Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 19th December 2014, 10:48   #136

Re: Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B

Dear Shubhendra - in one word, PERFECT! This is the correct appearance of a CJ3BLHD! Now please do all fitments exactly as per original, no fancy things please! The CJ3B chassis had box reinforcements inside the long members just behind the front bumper. I wonder why your vehicle does not have them.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar

Last edited by DHABHAR.BEHRAM : 19th December 2014 at 10:50.
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2014, 11:02   #137

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
Dear Shubhendra,

A little suggestion, replace the flat head lamps lens with rounded Lucas or Lumax.
Fazal Saheb,
Thank you ! These are temporary lamps from our another Jeep. Original ones are misplaced at the moment along with few other small fittings of CJ3B, Kaiser and Bantam trailer. Hunt is on.......

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Shubhendra - in one word, PERFECT! This is the correct appearance of a CJ3BLHD! Now please do all fitments exactly as per original, no fancy things please! The CJ3B chassis had box reinforcements inside the long members just behind the front bumper. I wonder why your vehicle does not have them.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Thank you Dhabhar Saheb,
Nothing fancy on jeep. if i am not wrong LHD 3B has circular reinforcement behind front bumper on which battery mount is welded. Its very much there on the jeep, else we couldnt have fitted the battery.

Shubhendra SIngh
Old 19th December 2014, 12:32   #138

Originally Posted by Shubhendra View Post
If i am not wrong LHD 3B has circular reinforcement behind front bumper on which battery mount is welded. Its very much there on the jeep, else we couldnt have fitted the battery.
Dear Shubhendra - I know the circular cross member. I am talking about "C" section reinforcements inside the long members exactly behind the front bumper. It is very difficult to get original Lucas TVS round glass headlights with the original bulbs now, I have telephoned my Chor Bazaar guy to check if he has a couple of them with him, let's see.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th December 2014, 13:29   #139

I am talking about "C" section reinforcements inside the long members exactly behind the front bumper. It is very difficult to get original Lucas TVS round glass headlights with the original bulbs now, I have telephoned my Chor Bazaar guy to check if he has a couple of them with him, let's see.
Dhabhar Saheb,
Refer below picture of our other LHD CJ3B, can you please highlight what cross member you are talking about ?

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20140619wa0007.jpg

Shubhendra Singh
Old 20th December 2014, 10:16   #140

Dear Shubhendra - first of all, I am not talking about any "cross member", I am talking about the "long member reinforcements". Please see the picture in the last post no 139. Exactly below the grille mounting brackets, there are two long member reinforcements in "C" shape, touching the round cross member on which the battery mounting bracket is welded. Now see both the pictures in post no 127. There reinforcements are not there. Both chassis are CJ3BLHD, so why the difference? There must be a valid reason, WILLYS designs are perfect. I hope this clarifies my query. Please revert.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 25th December 2014, 16:47   #141

Subhen Bhai.. A must include unit is the CDI conversion kit for the ignition.. after your input, we have installed the same in our Willys and it is running butter smooth now..
nanju is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th December 2014, 11:57   #142

Originally Posted by nanju View Post
Subhen Bhai.. A must include unit is the CDI conversion kit for the ignition.. after your input, we have installed the same in our Willys and it is running butter smooth now..
Avin bhai,
Its on cards, let seats and other miscellaneous things get sorted. How is vehicle behaviour on cold start. is your fuel pump holding well (overheat issues) ?

Shubhendra
Old 5th January 2015, 15:27   #143

Avin bhai,
Its on cards, let seats and other miscellaneous things get sorted. How is vehicle behaviour on cold start. is your fuel pump holding well (overheat issues) ?

Shubhendra
Chief,

I have started using electronic pump, manual was a pain in the ass. The one we are using has got an auto cut-off, which is an added benefit. Faced problems with them too earlier, but was diagnosed by using a 10 amp fuse. Havent had any issues post that.
nanju is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th January 2015, 15:51   #144

Dear Nanju - please PM me your mobile number, I'll tell you exactly how to do the electronic fuel pump installation. Also, please give details of the CDI ignition, if good, I would like to use in my classic fiats also as the aggregates are the same.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 5th January 2015, 16:55   #145

Dear Nanju - please PM me your mobile number, I'll tell you exactly how to do the electronic fuel pump installation. Also, please give details of the CDI ignition, if good, I would like to use in my classic fiats also as the aggregates are the same.
Dhabhar Saheb,
Please enlighten all of us on installation of electronic fuel pump. It will be handy to me and countless other silent reader as well.
for electronic ignition, you must have heard about Mr Bhide from Kolhapur who was previously operating from Bombay and now from Kolhapur

www.autoescorts.in/

Shubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2015, 16:44   #146

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Sir,

Sent you a PM and details on the MPI ignition is as mentioned by Shuben Bhai..
Old 22nd January 2015, 11:50   #147

Jeep is finally painted and back home. Externally we have not done much and kept it as simple as we could. Original seats have been retained as well as dashboard. We have data plates stored which will be fixed in firewall and dashboard. We are not putting hood on this Jeep as it will be used ocassionally ( few hundred kms in a year).
Jeep has done one more night jungle drive and performed well. Only problem we are facing is Jeep miss the beat and dies down if accelerator pushed suddenly. will fit CDI ignition when i go home in few months....

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20150117wa0002.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20150117wa0001.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20150117wa0003.jpg

Shubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2015, 13:03   #148

Jeep misses the beat and dies down if accelerator pushed suddenly.
Dear Shubhendra - CDI will not solve this issue (but please let me know your experience during fitting, I want to know for my fiats), as this is a carburettor issue. I presume that all your engine tuning parameters are as per specification (inlet 16 thou cold / exhaust 18 thou cold / dwell angle 60 degrees / ignition timing 5 degrees BTDC / spark plug gap 0.7 mm / Lucas PA12 ignition coil without ballast resistor / minimum 12 liters capacity muffler / 1.5 inches exhaust system) and that you are using the Solex M32PBIC carburettor. If yes, please let me know the venturi throat size of the carburettor. The original size was 25 mm, if this is changed, the engine will die on sudden acceleration. The size number is cast on the venturi, you can see it and tell me. Also clean the idling circuit petrol jet with a very thin wire, irrespective of the standard procedure that says that jets must not be cleaned with wire. This jet orifice is so small that it clogs very frequently. As you will use the vehicle very rarely, please drain the petrol out of the carburettor body before hibernation.

Your vehicle is perfect in all respects. I salute you for creating my dream vehicle out of the barn find. I would like to point out some very minor things, this is nitpicking, please allow me to nitpick a little. .

1. Bonnet footman loop is missing, please fit.
2. CJ3BLHD had two rubber buffers on the bonnet for resting the windshield glass when folded and 4 bonnet catches, not 2, but if you have the original reference, I'll go with 2 also.
3. The front grille has a projection on the RH side for the battery, which may be painted black to provide visual symmetry with the LH side.
4. CJ3BLHD did not have carpets, but if you have the original reference, I'll go with it.
5. The front bumper and the RH tie rod seem to have slight inward bows, could these be locally corrected?

WELL DONE! .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2015, 13:26   #149

[
Your vehicle is perfect in all respects. I salute you for creating my dream vehicle out of the barn find. I would like to point out some very minor things, this is nitpicking, please allow me to nitpick a little. .
Dhabhar Saheb,
Thank you for appreciation, it means a lot to us.
You mixed the issue of missing beats and CDI ignition. I think my statement made it look like that. If I send your tuning steps to my old mech he will stop taking our jeeps, he tunes the engine in pin drop silence, hearing each and every beat, setting one thing at a time. Generally he takes minimum a day or more for tuning. Jeep is stationed 25kms in a small town, whenever Jeep goes to city (I don’t know when), it will be sorted out by him or whenever he comes to our place delivering second petrol Jeep with his son, he will sort it out.
Thank you for inputs, it will help me to tune the carb and ancillaries when I go home. Desi jugaad to start these engines which we are following since ages is to open carb top, put some petrol in carb, pump the pedal and voila.
1. Bonnet footman loop is missing, please fit.
Its with us, will be fitted soon.
3. The front grille has a projection on the RH side for the battery, which may be painted black to provide visual symmetry with the LH side.
It still has projection to right hand side, else we would have not been able to fit battery

4. CJ3BLHD did not have carpets, but if you have the original reference, I'll go with it.
Its personal choice, we prefer carpets
5. The front bumper and the RH tie rod seem to have slight inward bows, could these be locally corrected?
May be in few days/weeks/months it will be corrected

Shubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th January 2015, 12:01   #150

Dhabhar Saheb, if I send your tuning steps to my old mechanic he will stop taking our Jeeps, he tunes the engine in pin drop silence, hearing each and every beat, setting one thing at a time. Generally he takes minimum a day or more for tuning.
Dear Shubhendra - I perfectly understand what you have mentioned and I am happy that you mentioned it. I have learnt from three such masters, they are GOD for me for all time. Although all three have physically passed away, I get their guidance every single day and I use 100% of their teaching in my daily job which as you know is on vehicles only. The result is priceless.

Let me tell you what I used to do when I used to be their apprentice. On the first day, they threw me out and for the first month, they gave me nothing to do except scrub old gaskets off the sump face and clean parts with kerosene. I used to let them do things their way, quietly watch and learn all the sub-steps. These "sub-steps" is where the real content is, you got to catch every single nuance. For example, every small twist of the volume control screw had a reason why they would do it. Then I used to take the instrumentation, obtain the resultant from the car, write down and then compare with specifications. For the volume control screw, the input parameter was the quantum of vacuum inside the inlet manifold, the output parameter was the "smooth silent surge" of power and the amount of water coming out of the tail pipe. I have done many such exercises in the Premier Padmini and I am still learning, if you can do the same exercise in your CJ3B, both of us will benefit from the knowledge share and we will get the best of experience as well as engineering.

Unfortunately, these capabilities do not seem to find favor in today's scenario where presentations overrule everything. Also, today's ECUs do the same thing very silently, this is now called "engine mapping". Companies charge crores of rupees to do it! .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar

Last edited by DHABHAR.BEHRAM : 24th January 2015 at 12:08.
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (3) Thanks