Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 20th March 2014, 13:53   #1

Offroad Marshal Training Course - Level 1 (Junior)

Marshalling is for anybody who is interested in and wants to be involved in motorsport. You don’t need any special skills or qualifications to start, just common sense and a reasonably developed sense of self-preservation.

Offroad Marshals are different from race / rally marshals. With the number of offroad events sprouting up in the country, the need for trained marshals is a must. We are trying to standardise this practice with our curriculum.

Offroad marshals being in the wilderness act as first responders and carry a lot responsibility.

A first of it's kind in the country, we will train you in the fine art of offroad marshalling on par with international standards. This certificate course can give you many future opportunities to marshal professionally at other events.

Ofcourse, as with all of Offroad Junkie training courses, you need to clear a written and practical examination before you can get certified.

Since Marshals are responsible for safety, our examination criteria are tough and participants need to secure at least 80% marks to be certified. But don't worry, questions are from what you will be taught and you can revise the day's teaching from your course handbook at night.

This 2 day course includes basic first aid training and very basic fire fighting skills as well. We'll talk about different types of marshals and their duties, learn about the significance of various flags, using radios, crowd control, specialist duties etc.

Why do i need to do this course?
Marshalling is a hobby that brings you closer to the action, enables you to make new friendships and to really enjoy motorsport. As offroad events grow in the country with the difficulty levels being constantly raised, so does the danger level and the need for trained and qualified marshals will always grow and who knows, this hobby can become a profession as well.

This course is also good for organisers of offroad events to understand what additional information their marshals will need.

Course Dates: 12-13 April 2014.

Venue: Mumbai

Course Fees:
Rs. 5000 including breakfast / lunch / tea & snacks & course handbook.

After 25th March: Rs. 5500/-

Spot entries: Rs. 6000/-

(PM for bank details)

Minimum Participants : 12

Fees are non refundable.

The current course is our Level 1 (Junior) Offroad Marshal Training course. The next one will be a Level 2 (Senior) Offroad Marshal Training course and then we will hold Level 3 (Master) Offroad Marshal Specialist Training courses according to what specialty marshal you want to be (Medical, fire, recovery, etc). Our trainings are carried out with other professionals from various fields and we try to incorporate a lot more field practice in our advanced courses for better understanding. Only participants clearing our basic courses successfully will qualify for advanced courses.

NOTE:
1. All participants to note that our examination criteria will be extremely strict considering that the Marshal post is of paramount importance in terms of safety of the participant, spectator and the environment. We will soon release the evaluation criteria.

2. Marshals once cleared will need to give a re-evaluation exam every couple of years to continue to be accredited. As of today, our accreditation has no government recognition but any organizing body is free to browse through our training protocols, etc to judge the level of competence. All these details will also be updated soon.

3. Successful participants will be given an ID card showing their current level of accreditation.

4. All marshals will get entry to a online support group for constant continuing education and discussions. This pool will also help marshals to get involved in various events.

There is no other body (that we are aware of) that has any guidelines in our country to train offroad specific marshals. We are in talks with a few local bodies to accredit our curriculum. We have currently sourced and sought help from our I4WDTA buddies who are also actively fine tuning this program.

Here's the Facebook event link:

https://www.facebook.com/events/233759616815591/

Offroad Marshal Training Course - Level 1 (Junior)-banner.jpg

We will keep updating this thread.

Last edited by Tejas@perioimpl : 20th March 2014 at 13:56.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 20th March 2014, 17:23   #2

Re: Offroad Marshal Training Course - Level 1 (Junior)

Tejas, Really appreciate your efforts in getting the right skill set across to the off-road community.

Please clarify few question that comes to my mind when I go through this thread,
  1. Is offroad marshaling an activity learnt over these courses?
  2. What is the point of having an ID card with accreditation when its not recognized?
  3. You have clearly mentioned that its is a non recognized accreditation, which means it is not legal in our country right?
  4. Are you forming a governing body to regulate this sport? Since this sport is ungoverned, does that mean that anyone literally can standardized the format of what, when and how?
  5. Did you try associating with FMCI, they do have rules for officials (include Marshals) Article 11 is dedicated to the unsung heroes.
  6. Now say I pay and enroll your course, what is the advantage for me, do you think the offroad circle will accept me as an well trained marshal at events like TPC, RFC, BODA or say our local events. I definitely think they will shoo me off

Please do not take these personally, this is really what I felt when I went through the thread. I think you should term it as different than calling it a Offroad Marshal Training Course and accreditation

Last edited by Twinn : 20th March 2014 at 17:27.
Twinn is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th March 2014, 18:29   #3

Originally Posted by Twinn View Post
Tejas, Really appreciate your efforts in getting the right skill set across to the off-road community.

Please clarify few question that comes to my mind when I go through this thread,
  1. Is offroad marshaling an activity learnt over these courses?
  2. What is the point of having an ID card with accreditation when its not recognized?
  3. You have clearly mentioned that its is a non recognized accreditation, which means it is not legal in our country right?
  4. Are you forming a governing body to regulate this sport? Since this sport is ungoverned, does that mean that anyone literally can standardized the format of what, when and how?
  5. Did you try associating with FMCI, they do have rules for officials (include Marshals) Article 11 is dedicated to the unsung heroes.
  6. Now say I pay and enroll your course, what is the advantage for me, do you think the offroad circle will accept me as an well trained marshal at events like TPC, RFC, BODA or say our local events. I definitely think they will shoo me off

Please do not take these personally, this is really what I felt when I went through the thread. I think you should term it as different than calling it a Offroad Marshal Training Course and accreditation
Hi Twinn,

Thanks for the queries. I appreciate the fact that you thought about the whole thing.

Let me try to explain.

We aim to teach the marshals about international signals, protocols, etc as well as teach them about marshalling in offroad situations. To handle crowds, medical emergencies, fires, accidents, recovery, unsafe practices, etc. Ofcourse not all will be covered in basic course in detail.

In our country there is no such thing as offroad marshals. So who will accredit us? FMSCI also has guidelines for rally and race but not for offroad situations. This i can say after a lot of research and speaking to a few FMSCI guys. However, if you or anyone does find something from FMSCI i would love to know and get in touch with them.

Offroading as a sport is not recognised in India so how will offroad marshals be?

As far as i know, FMSCI doesn't have jurisdiction in offroading activities. Again could be wrong. BUT, i think i'm not because there have been so many offroad events in the country and not once has FMSCI stepped in to regulate or raise a voice.

About the body, we offroaders need to form a council which is long overdue. I had started this topic with offroaders all over india in June 2013 and last i heard something is brewing.

Coming to "literally can standardized the format of what, when and how" - i have studied for 2 years before i was accepted as an I4WDTA candidate and after that prepared for 6 months more to appear and pass my exams. So i do know a bit or two on offroad education. Also our courses are designed on guidelines laid down I4WDTA which follows guidelines laid down by US and European bodies which are well established.

HOWEVER, what i fail to understand is this. Time and again people ask me such questions (not only you but others) but have never asked anything to the Mahindra Academy guys. Except Vinod, who else knows offroading? What are their qualifications? Just because i am here to answer questions i land up being targeted since the multinationals don't care. Who regulates the Mahindra Curriculum? Who are the judges for the Offroad Trophy? Rally guys judging offroaders? I've got nothing against Mahindra but i don't like being singled out all the time. Has any of these questions come up in the Mahindra Offroad Academy Thread?

Sorry for the rant.

Coming back to the topic.

Our course guidelines will be up very soon and will be accessible to all about what training these marshals have been given.

So if tomorrow any organising body wants to conduct an offroad event, they know that there is a ready pool of trained marshals to contact. Because a marshals job is very important, we've kept tough passing criteria and a renewal process.

How did the ISO start? In the same way. It set standards that others picked up. Till date there are ZERO standards for offroad marshals in this country and our aim is to change that.

Has anyone asked how marshals are selected in any offroad event or what training is given to them? No. You will be surprised at the answers if you ask the right questions.

I will train the marshals according to the highest standards that i can. It is then unto the O team of ABC, XYZ, PQRST to choose trained marshals or not. That will set their standards apart. I will not train people to please other groups. The training is set for safety and safe promotion of the sport. Smart groups will adopt smart practices. I think only Arka has a training or briefing session for marshal prior to TPC. Have not heard about any others.

Lastly dear Twinn, i didn't feel bad about your questions or take it personally, i spoke something that has been on the back of my mind because many times i've seen a lot of hypocrisy where no one questions multinationals but only small individuals are questioned.

EDIT: Missed one question of yours. What's your advantage? Well monetarily ZERO unless someone pays you to marshal. Education wise a lot (would have loved to do a master card and say PRICELESS! ) But seriously, you learn right techniques. You will learn how to fight a fire, how to do basic first aid, how to stabilise an accident victim, how to safely recover a car, etc. There will be times when you will be a marshal at an event and when at your stage there is some incident, that's when you will realise the importance of this education. Till then it's like an airbag. You will appreciate it only when you need it.

Last edited by Tejas@perioimpl : 20th March 2014 at 18:36. Reason: see edit.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2014, 19:35   #4

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Except Vinod, who else knows offroading? What are their qualifications?
Interesting thread and good initiative.

There are quite a few, Vinay Thomas (I have never seen someone do a better recovery like him), saw him recover during Avalakonda OTR somewhere around 2010 /2011. Naresh Bhonsle Sir, Sudhir Kashyap, Karle, Sawant and so many more. Unfortunately, none of them including Vinod posess a certificate.

Just because i am here to answer questions i land up being targeted since the multinationals don't care. I've got nothing against Mahindra but i don't like being singled out all the time.
Now you know how it feels like standing on the other side and answering questions, ask me more.

I will train the marshals according to the highest standards that i can. It is then unto the O team of ABC, XYZ, PQRST to choose trained marshals or not. That will set their standards apart. I will not train people to please other groups. The training is set for safety and safe promotion of the sport.
When I was doing my drivers license in Germany, I had to attend a mandatory one day course on life saving measures (called Lebensrettende Sofortmaßnahmen) at the Red cross. It was only after doing this course, I realized how important it is as a driver or as a commuter to know these things. I was a bit unlucky to have done the artificial respiration procedure on a dummy though . In the end, I was glad to have done it.

See following links for reference (in German)

http://www.asb.de/lebensrettende-sofortmassnahmen.html
http://www.fahrschulen.or.at/fuehrer...ilfe_kurs.html

There will be times when you will be a marshal at an event and when at your stage there is some incident, that's when you will realise the importance of this education. Till then it's like an airbag. You will appreciate it only when you need it.
Well said, I feel the idea behind joining such courses must be the participants intentions of self / continuous improvement in a chosen field of interest. If the intention is to make money with a certificate, then it is a different story. People thinking on these lines, that a certified course will land them up with offers as "marshals" would be thinking like thousands of young students, joining institutes like FIITJEE (or things similar) dreaming of a place in the much hyped IIT's.

I would love to do such a course, provided I get a good discount (pun intended).

Spike

Last edited by SPIKE ARRESTOR : 20th March 2014 at 19:55.
SPIKE ARRESTOR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2014, 11:29   #5

Standards

We aim to teach the marshals about international signals, protocols, etc as well as teach them about marshalling in offroad situations. To handle crowds, medical emergencies, fires, accidents, recovery, unsafe practices, etc. Ofcourse not all will be covered in basic course in detail.

In our country there is no such thing as offroad marshals.

Coming to "literally can standardized the format of what, when and how" - i have studied for 2 years before i was accepted as an I4WDTA candidate and after that prepared for 6 months more to appear and pass my exams. So i do know a bit or two on offroad education. Also our courses are designed on guidelines laid down I4WDTA which follows guidelines laid down by US and European bodies which are well established.

How did the ISO start? In the same way. It set standards that others picked up. Till date there are ZERO standards for offroad marshals in this country and our aim is to change that.

Has anyone asked how marshals are selected in any offroad event or what training is given to them? No. You will be surprised at the answers if you ask the right questions.

I will train the marshals according to the highest standards that i can. It is then unto the O team of ABC, XYZ, PQRST to choose trained marshals or not. That will set their standards apart. I will not train people to please other groups. The training is set for safety and safe promotion of the sport. Smart groups will adopt smart practices. I think only Arka has a training or briefing session for marshal prior to TPC. Have not heard about any others.

Hi Tejas,

You want to start a new initiative to train people, that is good.

What is an "off-road marshal" in the INDIAN context?

Organizer/Volunteers/Spotters loosely they are called Marshals, since it is common term in Motor Sports.

How do you think BODA runs the BAOTR or the Terra Tigers run TPC year after year.

They actively participate in the Recce's which go on for Months during this time they learn a variety of skill, on the job.

For TPC we have a very long process which starts 6-12 Months in advance for the subsequent TPC, today all of our Marshals have a minimum of 3 years of off-roading experience (TPC + BAOTR).

BODA has a similar composition and experience, their dedication and professionalism was to be seen in BAOTR2014.

A brief syllabus

http://thepalarchallenge.8k.com/Volunteer12.html

So how can you comment on the training and preparation of Marshals about off-road events you haven't attended or don't attend regularly.

Please conduct your own off-road events regularly build up your own team and train them, then we'll talk about standards.

Quoting your opening post "You don’t need any special skills or qualifications to start, just common sense and a reasonably developed sense of self-preservation."

We think that Organizer/Volunteer/Spotter/Marshals need special skills (interpersonal/off-road driving/recovery/para-medical), just to start, and an extremely high sense of responsibility.

Because these events are conducted in remote areas, and they will be the first responders.

Arka

Last edited by GTO : 24th March 2014 at 09:29. Reason: Debate is welcome guys, but not attacks. Kindly refrain, Thanks
ex670c is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st March 2014, 12:25   #6

Re: Standards

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
Interesting thread and good initiative.

There are quite a few, Vinay Thomas (I have never seen someone do a better recovery like him), saw him recover during Avalakonda OTR somewhere around 2010 /2011. Naresh Bhonsle Sir, Sudhir Kashyap, Karle, Sawant and so many more. Unfortunately, none of them including Vinod posess a certificate.
Ah, i forgot Vinay. Yes your right. Rest i haven't seen driving. Only reason i brought up certification was because i was asked who am i to do the course; otherwise i don't like to throw that part around (didn't even do it in the first post).

Now you know how it feels like standing on the other side and answering questions, ask me more.
Point taken. Apologies for stuff on and off the forum (if you know what i mean).

When I was doing my drivers license in Germany, I had to attend a mandatory one day course on life saving measures (called Lebensrettende Sofortmaßnahmen) at the Red cross. It was only after doing this course, I realized how important it is as a driver or as a commuter to know these things. I was a bit unlucky to have done the artificial respiration procedure on a dummy though . In the end, I was glad to have done it.

See following links for reference (in German)

http://www.asb.de/lebensrettende-sofortmassnahmen.html
http://www.fahrschulen.or.at/fuehrer...ilfe_kurs.html

I would love to do such a course, provided I get a good discount (pun intended).
If you're flying down specially for the course, it's on me!

Originally Posted by ex670c View Post
Hi Tejas,

You want to start a new initiative to train people, that is good.

What is an "off-road marshal" in the INDIAN context?

Organizer/Volunteers/Spotters loosely they are called Marshals, since it is common term in Motor Sports.

How do you think BODA runs the BAOTR or the Terra Tigers run TPC year after year.

They actively participate in the Recce's which go on for Months during this time they learn a variety of skill, on the job.

For TPC we have a very long process which starts 6-12 Months in advance for the subsequent TPC, today all of our Marshals have a minimum of 3 years of off-roading experience (TPC + BAOTR).

BODA has a similar composition and experience, their dedication and professionalism was to be seen in BAOTR2014.

A brief syllabus

http://thepalarchallenge.8k.com/Volunteer12.html

So how can you comment on the training and preparation of Marshals about off-road events you haven't attended or don't attend regularly.

Please conduct your own off-road events regularly build up your own team and train them, then we'll talk about standards.

Quoting your opening post "You don’t need any special skills or qualifications to start, just common sense and a reasonably developed sense of self-preservation."

We think that Organizer/Volunteer/Spotter/Marshals need special skills (interpersonal/off-road driving/recovery/para-medical), just to start, and an extremely high sense of responsibility.

Because these events are conducted in remote areas, and they will be the first responders.

Arka
Dear Arka,

I did mention that you did give training for TPC marshals, didn't i?

Just because events run smoothly year after year, you think there is no scope for improvement?

Are your volunteers taught basic first aid?

Just because i haven't attended TPC, doesn't mean i haven't been to other events. I've been to few BAOTRS, lots in MH, Hyderabad, Wayanad, Goa, MP, etc. I really don't need show how many OTRs i have attended to show i know about marshalling. It's like telling someone that a trucker who has driven lakhs of miles is the best at teaching driving skills. He could be the worst driver and survived on luck alone.

You remember one pic i commented on about the Hi LIft jack handle position in a recent otr thread. That was out right dangerous stuff by the recovery team. Just because no one got hurt, doesn't mean it's the right way to go about things.

In the events that i have attended with huge participation, there is a tremendous scope for improvement.

Do you know how F1 marshals are selected? They are regular Joes with no experience who are later trained properly and learn with senior marshals.

I'd rather take a fresh guy and train him properly than take a offroader with wrong fundas who would land up risking other lives.

You have a way with words. You involve BAOTR because that's organised by my friends and you know that anything i say will hurt my friends. There are so many other events happening in the country and not only these two you quoted. Do you for one minute think that their marshals are super trained? And even if they are, you think they know all and there is no scope for improvement?

Again stop misinterpreting stuff: i have also said in my first post:

Offroad marshals being in the wilderness act as first responders and carry a lot responsibility.
When events started in the country, all marshals were new. They then gained experience right. So someone somewhere has to start of new.

Please don't underestimate the value of education. A roadside hakim and a qualified MD may both be good at their jobs, but who would you prefer to go to?

Let's agree to disagree.

Last edited by GTO : 24th March 2014 at 09:31. Reason: Debate is welcome guys, but not attacks. Kindly refrain, Thanks
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2014, 13:26   #7

Re: Standards

Hi Tejas,

You want to set the standards/improve the standards, then conduct an off-road event FIRST.

Once the event is up and running, I will be the first to "COPY" whatever is necessary to improve TPC.

But first Walk. the Talk.

wrt to TPC Marshals being trained in Basic First Aid, the answer is yes, and a no since it is not certified.

You mentioned, the training for TPC Marshals as " I think only Arka has a training or briefing session for marshal prior to TPC."

Which is misrepresentation, and the fact that you so blatantly state- Their are no standards for off-road Marshals in INDIA.

Their are standards, training schedule, which you are not aware of, and each event or group has their formal/informal training methods.

I cannot stop talking about TPC, I have organizing it event since 2006 , every year its a High-Point in my off-road career, and do you think we can keep pulling it off, if we don't keep evolving, improving.

Arka

Last edited by GTO : 24th March 2014 at 09:37. Reason: Debate is welcome guys, but not attacks. Kindly refrain, Thanks
ex670c is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st March 2014, 13:43   #8

Originally Posted by Twinn View Post
Tejas, Really appreciate your efforts in getting the right skill set across to the off-road community
You can say that again

What is the point of having an ID card with accreditation when its not recognized?
Knowledge is useful, with or without official recognition.

Reminds me of this exercise which trained & reminded us of best practices in safety. After the DSFL program, rear seat belts have been made mandatory in my family.

You have clearly mentioned that its is a non recognized accreditation, which means it is not legal in our country right?
Non-recognised doesn't mean illegal.

Now say I pay and enroll your course, what is the advantage for me
To be trained on best practices in offroad marshaling, safety, operations etc.. Marshals play a crucial role in supporting offroaders.

I definitely think they will shoo me off
Well, I definitely think that the smart ones will welcome you with open arms. If someone shoos off a trained marshal, you probably shouldn't be offroading with them in the first place.
Old 21st March 2014, 14:11   #9

Arka,

In my intro post did it anywhere bash Indian off-roaders making them look negative? Everyone has a scope to improve and learn and that is our philosophy.

First you say conduct an event and then u talk about examm. Didn't we conduct that?

As a participant we made sure that every vehicle got out safely without injury and showed a super team building exercise. What do u mean save the day. It was a wonderful day that all enjoyed.

Anyways, this will go on forever.

This workshop is not forcing anyone. People are matured and will decide if they want to attend.

Last edited by GTO : 24th March 2014 at 09:39. Reason: Debate is welcome guys, but not attacks. Kindly refrain, Thanks
Old 21st March 2014, 14:52   #10

You Go, We Go, Ego

My posts were not discourage participants to join your workshop.

But please don't make statements, about standards, since their are no formal standards, each group/event uses their resources to the best of their capabilities.

If you see/feel/think safety has been compromised (That is one aspect no off-roader will compromise knowingly), please quote the incident in a separate off-road safety thread, will make all of us extra sharp.

With your training program, some may choose to go for externally trained marshals/spotter/organizers.

Arka

Last edited by GTO : 24th March 2014 at 09:40. Reason: Debate is welcome guys, but not attacks. Kindly refrain, Thanks
Old 21st March 2014, 15:05   #11

Very well, from future i will make a note of the issues that i may observe and inform. As per TPC, i'll call you and tell you. I'm not into writing everything on the forum because many times one has to be there to understand a situation and which can be cleared over a phone rather than putting it in writing and open to misinterpretation and slander.

Formal standards have to come up with regards of safety and this is what we were trying to achieve in the all india group if you remember. But that's another topic that'll we will discuss later.

Peace.
Old 21st March 2014, 17:17   #12

Hey Tejas,

Great initiative to train future marshals, particularly people who donot have access to become part of a large organized event and thus learn on the job.

Hey people without a car / experienced driver at home do need a driving school right?

prabhuav is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2014, 17:39   #13

Hi Twinn,

In our country there is no such thing as offroad marshals.
===============
BUT, i think i'm not because there have been so many offroad events in the country and not once has FMSCI stepped in to regulate or raise a voice.

Coming from a Rally background.. FMSCI has recognized Offroading.. The last event MUDSKIPPER III which was held in Coorg, was permitted by FMSCI and three stewards were appointed to supervise the event. Along with a chief steward. The permit was issued under the name OFF-Roading Event. So, I am sure if you approach the FMSCI, they will support you in this venture. If am not wrong, I have seen FMSCI logo in all the Mahindra events.
Offroad Marshal Training Course - Level 1 (Junior)-1901438_10201589699896679_403783021_n.jpg  

nanju is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st March 2014, 18:23   #14

Thanks for the queries. I appreciate the fact that you thought about the whole thing.
Seriously Tejas that quite an exhaustive report, by now I see the thread has grown with lots of growling.

Anyways do not want to quote on any points and prolong, but here is one, about an only offroader who knows about offroading or recovery techniques.

Please visit the rural areas, where jeeps/tractors are the only modes of transport. Even a Kid (read who knows driving) will show you how to recover a vehicle by using the natural resource around him/her and it it all learnt by experience, nothing taught in the schools which they attend or qualified in.

My intentions are not to spread negativeness, Offroading-sport is not the way an individual looks at, its way how a group of like minded Jeeper folks would look at. Most of the OTR's I have attended, it is always an Jeeper who is an marshal and Nobody pays for a Marshal, infact Marshals also pay up in most of the events they enter. My question was for a perspective of a commoner, who wishes to attend offroading events, would you really think organizers would encourage him/her to participate as a Marshal with ID that you provide?

Knowledge is useful, with or without official recognition.
Really!! I agree knowledge is useful, but after paying a premium.. I'm not sure how many would be happy... It would be like the MBA's who work in BPO's these days.
Old 21st March 2014, 18:58   #15

@ Tejas: Great Initiative to say the least. If someone is coming forward and sharing knowledge, what`s the harm ? Also, certification really doesn`t matter. What matters is the knowledge that is acquired.

Regarding forming an Apex body for Offroading:

My company TT Motorsports also organizes Autocross in visakhpatnam for the past 2 years and i am myself an Steward with FMSCI. FMSCI does issues permits for offroad events. Last year Cougar Motorsports for instance have organised off road trail driving across india for TATA. They came to visakhapatnam as well and i have attend one such event of theirs. The same is for Mahindra as well. You can apply for a permit when you conduct offroad events.

Personally i think you are doing an amazing thing by conducting such training session, wish you a best of luck.

Hope to see you soon.

Abbas.
Abbas is offline   (2) Thanks