Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 13th March 2010, 11:17   #46

Hey "offroad_maniac", can you shed some light into this Bolero DI 4x4 please. I have checked the mahindra website and I have never come across this model. The only 4x4 bolero model i could find was the 4x4 SLX. what creature comforts does the DI 4x4 come with? All that i need is power steering and a/c + heater. Does it come with these features?
Old 1st December 2010, 19:02   #47

what is the difference between chassis of
  • bolero slx 4x4 with xdpu (wb 2680)
  • bolero di 4x4 (wb 2680)
  • bolero di 4x2 (wb 2680)
if possible share part number as well.

BTW they all have leaf springs up front.
Old 1st December 2010, 21:16   #48

Alll 4x2 Boleros (except camper) have IFS not leaf springs. Only the 4x4 versions have leaf spring front suspension.
Old 1st December 2010, 22:51   #49

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
Alll 4x2 Boleros (except camper) have IFS not leaf springs. Only the 4x4 versions have leaf spring front suspension.
4x2 camper also has IFS.

& bolero Di is available without IFS only.

see attachment.
suspension- rigid leaf springs in front & rear.
* Di is also available in 4x4.
the 2794 mm WB is printing mistake.
i can post picture of new bolero Di in 2680 mm WB & front dead OKBJ axle.
Mahindra: 4x2 to 4x4 conversion-ebrochure15.jpg  

Last edited by jeepster : 1st December 2010 at 22:56.
Old 2nd December 2010, 09:56   #50

@jeepster:

That version of the Bolero (DI) is the long wheelbase ( 2794) with the rear humped the top. This is the version you see with many call center taxis and airport vehicles. This is also the only option if you want Bolero 4WD with DI engine.The regular wheelbase Boleros all come with IFS for 2WD.

Bolero camper 4x2 is IFS only for the Delux version with PS and NGT520 2WD. The regular camper is solid axle up front even for 2WD.

The problem is that the Bolero website is rarely updated, so you need to go to the dealer and see the price list to confirm what vehicle are available.
Old 2nd December 2010, 13:48   #51

hi,
I was using 2wd Bolero GLX in 2000, then Scorpio DX 2007 , Bolero DI 4wd in 2008 and now Bolero SLX in 2009 with Major 4wd 2010 combination.
DI 4wd is with rigid suspension and a basic vehicle with rear @ 6 inch long leg room at rear.Pics attached.I have converted this vehicle to SLX spec with all fittings in DI turbo heart spend @ 2.0Lacs .Sold in 2009 and brought SLX for family and Major for offroading.
Rajith
Mahindra: 4x2 to 4x4 conversion-p1010095.jpg  

Mahindra: 4x2 to 4x4 conversion-p1010036.jpg  

Mahindra: 4x2 to 4x4 conversion-p1010099.jpg  

Old 2nd December 2010, 14:16   #52

Bolero camper 4x2 is IFS only for the Delux version with PS and NGT520 2WD. The regular camper is solid axle up front even for 2WD.
thanks for information.

The problem is that the Bolero website is rarely updated, so you need to go to the dealer and see the price list to confirm what vehicle are available.
thanks i will contact our mahindra dealer.

Originally Posted by Rajith View Post
Bolero DI 4wd in 2008.
DI 4wd is with rigid suspension and a basic vehicle with rear @ 6 inch long leg room at rear.Pics attached.I have converted this vehicle to SLX spec with all fittings in DI turbo heart spend @ 2.0Lacs .Sold in 2009.
Rajith
post more picture if you have them.

Last edited by jeepster : 2nd December 2010 at 14:17.
Old 2nd December 2010, 14:34   #53

more pictures in action and wild at coorg !!
Mahindra: 4x2 to 4x4 conversion-61670_112248028834702_100001485161012_100564_6081318_n.jpg  

Mahindra: 4x2 to 4x4 conversion-61670_112248032168035_100001485161012_100565_8290413_n.jpg  

Mahindra: 4x2 to 4x4 conversion-71731_118037358255769_100001485161012_132078_2159493_n.jpg  

Old 14th December 2010, 11:38   #54

Re: Bolero SLX 4x4 conversion project

@ spike
is it possible to add transfer-case to 2008 bolero slx 4x2 GB?

if yes which on t18 or BW? or both?

is there a manual version of borgWarner TC?

what is the model number of borgwarner TC used by mm? 1350?

@ all bhpians
i was thinking to swap the chassis of my bolero with 4x4 one.
it will cos 30k approx (for chassis) & i will be able to endorse it legally on RC.
  • 1st stage chassis swap & front OKBJ as dead axle. (4x2)
  • 2nd stage addition of TC & connecting front axle to TC. (converting both axle to 4.88)
  • 3rd stage change bolero shell with cj5 shell.
  • 4th stage Drive-train swap.

Last edited by jeepster : 14th December 2010 at 11:40.
Old 14th December 2010, 14:20   #55

@jeepster: Your 2008 Bolero has the NGT520 transfer case. You need to add an adapter to the rear of it to attach the transfer case. The NGT520 always came with T-18, so it is possible with T-18. The NGT520 never came with BW T-case so not sure if the have an adapter for that.

There is a manual version of the BW T-Case. Came in few Armada Grands and now comes in the Thar.

Stage 1 & 2 are fine. Stage 3 will require chopping the chasis and rejoining. This needs to be done at a good place with experience in this kind of stuff.

Since you have a 2008 Bolero, it will be cheaper to get the DI Turbo 540 with 4WD. It will work out cheaper and you have a clean vehicle with much less headache.
Old 20th December 2010, 14:40   #56

Dear jeepster,
Just buy 4wd Major and solve the issue.
Or buy Bolero DI 4wd basic and do reqd upgradation.
Idea of fiddling with 2008 SLX bolero is not a right approach.
Old 23rd January 2011, 22:50   #57

Based on sound advice I am also willing to experiment and convert my 2008 model Bolero SLX DI Turbo to 4WD with a manual transfer case. The vehicle is much depriciated now worth only about 3.75 lakhs, if converted it can do off road in Air Conditioned comfort. I am not cool with my new 4x4 Scorpio off road knowing what beating a vehicle goes through on these trips.

Some people from Banglore who came to visit us on one of our NIOC OTR last year did mention of converting an Armada to 4WD with success. Is Balero Chassis the same ?
Old 23rd January 2011, 23:45   #58

@desertfox:

The big difference in 4WD conversion is the front suspension set up. The Armada is solid axles with leaf springs and can be converted very easily.

The Bolero comes with IFS and is a lot of work to convert to 4WD assuming you can successfully source the spares and find a competent mechanic to do this.
Old 23rd January 2011, 23:47   #59

the Armada has front leaf spring suspension where in Bolero its indignant one.

for Armada its a bolt on job , but the bolero chassis has to be modified to fit the front live axle.

& this modification is not simple & reliable in long term.

so other option is swapping chassis with new 4x4 one from dealer or getting it from second hand market.

in first option you need money & lots of it.
the chassis---------------------60k (second hand 10K)
FFRA (left off set one)+OKBJ)---70K (second hand ? )
T-18---------------------------20K (second hand ? )
misc. parts --------------------40K+ (second hand ? )
labor ---------------------------?
(all fig are approx)
& if you get the second hand parts the problem of legality arises (chassis no. on RC book).
also chassis can be miss aligned too.
axles tubes can be bended ones.
& at last reliability is no where compared to factory one.

my advice will be sell bolero & get 4x4 Thar mdi or second hand 4x4 bolero/armada/invader/marshal. (all are available in box section chassis aka NGCS)

rgds,
Nikhil

EDIT:
+1 to Tini.
parts are rare & good mechanic is amost impossible. (at least in my locality)

Last edited by jeepster : 23rd January 2011 at 23:54.
Old 24th January 2011, 23:26   #60

Yes I guess thats what I will do, buy a DI Thar when it arrives and have a driver ferry it ahead of the Scorpio.