Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 24th July 2011, 00:06   #1

1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Diesel Jeep

I beaome a proud owner of a 1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Jeep. It is in great running condition. 4WD works very well. B275 Diesel Engine, military color, high bonnet. The vehicle was originally purchased by the Railways department of Tamil nadu.
After a long search across the internet medium and friend’s circle. I found a nice jeep for sale at Hosur.The current owner was selling this Beauty as he was travelling to US for higher studies. After speaking with the chap, I decided to check the Jeep at Hosur.I travelled from Bangalore to Hosur the ne next morning.
As soon I saw the jeep, it was love at first sight.
Plans on the Beauty -
1 - Engine Change (any idea on the cost part and the mileage)
2 - Lamda free wheeling hubs
3 - Tyres (NDMS)
Iam planning to change the engine. Jeep gurus please let me know which engine would suit the CJ 500 D and what would be the mileage of these engines?
Any valuable feedback / Suggestions welcome
1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Diesel Jeep-dpicture-003-1600x1200.jpg  

1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Diesel Jeep-dpicture-005-1600x1200.jpg  

1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Diesel Jeep-dpicture-008-1600x1200.jpg  

1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Diesel Jeep-dpicture-009-1600x1200.jpg  

1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Diesel Jeep-picture-003-1600x1200.jpg  

1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Diesel Jeep-picture-007-1600x1200.jpg  

1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Diesel Jeep-picture-009-1600x1200.jpg  

1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Diesel Jeep-picture-011-1600x1200.jpg  

aravind kannan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th July 2011, 07:08   #2

Re: 1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Diesel Jeep

Hope you remember me...

The soft top looks nice, how much and where did you get it done? 1st off, get a set of free wheeling hubs.
Old 24th July 2011, 07:26   #3

Hello Santosh Guru,
I am very proud to know about your association with this jeep in Hosur.

I got the Soft Top at JC Road in Bangalore - Contact Anthony /Noorula Bhai {near CAR AUTOMOBILES).Amazing people who can do wonders with the Top.They charged me Rs 2000/- after the initial quote of Rs 2800/-

I am definitely planning to install the free wheeling hubs .As per Team Bhpians - LAMBDA is the number one choice.Is there any other alternatives / preferences in the hubs category?If s please let me know.

Keep in touch
Old 24th July 2011, 08:22   #4

congrats!!

a nice looking MWB jeep.

also get a set of offroad tyres.

you can see this thread for more engine options.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-te...ions-jeep.html

rgds,
Nikhil
jeepster is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th July 2011, 09:11   #5

Hello Nikhil,
Thanks for the valuable suggestion -

As per the thread -
OM 616 + KIA KMT90 + 5.83 is good for the cj500d (91" wheel base).

How much do you think the cost of the operation and what is the next best alternative for a CJ 500D .I was planning on Quails engine.Any inputs ?
aravind kannan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th July 2011, 13:09   #6

Originally Posted by aravind kannan View Post
As per the thread -
OM 616 + KIA KMT90 + 5.83 is good for the cj500d (91" wheel base)
Hi aravind,

My suggestion for a 500d would be. MDI 3200 + NGT520 or XD3P + KMT90. Since you have purchased the jeep just now, I would suggest you to keep it stock for a while and drive it as it is. You can modify it later slowly as and when pocket permits. You can refer to my 500d's thread for any references.
Old 24th July 2011, 13:33   #7

Hi aravind kannan, congrats on the buy.

I too was offered a '88 500D. If possible, could you please share the price for which you bought her?

Dhanush
dhanushs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th July 2011, 16:56   #8

Dhanush - I was not bothered about the price as I wanted a nice set of wheels without any expenses and trouble free riding.I paid Rs 1,25,000 for the jeep.
Old 24th July 2011, 20:16   #9

Congrats!
With an OM616 engine, it would be hard to retain the 4WD. Even if its made possible, it will be a close shave. I would say, keep the B275 engine for the time being. Its got oodles of torque.
Are those bull horns for real?
jeeva is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th July 2011, 20:21   #10

Aravind,

1) Lamda is the only company (per se) making FWH for M&M jeeps (of course warn makes them in USA/West IIRC)

2) Drive the jeep till dec and then 1st learn what you have then think/ask about what can be done. Put in 3-5K Kms 1st and then explain/ask in layman terms what is bothering you and how can you/we improve it. Dont splurge $ just bcoz it feels nice.

PS - best and trustworthy combo is a XD3P engine (100% perfectly rebuilt) with a 4Fwd + 1Reverse KMT90 Gearbox IMHO.
Old 24th July 2011, 22:23   #11

Jeeva Sir and Santosh Guru - I would love to drive around the town with the existing B275 engine til the end of the year and later go for the conversion.Thanks for all your valuable inputs.

Jeeva - The horns were gifted to me by the previous owner.I modified them to fit the jeep.
Old 25th July 2011, 09:12   #12

As per the thread -

How much do you think the cost of the operation and what is the next best alternative for a CJ 500D .I was planning on Quails engine.Any inputs ?
Originally Posted by Sabareesh View Post
My suggestion for a 500d would be. MDI 3200 + NGT520 or XD3P + KMT90.
i too agree with MDI 3200, one called as BIG CRANK engine by mechanics.
  • costs less
  • fits directly in your jeep & to your GB (retaining 4x4)
  • readily available spares
  • all the work can be done at a single garage
i bought a full set used in MM cabking at @ around 40K.
(MDI3200B+starter+alternator+5spedGB)
(5 speed GB of cabking is useless for 4x4 jeep)

rgds,
Nikhil

EDIT:
if you are on a budget, get a set of ATF sand cum highway (7.50x16) tyres costs around 4.5K for a tyre+tube. (on 5.5j16" rims which you have)

Last edited by jeepster : 25th July 2011 at 09:22.
Old 25th July 2011, 11:12   #13

Jeep looks in decent condition.

As per the thread -
What do you intend to do with this Jeep? Decide your powertrain based on this.

Originally Posted by Sabareesh View Post
Hi aravind,

My suggestion for a 500d would be. MDI 3200 + NGT520 or XD3P + KMT90. Since you have purchased the jeep just now, I would suggest you to keep it stock for a while and drive it as it is. You can modify it later slowly as and when pocket permits. You can refer to my 500d's thread for any references.
Well said.

Originally Posted by jeepster View Post

if you are on a budget, get a set of ATF sand cum highway (7.50x16) tyres costs around 4.5K for a tyre+tube. (on 5.5j16" rims which you have)
You are using 5.5J or 5.5F?

Spike
Old 25th July 2011, 12:26   #14

hi spike i dont have any 16" rim yet but i am looking for a Thar or Scorpio rim set.

6.5J 16" on which i will be using ATF sand cum highway tyres. (for which recommended size is 5.5J 16")

rgds,
Nikhil
Old 25th July 2011, 20:19   #15

1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Jeep FOR SALE from Karnataka Bangalore Urban @ Adpost.com Classifieds > India > 1988 Mahindra CJ 500D 4WD Jeep FOR SALE from Karnataka Bangalore Urban,free,indian,classified ad,classified ads,secondhand,second hand

Is this the same jeep? Who is Arya and why is asking 2Lacs for something you got for 1.25 a few weeks ago?
svsantosh is offline   (1) Thanks