Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 3rd February 2018, 21:21   #46

Re: Can this esteem carburetor fit the Gypsy King ?

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
But 3.5k for a used carb is too much, specially when new carb from UCAL is available for 4500-5000 rupees.
Yes, even I think so. That's why I am contemplating about changing the mechanic.

You were right, MGP stores don't have carb parts anymore because when I enquired about the carb with the part number which you had provided, it was not in stock and they were not even ready to order it.
Old 28th May 2021, 23:47   #47

I need to replace the carb on my Maruti 1000 (970cc F10A engine). Its secondary butterfly valve is jammed + a screw on the valve plate is missing, allowing constant air to pass in. Two out of three diaphragms are not holding vacuum and one of them is for the secondary butterfly valve, hence the jammed valve.

Can this esteem carburetor fit the Gypsy King ?-20200921_161012.jpg

Can this esteem carburetor fit the Gypsy King ?-20200921_161017.jpg

The mechanic is recommending replacing the entire carb. I am trying to source an M1000 carb, but the car itself is rare, so is the carb. He says 'most probably' the carb from a Zen, Esteem or M800 would fit. My M1000 is an AC variant but I don't mind removing any AC functionality if it is linked to a carb.

From a scrapyard, I am getting a Zen and Esteem carb. Depending on the condition I will choose one, provided it fits my M1000. I hope I would just need to almost make some minor changes in vacuum piping. Kindly advise.
Old 2nd June 2021, 17:34   #48

I have finally got a clean, less used/opened-up, working Zen carb to fit on my M1000. I have fitted it temporarily as in the condition I got, just to see fitment and run-in it in a car for few drives until I know what to fix/clean-up. Size-wise it fit well but there are a few differences as the following.

Accelerator cable fitment is problematic due to the different shape of the affixation lever compared to the one on the M1000 carb. Need to get a Zen/Esteem accelerator cable, although I have temporarily fixed it in place with metal wire.
Can this esteem carburetor fit the Gypsy King ?-inked20210602_152008_li.jpg
Can this esteem carburetor fit the Gypsy King ?-inked20210531_174438_li.jpg

There are two Vacuum pipes in front of Zen carb which are not available on M1000. I came to know that on Zen carb, the upper one connects to the air filter housing. The lower one connects to the right side diaphragm chamber.
Can this esteem carburetor fit the Gypsy King ?-inked20210531_174522_li.jpg

On M1000, the right diaphragm chamber connects to the outlet on the intake manifold. On M1000, another pipe from the same outlet connects to the AC switch which then connects to the rear AC diaphragm.
Can this esteem carburetor fit the Gypsy King ?-inked20210602_151952_li.jpg

What shall be connected to these two inlets on the front of Zen carb? Currently, my mechanic has blocked the upper inlet as it was sucking air, making a hissing sound and drop in rpm.
Can this esteem carburetor fit the Gypsy King ?-inked20210602_152030_li.jpg

My mechanic has connected the lower inlet to an inlet at the back of the Zen carb (called purge?). What is the correct connection to this valve at back? M1000 does not have it.
Can this esteem carburetor fit the Gypsy King ?-inked20210531_174622_li.jpg

Another difference between the two carbs is an idle switch connector. M1000 has a single wire connector with ground wire connected to a screw. Zen carb has a two-wire connector that includes the ground wire. I have swapped the two switches and it worked well.

Kindly guide me on the correct vacuum hose connections for the Zen carb on my M1000. Do educate me for the purpose of each inlet/outlet.
Can this esteem carburetor fit the Gypsy King ?-inked20210531_174602_li.jpg