Clearly lots of love going around the forums at this time
after a while its the people who are more fun than the actual OTR's
Old 1st February 2011, 13:43   #77
DKG

Re: Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011 | Participants Report

Originally Posted by ex670c View Post
Drove it for some time in Mumbai, didn't even get to see it off-road in Bangalore
Yaar this is not fair. Vinod you must send a Thar to Chennai for a Palar recce for Arka and team to use !

BTW Arka my family will now throw me out of the house if I buy one more car ! Hoping to get rid of something to make room for a new Thar. The CJ3B and Thar will be an ideal pair for all the world's offroading my heart could desire. I could even buy a trailer and transport the CJ3B to those events where ONLY a solid axle vehicle would do Waiting for you to create the Indian version of the Rubicon trail somewhere in the Himalayas !

Last edited by DKG : 1st February 2011 at 13:48.
Old 1st February 2011, 14:10   #78

Day#2 Part2

Some more pics from Day#2.

Arka
Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0661.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0663.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0664.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0665.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0667.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0668.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0671.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0672.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0673.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0675.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0676.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0677.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0678.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0679.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0680.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0681.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0682.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0683.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0686.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0687.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0688.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0689.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0690.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0692.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0694.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0695.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0696.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0697.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0698.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0699.jpg  

Old 1st February 2011, 14:10   #79

Really fed up of reading about the Thar on this thread!!
Guys the title says - Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011 | Participants Report - not Thar review/bashing/appreciating etc. I would like to see more pics of the actual event than read about what the Thar did or did not do. Maybe the mods can step in and create a separate thread about the Thar.

And I request the camera people to kindly post pics here - hopefully some of you have pics of my Gypsy in action .

GB
Old 1st February 2011, 14:26   #80

Originally Posted by SubuS View Post
I don't see why a bunch of folks are advocating not to discuss the Thar. Am sure if it had broken its bad bad IFS, I am sure I would have seen a lot of gloating threads about how Tbhp predicted right!
It is not just bunch of folks, now I am asking as a moderator to stop discussing Thar in this OTR thread.

I was present at the OTR both days, and believe me Thar was not the main focus of the event. Many of us were also at EXAMM/AKC, so Thar is not a novelty anymore. In fact, I didn't even see it in action. During the event we rarely even discussed it. The toppled Jeep received lot more attention. And now we have 80% of the OTR report discussing Thar.

From what I heard, Thar performed as well as any good Jeep. They didn't do that last hill climb for lack of time, which disappointed many who wanted to see it there. That's about it.

Now let's move on. Any more Thar specific posts will be deleted. - Support Team
Old 1st February 2011, 15:03   #81

Samurai/Jaggu, Its high time you guys start the OTR report (you guys are the best in narration). There are so many topics to narrate/ discuss reg this OTR than Thar.

1. Rear CFL shattered into 2 piece.
2. How Arka, Prithvi changed the whole leaf assembly in the middle of the trial
3. How did those 2 Jeeps topple
4. what happened on day 2 ... Etc Etc.

I was not present on the 2nd day due to carb issue, so waiting for the 2nd days report.

I must say there were hardly any who were taking pictures compared to last year (when i was still a photographer ).

Bring it on guys.
Old 1st February 2011, 15:26   #82

what was the final state of the SUV's ??

did they survive with just scratches ??

i am guessing they dint topple!!
Old 1st February 2011, 15:27   #83

INDIA's Biggest & Best OTR Event

The Bangalore Aavalakonda OTR, is very well respected in the Indian OTR scenario, especially among the Chennai JEEPers.

We get to see a variety of vehicles, meet a lot of off-road enthusiasts and have 3 nights of partying in Bangalore.

The Chennai JEEPers, started their preparation a few months ago, Aavalakonda is a must in our OTR list, so we guys started doing the necessary preparation, checking the vehicle, changing the Tyres, arranging the spares, and getting the headcount from Chennai finalized.

The Terrain was excellent, you had to use the Spotter.
The Spotters/Marshal/Organizers they did a fantastic job of guiding everyone through the obstacles and through the recoveries and through the trail damages.

Can you imagine standing in the hot sun, your Lunch Pack in another vehicle, water & juice pack in another, standing at their obstacle and guiding every vehicle through.

2 Vehicle's Rolled and not one person got a scratch, this speaks a lot about the Organizing and spotting.

Not loosing their cool when people openly disregarded their suggestion and ended up in precarious situation.

As participants & driver did we do anything to make them comfortable or their task easier?

The communication among the Organizer/Marshals was excellent and the participant we regularly updated on what is happening on the trail.

This year the waiting period was negligible compared to the number of obstacles and the Trail Distance covered, especially with the company of UBS, Umeshji and VK Singh saab.

The vehicles and drivers, I interacted refreshing and enriching, Vijay Reddy(Star_Aqua), Prashanth, Roshan and Ritesh (Wolf) Sharath (Samurai) have such well maintained and simple vehicle, and deadly off-road.

Chetan, Siddu, Swastik Viji, Prithvi & Vinay, Jaggu & Shahnawaz did everything to make the event smooth.

The “Chaps” Dwarka, MPSrini Sir, Giri & Suresh Stephen added to the maturity quotient.

The arrangement at the campsite was luxurious, with bigger tents, seating and tables for all to gather and a buffet dinner & Toilet Tents. I think this will spoil people, as they will keep expecting more, bordering on unrealistic.

I have a few suggestions.

i) If there is a breakdown, please let the rest complete the trail and reach campsite, then ask for volunteers who would like to help out. This ensures that a good number of the participants are on schedule for dinner and fresh for the next day.

ii) Keep the food simple. (sandwiches for Breakfast & Lunch, Dinner can be hot/buffet)

iii) Last year’s Shamiana Tents were smaller and more comfortable and the heated up quickly, with a few people.

Thank You and Regards,

Arka

THIS IS INDIA’S BIGGEST & BEST OFF-ROAD EVENT
Old 1st February 2011, 16:00   #84

If it is of any interest to anybody, a few last pictures.

One more set coming up.
Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009591.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009592.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009594.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009595.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009596.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009598.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009599.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009604.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009607.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009608.jpg  

Old 1st February 2011, 16:02   #85

Folks,

Very kind words indeed! Thank you all for your patronage. Time to acknowledge the effort of certain persons who made this event success:

MP Sreenivas for letting us use his land for camping and arrangements. Also, for recceing the trails relentlessly on foot.

Vinay Varghese for being the treasurer for the event. Also, official marinator of chicken and panneer
Pritviraj AC for taking up responsibility of soucing Jackets at short time

Swastik Vijay for liquid supply, I mean Drinking water sourcing and wireless kit which eased communication issues of previous year.

Rest of the marshal gang: Shahnawaz, Suresh Stephen, Giri Thirumale, Chethan, Jaggu, Siddharth, Vijayreddy and Arka.

We have to thank other important persons in the back ground namely, Rekha - MPS's Friend, Anand , Govindappa, Dayalu, et al.

Hope to see the same spirit in coming events.

Thank you all.

Pictures are following shortly.

Dwarak
Old 1st February 2011, 16:09   #86

Last set of pictures.

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009655.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009653.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009612.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009623.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009664.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009665.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009670.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009671.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009668.jpg  

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-09032009674.jpg  

Old 1st February 2011, 16:11   #87

Off topic :

Bangalore Aavalakonda Annual OTR 2011  | Participants Report-dscn0067.jpg

Can any one tell me who is the rider of this Machine ?

I just want to know the make and availability of this Alloy wheels

- Sreejesh
Old 1st February 2011, 16:14   #88

Originally Posted by sreejeshmp View Post
Off topic :

Attachment 493515

Can any one tell me who is the rider of this Machine ?

I just want to know the make and availability of this Alloy wheels

- Sreejesh
Ajay, Gypsy Boy here.
Old 1st February 2011, 17:34   #89

Did both the jeeps that toppled have diff locks installed on them?

Why did they topple?
Old 1st February 2011, 17:47   #90
DKG

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Why did they topple?
I feel in OTR's you always have this risk of a few people getting too overconfident and ignoring marshal advice and causing harm to their vehicles or themselves.

In the interests of the larger group, participant behavior must be strongly regulated to avoid a recurrence of this incident. After the OTR if people want to drive off a cliff its their prerogative. But the event reputation must not be sullied on account of a few people's rash behavior.

Hope all OTR organisers take this issue very seriously.