Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 11th November 2011, 10:03   #106

Re: Introducing, The LYNX.

excellent Art on wheels

It is one of the most beautiful Jeeps I have ever seen . You have struck a right balance of art & practicality. Also haven't crossed the border towards overdoing it -- still looks quit sober . Its giving a cool breeze to eyes

Congrats ,I bow to this affectionate effort of yours .

Sudarshan
Old 11th November 2011, 11:05   #107

Originally Posted by sreejeshmp View Post
Fazal Bhai ,
Jeep looks Awesome with the Steel wheels.
Sree,

Thank you. Aap sab ki Dua se.

Originally Posted by Sudarshan View Post
excellent Art on wheels

It is one of the most beautiful Jeeps I have ever seen . You have struck a right balance of art & practicality. Also haven't crossed the border towards overdoing it -- still looks quit sober . Its giving a cool breeze to eyes

Congrats ,I bow to this affectionate effort of yours .
Sudarshan,

Thanks for your kind compliments.

I was always aware and afraid that the Jeep shouldn't be overdone.
While the paint was on, I was awaiting the rims in chrome from Vijay but due to some delay had to use Gypsy rims.

It was a conscious effort to balance the (over sober) colour keeping in mind the chrome wheels, so as not to produce a Dabwali Jeep.

Now, after putting on the tyres on the steel wheels, I realized that they ballooned beyond my expectations plus the extra 6" increase in track width.

Panic, panic... will they touch the fenders while articulating???

Took it on the city out skirts for testing, the tyres perfectly move inside the tyre wells, sigh of relief. Saved myself from the "Arka and Behram rap".

Last pic. is not to show articulation but just a pose.

Introducing, The LYNX.-_mg_0085.jpg  

Introducing, The LYNX.-_mg_0101.jpg  

Introducing, The LYNX.-_mg_0089.jpg  

Introducing, The LYNX.-_mg_0106.jpg  

fazalaliadil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th November 2011, 11:24   #108

Nice nice nice nice , Lynx now looks more handsome . awesome articulation .
Old 11th November 2011, 11:30   #109

The recent few pics are just mind blowing and may sound cliche, but let me reiterate, with the new rims, the jeep is simply SUPERB! BTW, what make are those? I am sure these must be imported, but which brand?
Old 11th November 2011, 11:54   #110

Awsome jeep you have here Fazal saab. Were you around the Shamshabad airport on Monday 7th Nov ? I think i had a fleeting glimpse of the Lynx on the road from the airport to the city.

Srini
Old 11th November 2011, 12:03   #111

Originally Posted by karizma9292 View Post
Nice nice nice nice , Lynx now looks more handsome . awesome articulation .
karizma,

Thanks!!

Originally Posted by Kandisa View Post
The recent few pics are just mind blowing and may sound cliche, but let me reiterate, with the new rims, the jeep is simply SUPERB! BTW, what make are those? I am sure these must be imported, but which brand?
Kandisa,

Thank you.

Yes, the rims are imported, same brand that are on "The Dog, IKON", no idea about the brand though.

I also would like to include pics. of last weekend (prior to the wheel change), an early morning, 3 km soft off roading on a jungle track at Srisailam, followed by a 2 km treacherous trek on a most inhospitable, Mars like terrain with my two friends and 8 year old daughter.

My 5 year old son was sulking the day away until evening for being left out with his mother, especially since we went in the Jeep.

Sheet rock strewn with boulders of all sizes.
Introducing, The LYNX.-img_3134.jpg

Introducing, The LYNX.-img_3158.jpg

Introducing, The LYNX.-img_3185.jpg
The trek.
Introducing, The LYNX.-img_3191.jpg
Ramesh, followed by Nuray and Devidas.
Introducing, The LYNX.-img_3207.jpg
Thorns lead to...
Introducing, The LYNX.-img_3212.jpg
THIRST.
Introducing, The LYNX.-img_3223.jpg
Jafar, post sulks...allowed me to photograph him.
Introducing, The LYNX.-img_3356.jpg
Midway to Hyderabad, a brief stop over at Devidas's farm.
Introducing, The LYNX.-img_3393.jpg

Last edited by fazalaliadil : 11th November 2011 at 12:17.
Old 11th November 2011, 12:05   #112

Originally Posted by smsrini View Post
Awsome jeep you have here Fazal saab. Were you around the Shamshabad airport on Monday 7th Nov ? I think i had a fleeting glimpse of the Lynx on the road from the airport to the city.

Srini
Srini,

Thank you.

Yes, were were returning from Srisailam via the airport.
Old 11th November 2011, 14:20   #113

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
Salil,

Ha ha ha, I myself am looking out for a GURU. Thanks for your kind compliments.

Bala,

From the beginning, these rims were supposed to go on the Jeep but for some reason their arrival in India was delayed, until then I had to use the Gypsy rims.

The finish of the Major,Commander fenders is very crude, the reason I added 1 1/2" to the fenders while getting them fabricated. Now the same tyre has ballooned on these rims and looks a different one altogether.
If I spend anymore on this Jeep than I have...guess I will be exiled from my own home.

Yes, those are the same rims also on FB, T BHP classified.

VLOCT,

Thank you so much.

I have done 100kmph very comfortably, but maintain 70-80kmph most of the time on highways, though it can do more but the aerodynamics of a Jeep are not meant for speed

Been to Srisailam with family last weekend in it, did about 2-3 kms of interior roads in the forest, that is Jeep territory.
Ha..ha sir ji you also carry this risk, I hope you haven't got the ultimatum like I have, but kudos to us we still manage to steal time & resources for our love now I can sense how Mrs.Fazalliadil & Kids might have felt when you were in the workshops with the jeeps enjoying the best of time.
Old 11th November 2011, 15:40   #114

If I spend anymore on this Jeep than I have...guess I will be exiled from my own home.
WOW!!! And I thought only I go through these kinds of pains. Though Fazal you have progressed to be allowed to have the jeep. Am currently in the pre negotiation stage... Though am very much sure ki meri bhi number aayega and then I will look to you, Behram and a few others for inputs as othere than the spelling of Jeep, don't know much.

regards
salil
Old 12th November 2011, 12:12   #115

Introducing, The LYNX.-_mg_0035.jpg

Introducing, The LYNX.-_mg_0047.jpg

Introducing, The LYNX.-_mg_0027.jpg

Introducing, The LYNX.-_mg_0045.jpg

Introducing, The LYNX.-_mg_0060.jpg

Introducing, The LYNX.-_mg_0097.jpg
Old 12th November 2011, 12:29   #116

Originally Posted by scphanse View Post
WOW!!! And I thought only I go through these kinds of pains. Though Fazal you have progressed to be allowed to have the jeep. Am currently in the pre negotiation stage... Though am very much sure ki meri bhi number aayega and then I will look to you, Behram and a few others for inputs as othere than the spelling of Jeep, don't know much.
Dear Salil - that's good to know. Let's meet as I am also in Pune now. I want to see MRZ3618 also. Buy the Jeep, we'll restore both together!

Dear Fazal - the Jeep looks really nice now. Please preserve it forever.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 13th November 2011, 08:02   #117

Fazal, Jeep is looking uber cool, and IMHO so-non-hyderabadi (siganture types), I think yours stands out a unique one...

A technical question to all. What is the TRACK WIDTH?

Between which exact points does one calculate the width? (Also for wheel base? - I think WB is easy - from front axle center to rear axle center). How about the TW? Is it from outer wheel-to-wheel, or from inner to inner, or remove the wheels and HUB center to HUB Center?

Please help...
svsantosh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th November 2011, 15:46   #118

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
Fazal, Jeep is looking uber cool, and IMHO so-non-hyderabadi (siganture types), I think yours stands out a unique one...

A technical question to all. What is the TRACK WIDTH?

Between which exact points does one calculate the width? (Also for wheel base? - I think WB is easy - from front axle center to rear axle center). How about the TW? Is it from outer wheel-to-wheel, or from inner to inner, or remove the wheels and HUB center to HUB Center?

Please help...
Santosh,

Thanks for your kind compliments.

You are right about method to measure the wheel base.

I have MM550 diffs on my Jeep, which are 51". I measured to see where does 51" start and end and found the point...where the axle tube meets the drum plate.

In other words, measuring the differential on inner side, end to end gives you the full tube length which is the track width. Correct me if I am wrong.

The steel wheels on the Jeep are 3" negative offset, which translated into a 6" wider track totaling to 57".
Old 13th November 2011, 20:32   #119

You are right about method to measure the wheel base
Sir, where am I right? I am still asking a question, based on your answer, I think I know where to measure now. But thanks for you checking it out for me...

PS - Before the purists point it out, let me just give a tip. The SFRA is indestructible in 99.99% of cases - but even Dhabhar sir would point out the 'unwanted' load on the LONE Bearing at the rear - thanks to your -3 inch MEGA OFFSET rims... reconsider the FFRA.

And how about a proper branded winch to complete the picture? PS - follow the new generation by going the synthetic cable way...
svsantosh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th November 2011, 21:21   #120

Been going through all the pictures again and again and my head for letting go DwArF.

Superb final looks Fazal Saab! All you need is a pappu AC
Jaggu is online now   (1) Thanks