Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 18th November 2011, 10:42   #31

Re: New body shell for MM540

@Twinn

Thank you for the input. I did get to know about the availability of these tubs from Kerala shall enquire and find out. The local brands from Mangalore I came across didn’t have a good finish and moreover 3 tubs I saw had damages due to bad transport handling and rust due to the wet weather as the tubs were not pre-coated. Please post a picture of your tub if possible.

Dear DB Sir,

Thank you very much for writing in detail; You have been very thoughtful for having designed the tub taking into consideration the requirement of non-NGCS vehicle owners too. From my observation I felt that there was some difference in the transmission shifter cover area floor/fire wall between the Thar DI and CRDe bodies. Hence thought that the DI body would be a closer match, please correct me if I’m wrong.

It’s an honour to have you on this forum helping all of us out. Further I will require your guidance for the restoration kindly oblige.

Warm Regards,

Chengappa.
Old 18th November 2011, 16:25   #32

Originally Posted by Timson View Post
Dear DB Sir - From my observation I felt that there was some difference in the transmission shifter cover area floor/fire wall between the Thar DI and CRDe bodies. Hence thought that the DI body would be a closer match, please correct me if I’m wrong. Warm Regards, Chengappa.
Dear Mr.Chengappa - the Thar DI uses the NGT520 transmission whereas the Thar CRDe uses the NGT530R transmission. There may be some minor differences in the floor cover which contains the cutout. I once again state that for one car, you can make local changes and finish it off, it is too minor to be of any consequence. I'll certainly guide you with the restoration.

Strictly for academic information - if you have to do the same "minor change" in production (Oh My Dear God Almighty! ), you will need to climb the mighty Himalaya Mountain rather than crush a molehill. It starts with a PPRF, goes through an FTR and ends with a PPAP. It is a good process in the interest of the product but it is too complicated to explain. I will not even try.

. HaHaHa.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st November 2011, 00:44   #33

Originally Posted by Timson View Post
Dear ALL,

I have been enquiring across various M&M dealerships for a MM-540 tub but all say it's not possible to procure one. I would like to know if a Thar DI tub will be suitable on a non-NGCS MM-540 chassis. Spike/DB Sir please throw some light.

Chengappa.
Chengappa,

kindly find some part nos of mahindra thar, could be helpful in ordering.
New body shell for MM540-tharbodyshell.jpg  

New body shell for MM540-tharbodytrim.jpg  

New body shell for MM540-tharsuperstructure.jpg  

New body shell for MM540-tharplatecover.jpg  

twistwrist is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2011, 19:16   #34

@twistwrist

Thank you very much for uploading the extract of the Thar parts catalogue. I did try a few days ago ordering for body shell part number ‘0101AAD00590A’ and the dealership quotes Rs.100k Yet to decide which way to head.

Chengappa.
Old 23rd November 2011, 10:09   #35

Dear twistwrist / chengappa / all - in picture 3, serial number 3, part number 0083003 is correct but drawing is wrong. Part as shown is fitted in Thar DI / MM540 army. For Thar CRDe, lower angle bracket is not fitted, as 0083003 goes in a round bracket welded to the rear extremities of the body shell. The design is different to get a close tolerancing in "Z" (vertical) direction for proper fitting of the canopy to prevent wrinkles / fluttering noise. The CRDe bracket incorporates dimples in it which locate 0083003. This is for your information.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 23rd November 2011, 10:28   #36

Where can I find a suitable body to replace my MM540's current one ( stretched Limo ) like this ,

Is there any alternative body available for this ??

Attaching an Official brochure of MM ( of My model of Jeep )

New body shell for MM540-scan0041b.jpg

Sudarshan

P. S. Dear Behram Sir can you please guide me through this ??

Last edited by Sudarshan : 23rd November 2011 at 10:30.
Sudarshan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2011, 10:39   #37

Originally Posted by Sudarshan View Post
Where can I find a suitable body to replace my MM540's current one ( stretched Limo ) like this ,

Is there any alternative body available for this ??

Attaching an Official brochure of MM ( of My model of Jeep )

Attachment 846272

Sudarshan

P. S. Dear Behram Sir can you please guide me through this ??
Seeing the back ground and the pillars, guess this is shot in Mahindra Towers itself. No location rent, cost effective production.
Old 15th January 2013, 13:00   #38

I was serching for entire new body for my cousins cl500 Di. found these in Indira motors , Calicut.

CL 500 body tub and other parts are made of 16 guage steel with some kind of sealent in all joints. finish was also good.

cost of tub was 16k and total cost including fenders, bonnet, grill and windshield frame came to 31K. bought it since it was way less time consuming and better finished than any tinker doing it in local work shop.
New body shell for MM540-img2013011000156.jpg
New body shell for MM540-img2013011000159.jpg
also found MM540/550 tubs in their stock yard made of 18 guage steel. price quoted was 30k. even this is available as part by part also.
New body shell for MM540-img2013011000158.jpg
New body shell for MM540-img2013011000160.jpg
New body shell for MM540-img2013011000161.jpg
IMO this is a way better option than goin for a complete body refurbish by any tinker . since these guys will never finish on time

thouht fo posting if some body is looking for an info.

toms_2191 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 17th February 2013, 22:28   #39

Originally Posted by toms_2191 View Post

thouht fo posting if some body is looking for an info.

Thanks for sharing the info bro. I was desperately looking for a 540 tub.
If it's not much trouble, can you PM the contact details, please :-)
Old 18th February 2013, 13:35   #40

Originally Posted by Jerrycan View Post
Thanks for sharing the info bro. I was desperately looking for a 540 tub.
If it's not much trouble, can you PM the contact details, please :-)
Anything for a jeep lover . check your PM

cheers..
Old 18th February 2013, 16:51   #41

Thanks you Manu. I spoke to the guy. He seems to have shells in various thickness. Planning to pay him a visit this week.
Thanks again
regards
Old 20th February 2013, 19:06   #42

Hi jerrycan, i have mentioned in other thread regarding army auctions that the dealer here has army 540 body shells with him.I have given his cel no. so you can enquire from him.An ex army body shell is any day better than a locally made one.
regards,
Old 22nd February 2013, 00:03   #43

You are right Mr.Aulakh, army tubs are any day better. But the transit damage and cost of transportation is very high. I got a shell from Mayapuri, by the time it reached Coimbatore, it had dents all around.
Old 22nd February 2013, 07:56   #44

Anyone knows about such shells available in & around Pune or Mumbai ??

My options are open ,if I like the workmanship I will certainly get one , OE or Non OE

Sudarshan
Old 22nd February 2013, 12:09   #45
AVR

Originally Posted by Sudarshan View Post
Anyone knows about such shells available in & around Pune or Mumbai ??

My options are open ,if I like the workmanship I will certainly get one , OE or Non OE

Sudarshan
Sudarshan Bhai,
There's a place near Palanpur, Gujarat called Kanodar which is largely into body shells and rebuilding from ground up. That might be a good place to look for your Jeep body too. Next time you are in Ahmedabad, you can try making a trip there. It's a couple of hours away from here.

Adi
AVR is offline   (1) Thanks