Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Search this Thread
Old 24th February 2010, 15:31   #1
BHPian

GT Savero MT Tyres for Gypsy

Hi All

I am starting this thread to share with everyone my experiences with Gypsy tyres.

1. Started with 215/75 R15 HT (not AT)

I had these tyres for many years and the grip and handling was very good on road. It absorbed bumps better than F78 and the braking was pretty good too (mind you my Gypsy King did not come with booster brakes).

In 2008 I was introducted to the world of off-roading. I was a newbie and loving it. The most frustating part was that I used to loose traction on the slightest of challenging terrain - be it mildly sandy inclines, loose gravel, slick cemented incline (wet), etc. Sometimes just engaging 4H got me through and sometimes even 4L did not help. It was embarrasing sometimes to engage 4H where others were happy in 2wd.

Here is a pic of my Gyspy with HT 215 tyres.
Attached Thumbnails
GT Savero MT Tyres for Gypsy-215s.jpg  

Last edited by GoSlow : 24th February 2010 at 15:33.
GoSlow is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th February 2010, 16:03   #2
Senior - BHPian

Goslow,

By the look of the tyres of your gypsy, I can say they are worn out atleast 60 -70 %. If they were average age, you could have done better on offroading. However, proper all terrain tyres will surely help you better.

I had bridgestone HT for almost 5 years and for most offroading. I got issues when they were 70 % worn out. Plus the weight of vehicle plays major role in traction.

Probably it's time for changeover to good all terrain tyre. I would suggest yokohoma AT/S for offroading and highway.
Old 24th February 2010, 16:19   #3
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaraka View Post
Goslow,

I had bridgestone HT for almost 5 years and for most offroading. I got issues when they were 70 % worn out. Plus the weight of vehicle plays major role in traction.