Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 28th May 2012, 16:09   #1

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions

I am looking at a 2002 Bolero which the owner claims is an Lx model 4x4 (manual shift) with AC and Power steering and XD3P engine. The vehicle is Nagpur (MH 31) registered and has run appx 1.5 L kms. Interiors and tyres not in a great shape. Engine is reportedly in running condition. 4x4 is also reportedly working.

I have not yet seen the vehicle with my own eyes.

Here are some pics of the vehicle :

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-1.jpg

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-2.jpg

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-3.jpg

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-4.jpg

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-5.jpg

My questions :
  1. Did this vehicle come with the AC and the PS setup from the factory ?
  2. What will be a good price to pay for this vehicle ?
  3. What else should i check before buying ?
  4. What is the expected fuel efficiency of this vehicle ?
I intend to make this as my expedition vehicle for my long highway and off the beaten trail drives.

regards,
Dr. A Ghosh
Old 28th May 2012, 16:24   #2

Re: Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions

^^ Looks pretty badly used and maintained even worse.

I would keep away from this vehcile as :-

1. There seems to be a lot of work involved to get it in running condition.
2. Do not think 2002 Bolero 4X4 came with PS and AC (Even the BSIII once today do not come with it!)
3. Reliability issues, as you are planning for long trips.

ObsessedByFIAT is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th May 2012, 16:32   #3

hi,

Its NGCS,Wider track,OKBJ,XDP3, may be 4spd please check.Engine is decent.Can rework to make back to spec.Dont expect this to be hifi war horse, but yes, it seems to be fair.

NO AC or PS.

Max 2L can be given, if all papers are clear & vehicle not met any accident.Else stay away.
Rajith is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th May 2012, 23:26   #4

dr ghosh you are selling your gypsy to go for this piece of rusted metal? i dont get the logic besides any savings in terms of diesel would be negated in the headache of maintaining this so called bolero .i would peg it between 60 to 70 k if you have the time money and inclination to undertake another restoration.
sierrakamat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th May 2012, 23:30   #5

Buy this as you would buy a scrap army disposal at an auction. 80-90K max. Then you can spend 2-3L and make it as per your tastes.
Old 29th May 2012, 15:06   #6

Seems in pretty bad condition. Donot think it is wise to go for it unless you get it really cheap. What is the price quoted for it ?

Originally Posted by ObsessedByFIAT View Post
2. Do not think 2002 Bolero 4X4 came with PS and AC (Even the BSIII once today do not come with it!)
The BSIII Bolero Lx has PS but not AC.

Sugata
Old 29th May 2012, 16:03   #7

Originally Posted by abheekg View Post

My questions :
  1. Did this vehicle come with the AC and the PS setup from the factory ?
  2. What will be a good price to pay for this vehicle ?
  3. What else should i check before buying ?
  4. What is the expected fuel efficiency of this vehicle ?
I intend to make this as my expedition vehicle for my long highway and off the beaten trail drives.
1. 2002 Bolero came in 2 models with & without factory fit AC & PS. Check with the seller on the same.

2. Max 1 lakh, if the paper work is in order. No Paper no Money. dont buy it without any paper. Its a pain in the neck to arrange paperwork.

3. Rust, How long has it been since the vehicle was last used, check working 4X4 if possible. Reason for sale .

4. 10kmpl with the old engine.

Additional good to know things:
  • Re-Boring the engine might be required since engine is 1.5 lac kms old
  • Rust-work must be done
  • Note that vehicle has black numper plate with white letters. It Suggests that vehicle is not used for more than 10 years
  • Full restoration in the tune of 3 lacs Minimum.
  • Reliability on long trips is a question even if professionally restored
  • For 3 lacs you get 4X4s in excellent condition. try to see if something appeals to you.
  • Mahindra A.S.S can arrange parts for this vehicle as the vehicle is same as the Bolero Commercial pickup truck.

Last edited by scopriobharath : 29th May 2012 at 16:06.
scopriobharath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th May 2012, 17:48   #8

Originally Posted by Altocumulus

The BSIII Bolero Lx has PS but not AC.

Sugata
Thanks for the correction! Just checked, bsIII Bolero does come with PS
Old 29th May 2012, 18:06   #9

Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
Note that vehicle has black numper plate with white letters. It Suggests that vehicle is not used for more than 10 years
Not necessarily. You can still find vehicles in rural areas that go around with such plates. But yes, it not been used for quite some time. May not be for 10 years, though.
condor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 29th May 2012, 22:37   #10

All the XD3 engined 4x4 Boleros I've seen came with BA10, BW electric shift, PS, and AC.
Know that there was a cheaper version (4x4) meant for government procurement (Tick all the checkpoints, be L1) without AC/ PS. Would like confirmation on the GB/ TC.

Sutripta
Old 9th August 2012, 06:32   #11

Originally Posted by Sutripta View Post
All the XD3 engined 4x4 Boleros I've seen came with BA10, BW electric shift, PS, and AC.
Know that there was a cheaper version (4x4) meant for government procurement (Tick all the checkpoints, be L1) without AC/ PS. Would like confirmation on the GB/ TC.

Sutripta

The owner finally sent me more pics today.
It is indeed a manual shift 4x4 Bolero. Surprisingly it has a full internal roll cage fitted. Check out the other pics. Considering the vehicle condition, please advise me if I should go ahead with this or not and what should be a reasonable offer that I can give to the seller ?

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-b1.jpg

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-b2.jpg

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-b3.jpg

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-b4.jpg

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-b5.jpg

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-b6.jpg

Name:  b7.jpg
Views: 3231
Size:  55.6 KB

Thinking of buying a used Bolero Lx 4x4 - questions-b8.jpg

Even if I end up buying this, what may be the estimated expenses required to get this vehicle into reasonable good shape for daily use? Please advise.

regards,
Dr. A Ghosh

Last edited by abheekg : 9th August 2012 at 06:34.
Old 9th August 2012, 20:46   #12

^^^
If you are thinking of shifting, I think you'll have another problem in the mix: out of state registration. Factor that in.

Advice would depend on your priorities. Esp how much value you put on reliability. And the value you give your own time.

Would you have better pics of the engine. Esp. the head/ injectors/ FIP?
Is the radiator a crossflow type? Can't make out.

Sutripta

PS. If you are in Calcutta, give me a call.
Sutripta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th August 2012, 00:25   #13

I am going to say something you aren't going to want to hear. This model of 4x4 I drove several a times some years back and I was thinking of buying one new at that time. However, I was absolutely appalled by the poor performance of this car. They had done something to make the engine completely lifeless. It was so slow I feared for my life pulling out into traffic. The steering was horrendous. It was WAY difficult to steer, like a big truck. I drove 3 of them and they were all just god-awful. Be really careful of this little bundle of joy, 'ay? It was one of the worst P.O.S. (piece of ***) I have ever come across....and I drove 3 of them and each was like driving a brick.
Old 11th August 2012, 23:31   #14

Doctor Sahib,
My suggestions are in 2 plans:

Plan A: If you buy this Bolero for around may be 1 lakhs which i dont think is possible, eventually the Truck needs at least blood transfusion and surgeries worth of more than 3 lakhs and no peace of mind, not to mention the many work hours spend on the Restoration and still no guarantee if you would like the end product! if you are so much after a DI plus 4x4 setup, why not invest in a THAR DI and go for a hard top like the one being developed in Hyderabad

Plan B: Invest the same money in your CJ3B from WB, one of the best running examples of SWB Jeeps available. Lucky are the likes of you who are with UBS sir. It will not be hard to look for a hard top and like Padam says "Save today for a better restoration tomorrow".

All in all, IMHO, this truck is not meant to be restored, purely my point of view.
Have gone through a similar experience but I am happy that I sailed away.
Old 12th August 2012, 02:30   #15

Originally Posted by DirtyDan View Post
I am going to say something you aren't going to want to hear. This model of 4x4 I drove several a times some years back and I was thinking of buying one new at that time. However, I was absolutely appalled by the poor performance of this car. They had done something to make the engine completely lifeless. It was so slow I feared for my life pulling out into traffic. The steering was horrendous. It was WAY difficult to steer, like a big truck. I drove 3 of them and they were all just god-awful. Be really careful of this little bundle of joy, 'ay? It was one of the worst P.O.S. (piece of ***) I have ever come across....and I drove 3 of them and each was like driving a brick.
I own one such vehicle and have clocked 20000 Km in 5 months, do not agree that it such a bad vehicle. No doubt that it is slow on the expressway, but in the hilly region it is quite good if handled properly.