Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 8th January 2013, 17:20   #31

Re: Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels

Originally Posted by RAINMAKER View Post
Samurai, that makes two of us ! "This thing" is what is additional on my classic and is "part" of the booster brakes ? Or am I missing something here..
That is just vacuum pump. The alternator which is currently running on your jeep doesn't have the vacuum pump built in. hence the arrangement.
star_aqua is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2013, 17:31   #32

Originally Posted by star_aqua View Post
That is just vacuum pump. The alternator which is currently running on your jeep doesn't have the vacuum pump built in. hence the arrangement.
But Classics came with vacuum driven brake booster for the disk brakes. Does that mean his alternator is not original?
Old 9th January 2013, 11:31   #33

Originally Posted by star_aqua View Post
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
But Classics came with vacuum driven brake booster for the disk brakes. Does that mean his alternator is not original?
It is the vacuum pump.. Had a talk with the mech today. My alternator doesnt have it built in...

Question is shall I carry on with this arrangement, or revert back to stock setup. What are the pros and cons?
Old 9th January 2013, 18:15   #34

It is the vacuum pump.. Had a talk with the mech today. My alternator doesnt have it built in...

Question is shall I carry on with this arrangement, or revert back to stock setup. What are the pros and cons?
Vivek Ji,
All Mahindra vehicles are custom made . different batch of classic had different setup for vacuum assisted. Its original and you do not need to remove this set up.

Shubhendra
Old 10th January 2013, 20:56   #35

Originally Posted by Shubhendra View Post
Vivek Ji,
All Mahindra vehicles are custom made . different batch of classic had different setup for vacuum assisted. Its original and you do not need to remove this set up.

Shubhendra
Thats a first. Have decided to live with this setup for now.

Had been to the workshop today to check on the progress.

The bore / pistions are in good condition. Head should be fitted tomorrow.
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130110_1805062.jpg

Is the below recliner adjuster original or is it different shaped?
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130110_1915232.jpg

Have sent an updated list to Tejas who is helping me procure parts for the classic. Hopefully that should reach by next week. As of now I am only focussing on the mechanical fitness. Asthetic fitness will be done after the Bangalore Annual OTR..

Last edited by Samurai : 10th January 2013 at 21:09. Reason: use multi-quote: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/announcements/78140-how-multi-quote-when-replying-thread-team-bhp.html
Old 21st January 2013, 19:41   #36

Classic Comes Home and Goes for Trail Rating

Post the head job and cleaning / replacing all fuids / filters and checking 4WD fitness and removing the fender mounted ammunition box and jerry can and aluminium frame for soft top, I took delivery from Ganesh.

From thereon filled up diesel (First time in my life I am filling Diesel for a vehicle) where it drew tons of attention.

From thereon it went straight to Lord Ganesha's temple in Jayanagar for a blessing.
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130119_185258.jpg
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130119_185810.jpg

The Classic comes home and the second one is eager to hope in.
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-dsc_3683.jpg

The kids go for a ride.
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-dsc_3688.jpg

The Classic's posing new home.
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-dsc_3698.jpg

In the Garage.
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-dsc_3699.jpg

The Classic gets Trail Rated. It did one complete trial for which I have been assigned "Marshal"..
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130120_112044.jpg  

Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130120_164225.jpg  

Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130120_164302.jpg  

Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130120_165348.jpg  

Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130120_165505.jpg  

RAINMAKER is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st January 2013, 20:31   #37

The vehicle looks great. Nice writeup and was equally thrilled to see a nice MM classic specimen with the spoke wheels. All the very best with your new offroadie...Will see u at BAOTR2013.

Regards,Vivekj
Old 22nd January 2013, 11:50   #38

RAINMAKER,

Please don't mind if you saw me under your jeep , searching for a Switch & Mount.
BTW White Classic with Spoke wheels is a pleasure to see...Congrats.

- Sreejesh
Old 14th February 2013, 15:06   #39

Originally Posted by sreejeshmp View Post
RAINMAKER,

Please don't mind if you saw me under your jeep , searching for a Switch & Mount.
BTW White Classic with Spoke wheels is a pleasure to see...Congrats.

- Sreejesh
Sreejesh,

You didnt have time to look down under I suppose, with all that off-road activity and "Bangalore-ka-paani" when not off-road!!!
Old 14th February 2013, 15:14   #40

A few Pics from the BAOTR - 2013.

Ready for Marshaling.
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130125_101104.jpg

Getting the Herd in place
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130125_101906.jpg

Somewhere on the rocks
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130126_121211.jpg

Man and the Machine
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130126_121432.jpg

Communication was the Key to the success of the event
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130125_101921.jpg  

Old 14th February 2013, 15:21   #41

Sourced some parts for the Classic from Atlas Motors..
Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130210_163834.jpg  

Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130210_164945.jpg  

Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130210_165014.jpg  

Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130210_165018.jpg  

Rainmaker acquires a 1996 Mahindra Classic with Spoke Wheels-20130210_165033.jpg  

Old 14th February 2013, 16:54   #42

Good he finally sent you those parts. Let me know if you need anything else. The bumper corners are still lying with me. You were supposed to let me know when ordering from atlas so i could get them shipped together.
Old 14th February 2013, 17:01   #43

Congrats Rainmaker, The classic looks great with those wheels wish you many happy miles with her.

Offtopic: Your tbhp handle reminds me of the emd sd60, which was affectionately called rainmaker as well.
Old 14th February 2013, 17:03   #44

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Good he finally sent you those parts. Let me know if you need anything else. The bumper corners are still lying with me. You were supposed to let me know when ordering from atlas so i could get them shipped together.
Tejas,

It all happened in a hurry, so much so that I Air Shipped the entire stuff to Bangalore as I was leaving Bangalore.. Am right now in Delhi till Sunday and then am off to China till March end..

He is yet to send me the side fender mounted indicators..Will see how to get the bumper corners shipped to me.
Old 14th February 2013, 22:29   #45

Sreejesh,

You didnt have time to look down under I suppose, with all that off-road activity and "Bangalore-ka-paani" when not off-road!!!
Thats right Marshal , I do offroading weekly but "Bangalore-ka-paani" only in OTR Events .