Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 20th May 2012, 14:54   #1

'71 Nissan Patrol Jonga for 6 lakhs. Should I bite?

I came across this 1971 jonga for sale.The owner is demanding 6 lacs.
He claims the engine has never been overhauled.All the gauges etc are
working fine.Please let me know the approximate worth of this vehicle.
All help will be appreciated.
regards.
'71 Nissan Patrol Jonga for 6 lakhs. Should I bite?-dscn0105.jpg  

'71 Nissan Patrol Jonga for 6 lakhs. Should I bite?-dscn0106.jpg  

'71 Nissan Patrol Jonga for 6 lakhs. Should I bite?-dscn0107.jpg  

'71 Nissan Patrol Jonga for 6 lakhs. Should I bite?-dscn4318.jpg  

'71 Nissan Patrol Jonga for 6 lakhs. Should I bite?-dscn4326.jpg  

'71 Nissan Patrol Jonga for 6 lakhs. Should I bite?-dscn4333.jpg  

hps aulakh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th May 2012, 22:16   #2

So your are prepared to get 3 KMPL?
At least that's what I have heard. It's a completely different story if you happen to own a petrol bunker.

In fact, while I am at it, Nissan Patrol should be renamed Nissan Petrol.
Automaton is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st May 2012, 01:02   #3

Re: Nissan Patrol Jonga 1971

I only need to know its worth.Btw a well tuned jonga's efficiency never fell below 9 kmpl.

Last edited by GTO : 22nd May 2012 at 15:35. Reason: There is NO NEED to get all rude.
Old 21st May 2012, 09:35   #4

Originally Posted by hps aulakh View Post
regards.
Dear Sir,

Looks in very pristine condition.
I was also for lookout till last year, but now gave up.
I heard of similar one changing hands for 4L in Pune last December.
This particular was in excellent mechanical condition and it also came with few spares as per the agent who brokered the deal.
I am not able to provide this agent's contact details - his mobile number does not exists now.

Ravindra
Old 21st May 2012, 09:51   #5

regards.
Brother - Please google "1971 Jonga", I just got a listing site which states 3.75 for a diesel version..

Nissan jonga - Trovit Cars

6 lacks is way too high, but what say its his pride so he might quote a million bucks, but it all depends on what you can bargain. We just cannot say what might be the worth of a vehicle with by sitting miles away.

But one thing for sure restoring a JONGA is a pain, followed by passion. So its upto you!!!

Good luck for your bargain, check out few threads in here we have few folks who have restored the JONGA's, they might give an fair idea what would be the best bargain.

Last edited by Twinn : 21st May 2012 at 09:54.
Old 21st May 2012, 16:36   #6

Re: '71 Nissan Patrol Jonga for 6 lakhs. Should I bite?

The Jonga does look in good condition but 6 lakhs is on the higher side. Try bargaining and get him down to a descent cost.

Please do take a knowledgeable friend or a mechanic to inspect the vehicle before you quote your price. These old machines do test patience and come up with quite a lot of surprises

After you receive a green flag from your buddy / mechanic, you can finalize things. In my opinion, 2.5 - 3 lacs would be a good buy. The cost quoted is purely my point of view. Please feel free to differ if you feel otherwise.

All the best. Please do keep us posted on the updates.
Old 21st May 2012, 16:50   #7

Gosh, this Jonga looks beautiful! Nearly like showroom condition.

Yes, it is over-priced. BUT

My advice : When it's a car I love, the heart always rules over the head. If you spot a great example of a rare car you really want, just go ahead and pick it up. Don't worry about the extra $$$ or waste any time. Remember, it's a rare vehicle and there is a slim chance you'll come across such a well-maintained example again. The supply is very limited with such cars. I'm on the lookout for a classic Merc and would willingly pay 50 - 100% over the market value if I see an exemplary piece.

Of course, my advice is subject to:

- The rarity of well-maintained Jongas (I cannot confirm this)
- Your doing a thorough inspection with a mechanic / friend
- All the other precautions (including paperwork) mentioned in this article
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2012, 22:57   #8

My take: Similar to GTOs.

The vehicle looks to be in very good condition. The chances of yours coming across a vehicle in similar condition for sale are very close to zero. You miss out on this one, you have missed out.
But
the chances of the seller getting anywhere close to 6l from anyone are also remote. Unless he can set up a bidding war between you and someone else.

If you lust after a Jonga, go for it, but bargain very very hard.

Are you sure he actually wants to sell, or is just fobbing off people with that price.

Sutripta

PS. I had a Jonga. My experience with it (not happy) is another matter altogether.
Sutripta is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2012, 11:56   #9

The Jonga sure does look in good shape.

Pristine in terms of originality - YES.
Pristine in terms of asking price - NO.

Since the seller is mentioning that nothing has been overhauled - you will need to bear those expenses when the time comes (that carb surely needs to be replaced and its really difficult to find one - I recently got a new Solex one from Mayapuri as a spare backaup)

A well tuned Jonga can give you anywhere between 2kmpl - 10kmpl depending upon the engine condition and your driving style.

Search the forum for "Jonga" - and you'll come across a lot of good (and cynical) information - Here's one - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...ter-truck.html

Base your decision on the following:-
1. How badly you want THIS one,
2. How badly you want one - picking up an auction vehicle and doing it up would be cheaper but time consuming (This is what I did).
3. Application - cruiser or bruiser!

Cheers..

Last edited by R32_GTR : 23rd May 2012 at 12:03. Reason: content added
R32_GTR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2012, 22:51   #10

I only need to know its worth.Btw a well tuned jonga's efficiency never fell below 9 kmpl.
It is a every well restored piece. For vehicles like these there is not standard market value guidelines. Guess it depends on how badly one needs it.

9 kmpl from a 4000 cc 6 cyliner petrol engine designed in late 1960s is just amazing. I was able to average only 8 to 9 from my 4.2 liter inline six diesel Nissan Patrol.
Old 29th May 2012, 08:29   #11

6L appears to be a bit on the high side- even though it appears to have been restored well. Drive it and check the mechanicals and ensure everything is working well.

Imagine if you have to buy one as scrap and then restore it to this level, given the direct cost (parts etc) and Indirect cost (tension, time and tears) - will it be less than or greater than 6L?

At the end of the day - "Price is what you pay. Value is what you get." so don't confuse the two.

Last edited by madan80 : 29th May 2012 at 08:31. Reason: post #1301 - wow!
Old 29th May 2012, 13:16   #12

Hello HPS Aulakh,
i am in total confirmation on this a well tuned jonga does in fact return an average of 7-8 easily.I have seen a jonga owned by my uncle in 80-90's and i still remember him saying "ye nai maruti car to great hai 20 average deti hai, mera jonga to 7/8 hi deta hai par 10 maruti caro ko kench sakta hai". these words still resound in my ears when i see a jonga.

Gosh, this Jonga looks beautiful! Nearly like showroom condition.

Yes, it is over-priced. BUT

My advice : When it's a car I love, the heart always rules over the head. If you spot a great example of a rare car you really want, just go ahead and pick it up. Don't worry about the extra $$$ or waste any time. Remember, it's a rare vehicle and there is a slim chance you'll come across such a well-maintained example again. The supply is very limited with such cars. I'm on the lookout for a classic Merc and would willingly pay 50 - 100% over the market value if I see an exemplary piece.

Of course, my advice is subject to:

- The rarity of well-maintained Jongas (I cannot confirm this)
- Your doing a thorough inspection with a mechanic / friend
- All the other precautions (including paperwork) mentioned in this article
With GTO i agree its overpriced but when you want it and have the vitamin M a few red notes here and there don't matter as you rarely find such beauties.As GTO says get it checked though surgically.
Get it if you love it its good to be impulsive in some situations
jeepbug is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th May 2012, 14:21   #13

Thanks to you all for your suggestions.The problem is that as it is with Supply and Demand, Jongas especially in a good condition have become a rarity.Even the army depots hardly have any left now.I have a CJ2a 1948 which this seller is asking me to exchange with the Jonga.He was demanding 1.5 lacs with it which i flatly refused.Now he is further reducing the amount.Is it worth an at par exchange? What do you all say to that.
Old 29th May 2012, 22:14   #14

Hey buddy, With the fuel prices going high - i think it would be good for you to reconsider buying it.

Karthi
Old 29th May 2012, 22:21   #15

Well we all know that your heart is set on it sir. So when in doubt, follow your heart.
My two bits? See if you can retain the '48 CJ2A. That's equally rare and precious too. Also, it's a vehicle you know well. That scores heavily, vis-a-vis a vehicle that you know superficially.

All the best with your decision, either way you have a winner in your garage.