam a big thud noise... and a steep ascent. Rear lockers put to great use...

On under chassis examination Santosh found the skid plate taking a nice big beating.

Well the noise was heard outside the water...so Im sure it was quite an explosion down there...

After all is said and done, it took more than the rut No2, chassis breaker to stop Mr Santosh and his CJ3B. It was the rut No3, the potters clay pond that finally slowed him down... Have a look

Then when it looked like everything was going well Nayan decides to clear as obstacle full speed only to slide into a small, deep pond. It all ended with the nylon ropes in hand in the end...hehe

What the hell are you doing Santosh???!!!! OH MY GOD!!!

Last edited by The Wolf : 5th July 2010 at 22:25.
Old 5th July 2010, 22:36   #24

Rut No2, Entry...into the chassis breaker!

Once santosh made it out of rut No2, Arul was quick to emulate with a slightly bigger/bolder/graphical statement...hehe

Old 5th July 2010, 22:58   #25

Last report...

...Who ever thought this was to be the highlight of the day...!!
Post 23 has 2 videos of why?.....

--------------------------------------------------------------

Sugan makes easy entry and exit

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-sugan-easy-entry.jpg

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-sugan-easy-exit.jpg

Then, Arul (Grrr) getting a wild idea to venture deeper into the slush field and trying out his slick tyres...!! Seeing his CJ 'nearly' make it, I was enticed to try it later with disastrous outcome, no, nothing broke, but I make a water-wash guy really ANGRY...!!

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-arul-entering-slush1.jpg

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-arul-nearly-made-.jpg

Nayan makes a somber entry, without giving a hint of what he intended to do next

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-nayan-making-right.jpg

He found a sweet parking spot, right next to the entry point.

Click image for larger version

Name:	nayan making a right.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	510.7 KB
ID:	381815

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-nayan-ended-up-into-tiny-pit.jpg

Meanwhile, Ganee takes over from 1st cousin Arul, and couldnt do any better

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-meanwhile-ganee-tries-fails.jpg

210Lbs on front foot step, 160~(estimate) on the side step, ~100 on rear bumper - nothing happened..!!

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-extra-human-effort-get-nayan-out.jpg

Because the left was deeper than 'drive out' stage

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-but-nayans-wont-just-come-out.jpg

Meanwhile Arul's awaiting towing duty

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-meanwhile-aruls-awaiting-towing.jpg

Nayan towed out

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-nayans-towing-out.jpg

Someone spotted Snake skin (which variety eh?)

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-snake-shedding-skin.jpg

Arul's towed out

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-aruls-towing-out.jpg

Meanwhile Wolf makes easy entry and exit

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-wolf-makes-easy-entry-exit.jpg

I come in easy and go out...

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-sant-easy-exit.jpg

Then get spruced up to get into the deeper slush field...!!damn, It was difficult for me

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-my-attempt-slush-pond.jpg

Nearly came out, but failed

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-nearly-made-failed.jpg

The rear was a few feet into slush

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-bcoz-rear-ploughed-thru.jpg

Post my towing, everyone had enough fun, so chilled out on the rock for some pics' - Jeep posing for Arti test

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-arti-test1.jpg

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-arti-test2.jpg

The Rock group pic

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-rock-group-foto.jpg

After a few KMS of Rut'd trails, diff bottoming out, et all, we came out on the mud road back to the town, and took a few group pics... here is the best one.

Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-last-group-pic.jpg
Babies Day Out - Hosur OTR Report - 3-Jul-10-nayan-making-entry.jpg  

Last edited by svsantosh : 5th July 2010 at 23:09.
Old 5th July 2010, 23:37   #26

Excellent OTR guys, this is the perfect vehicle count and location for an enjoyable event. However, it is always good to have at least one winch equipped vehicle.
Old 5th July 2010, 23:45   #27

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Excellent OTR guys, this is the perfect vehicle count and location for an enjoyable event. However, it is always good to have at least one winch equipped vehicle.
I couldnt agree with you any lesser! I am planning a night OTR, same place, exactly same trail/obstacles we've already tried and tested. May be we will have atleast one winch equipped jeep donor then...
Old 6th July 2010, 00:06   #28

Naicee! Excellent terrain and great report!

Right time to do Hosur when sun is not at its burning best
Old 6th July 2010, 00:10   #29

Originally Posted by The Wolf View Post
I couldnt agree with you any lesser! I am planning a night OTR, same place, exactly same trail/obstacles we've already tried and tested. May be we will have atleast one winch equipped jeep donor then...
Hmm, why do you disagree with my view? What did I say wrong?
Old 6th July 2010, 00:24   #30

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Hmm, why do you disagree with my view? What did I say wrong?
No Sharath, I said "I couldnt agree with you any lesser" which means I agree with you completely. You read me wrong I guess!

@Jaggu: Dont know if the photos are doing enough justice but the sun was scorching quite a bit around noon. The proof is my intense tanning even with a layer of sunscreen lotion!!! LOL

Last edited by The Wolf : 6th July 2010 at 00:27.