Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 7th January 2009, 23:34   #16

Wow, the stance has totally changed, now what is the effect on the on-road grip and braking and ride comfort? What was the size of your earlier tyres?

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
Yes, Just starting to learn sir -- looking for a mentor to guide me.
Yes, learning for your Ph.D in offroading, you haven't found a mentor or PhD guide yet?

Originally Posted by anujmishra View Post
OT: By the way Steroid is one Distinguished Bhpian member. So your title seems to LOL. Gypsy on Steroid...
That's Steeroid, not Steroid.

Originally Posted by vis-racing View Post
Your jeep gives true meaning to the word " EVO "
Yes, it has achieved true Jeepness after all the recent mods.
Old 7th January 2009, 23:56   #17

KHAN,

Great looking tyres. Now your gypsy is a mud chomper in real sense. You are going to be one mean looking with all crucial accessories for real off roading.

Congrats!
Dwarak
Old 8th January 2009, 00:08   #18

hi
khan_sultan

your gypsy is really looking good on Maxxis Trepador m8060's,
along with some serious hardcore modifications to Gypsy.

the end result will be best Gypsy in the country if not worldwide.

this thread is very useful for all gypsy lovers.

Originally Posted by vis-racing
Your jeep gives true meaning to the word " EVO "
bro dont mistake Maruti Suzuki Gypsy as jeep ,

they are both one of a kind.
Old 8th January 2009, 00:43   #19
Sha

Excellent tires looks good with gypsy. All set for Munnar OTR, good place to test the tires and Gearset.
Old 8th January 2009, 00:56   #20

shoes does make a difference in appearence! so its same with the vehicles.....better tyres make a vehicle look totally different!

cheers to you khan

cheers:
Old 8th January 2009, 01:14   #21

Good work there Khan! Do let us know how the tyres perform both on & off road.
Old 8th January 2009, 03:36   #22

That's all the awesome stuff, your gypsy must have done some good deeds in its past life , time to put your game face on and find the worst place (terrain). Enjoy

PS: you need a cb radio now to keep in touch with others behind lol
Old 8th January 2009, 08:06   #23

What happened to the front right fender it look s ok in t he older pic although !! The on road ride must be a pain but it s compensated by the immense off road pleasure i am sure !!! Just wondering why have nt you accomodated the front bumper ?? But it look s killer and am sure rides like one too as of now it s my desktop background !!!!
SaaJan

Last edited by m-hawk : 8th January 2009 at 08:08.
Old 8th January 2009, 09:39   #24

Originally Posted by vis-racing View Post
... Like what u done with the bumper. ...
Originally Posted by m-hawk View Post
What happened to the front right fender it look s ok in t he older pic although !! .... Just wondering why have nt you accomodated the front bumper ?? ....
The stock bumper is of no use in OTR. Am getting a custom front bumper fabricated that will be useful in OTR's.

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
... now what is the effect on the on-road grip and braking and ride comfort? What was the size of your earlier tyres?
Earlier I had 215 tyres and now it is 235. Have driven just 15 kms on road till now and few observations are:

- The ride seems to be a bit bumpy -- compared to earlier
- The braking is spot on. No issues so far. Infact tried to speed and brake hard and found no issues.

Yes, it has achieved true Jeepness after all the recent mods...
he he.. you couldn't resist the 'jeep' comment

Originally Posted by dwaraka View Post
...Now your gypsy is a mud chomper in real sense. ...
Yes sir. bring it on...

Originally Posted by Motocoorg View Post
... , time to put your game face on and find the worst place (terrain). ...
Yes. Waiting for the Munnar OTR now to kick some dirt.

Here are some more pictures of the Gypsy with the Maxxis shoes.

Gypsy on Steroids: Maxxis Trepador M8060 MT. Update Now on Yoko Geolander MT!-img_0989.jpg

Gypsy on Steroids: Maxxis Trepador M8060 MT. Update Now on Yoko Geolander MT!-img_0984.jpg

Gypsy on Steroids: Maxxis Trepador M8060 MT. Update Now on Yoko Geolander MT!-img_0988.jpg
Old 8th January 2009, 09:57   #25

Khan,

Your Gypsy looks mean! Seems like you got some more ground clearance due to this upgrade, isn't it?

Now the looks are more like "in your face" kind off! (Similar to Parm's avatar.)
Old 8th January 2009, 10:57   #26

From MRF Zigma to Maxxis mud terrain, what a transformation! But your gypsy does deserve it after the gearset revolution. Getting prepared for some mind blowing performance pictures of your gypsy in your nextOTR!!
-Best regards,
Old 8th January 2009, 11:05   #27

Sweet

Dont those tyres rub on the body anywhere lock to lock?
Old 8th January 2009, 11:12   #28

Hi Sultan,

The Tyres look awesome !!!!!!!!!!!!

It sure looks as if on steroids. The tyres have given a nice tall stance to the Gypsy.

Lookin forward to seeing some amazing pics of it at your next OTR.

Cheers !!!!!!!!
Old 8th January 2009, 12:21   #29

Khan bhai,

The transformation looks awesome, The Gypsy is a mean machine and the modifications have pushed its off-road capabilities to the next level.

Please enlighten us on this query.

Dont those tyres rub on the body anywhere lock to lock?
Was this modification a bolt-on ?? or you had to include some spacers etc to save the tyres from rubbing in ???

Cheers for your ride.
Old 8th January 2009, 12:30   #30

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
.... Seems like you got some more ground clearance due to this upgrade, isn't it?..
Yes. There is an increase in GC now.

Previous figures with 215/75/15 Tyres:
27.7" dia
87" circumference

Now with 235/75/15 Tyres
28.88" dia
90.72" circumference

So there should be approx 1.00" increased GC now.

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
..Dont those tyres rub on the body anywhere lock to lock?
Not noticed it as yet and my parking and travel today did include some tight turns. I think that with 235, one is just at the limit of touching at lock to lock.

However, will have to observe it carefully over the next few days to be 100% sure.

Originally Posted by Sabareesh View Post
... Was this modification a bolt-on ?? or you had to include some spacers etc to save the tyres from rubbing in ?
Bolt on. No modification done -- no spacers etc.