Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 7th July 2010, 10:58   #1
Distinguished - BHPian

Off Road Driving Techniques

Dear all - its been around 2 weeks since the AKC / EXAMM ended and the results are declared for all to see. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I have been quietly reading all the posts in all the threads. One area which emerges very strongly is "Off Road Driving Technique". I am by no means an expert but I have managed to teach myself a few procedures by seeing stalwarts drive and also by being part of various Great Escapes over the years starting January 1996 to-date, which gave me a unique window of opportunity to experiment various ideas and techniques. Being a test engineer, these techniques have also helped me in doing my normal job.

Some of the queries raised were "Do I drive in Low 1st, Low 2nd or High 1st"? "How much do I steer? Do I go slow or fast"? etc. Therefore, I thought of starting this thread as I feel that it will form a very useful databank for all of us to draw information from, as and when required. Therefore, please do post your comments related to this topic. It will be very interesting to share experiences and learn from each other.

I am attaching a photograph of me taking the Thar through the series of articulations during the AKC. It went straight through without any difficulty. Maybe we can start by analysing this process, hence the picture.

Dear Moderators - I am starting this thread in the "excursions" section as by doing so it will remain near to the EXAMM / AKC threads as it is a related topic. However, you may like to move it to its relevant section if so required.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Attached Thumbnails
Off Road Driving Techniques-_2007014.jpg  

Last edited by DHABHAR.BEHRAM : 7th July 2010 at 11:04. Reason: add info
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th July 2010, 11:06   #2
BHPian