Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 6th May 2010, 20:47   #1

Omni Carb onto Gypsy!

Greetings to all, this is my first post in this forum.

I am an amateur and seek the advice of the experts here. I am a hydro engineer by profession and my job requires me to pay constant site visits. The terrain that I'll need to drive on is all bumpy, muddy, uphill, downhill and extremely rough. You'll know what a switchback really feels like if you visit West Sikkim. Anyway, so I'm planning to buy my first vehicle for my harsh use. I considered Mahindra Classic and Maruti Gypsy but finally decided on Gypsy for it's ease of availability than a Classic. The following are my expectations/confusion.

1. I want my Gypsy to run on Neutral (with the engine off). All drivers here adore the (engine&gear)-free ride downhill with just the right foot on the brake, just like a bicycle.

2. I don't seek comfort, I seek convenience and reliability from my Gypsy.

3. Mileage is very important. I'd be disappointed with any figure less than 12 kmpl. I've heard that swapping the carburettor of a Gypsy with a Maruti Omni Van's can really help me save fuel and increase the mileage. Omni Vans are used as taxis here and their drivers tell me that a carburettor Omni Van delivers upto 16 kmpl, neutral drive inclusive). I later asked a local mechanic but he was skeptic and discouraged it. What do you experts think?

4. I can't afford a new Gypsy, so I'm going in for a used one (a Gypsy-410, Soft-top perhaps) and can afford at most 20k for any mods.

Feedback from this forum will be very important and influential to me in making the final purchase. Thank you!
Old 6th May 2010, 20:53   #2
Team-BHP Support