Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 25th January 2015, 23:59   #151

Nice paint job shubhendra sir but a few things I noted the rubber strip that is generally put between the grill and the fenders is missing
Foot switch for high beam and low beam is not installed yet as wiring seems to be in progress
Old 27th January 2015, 10:11   #152

Re: Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B

Dear Shubhendra,
Many many congratulations on the job well done.I have a similar jeep,it is a 1960.coincidentely it is also the same colour.if your jeep sputters and dies on sudden acceleration ,it is most probably that you are running the mixture too lean or the main jet size is small .the correct size is 140 mm.
I made a small modification to the my jeep by installing contessa's electronic distributor and coil.it hasn't skipped a beat since.
@ Behram sir, the reinforcement of c section you mentioned about did not make an appearance till the year 1961.
sammyaulakh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th January 2015, 13:15   #153

Originally Posted by hate tar View Post
Nice paint job shubhendra sir but a few things I noted the rubber strip that is generally put between the grill and the fenders is missing
Foot switch for high beam and low beam is not installed yet as wiring seems to be in progress
Doctor saheb,
Thank you. Its actually not rubber strip but nylon strip with clips which used to come beteen griill and bonnet. I need to check as i am 1000 miles away from home but i dont think such small things would have missed.
I am procuring steering column mounted high/low beam switch for Willys and install the same.
Thank you pointing out though.

Originally Posted by sammyaulakh View Post
Dear Shubhendra,
Many many congratulations on the job well done.I have a similar jeep,it is a 1960.coincidentely it is also the same colour.if your jeep sputters and dies on sudden acceleration ,it is most probably that you are running the mixture too lean or the main jet size is small .the correct size is 140 mm.
I made a small modification to the my jeep by installing contessa's electronic distributor and coil.it hasn't skipped a beat since.
Aulakh Saheb,
Even i think so. We are waiting for our rebuilt Carter carb from UBS Ji to arrive. Will maintain status quo till then.
Regarding electrnoic ignition, Soon we will install autoescorts electronic ignition.

Shubhendra Singh
Old 27th January 2015, 14:46   #154

Dear Sammyaulakh - thank you for clarifying the long member reinforcement introduction date, I learnt something new from your information for which I am grateful to you. The main jet size is not 140 mm, it is not 1.4 mm also, the number is determined by the mass flow of air through the jet section. The main jet size is 140 for normal altitude application, 127.5 for high altitude application (in the Himalayan Rally, we used to change the jet after Simla), the venturi size was 32 / 25 mm. I learnt all this from the grandfather of carburettors in India Mr.S.Govindarajan, the then GM (R&D) of Carburettors Ltd, Chennai. The company's name is since changed to Ucal Fuel Systems Ltd. I had seen Contessa distributor and ignition coil fitted in a Premier Padmini long time back, I guess I'll give it a try on one of my cars, let's see if it makes an improvement, I lose nothing by doing it and I'll learn also. I have the centrifugal advance curve of the production 25D4 distributor, I'll check the Isuzu database for the 1.8 liter carburettor engine application curve. Maybe the spark plugs will need to be changed too.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th January 2015, 20:29   #155

@ behram sir,
I stand corrected what I meant to say was size 140 as mentioned in the willys jeep manual for solex carbs.thank you for pointing out my mistake.
Old 9th February 2016, 13:11   #156

Its been more than a year since we restored this Jeep and it was parked covered in garage since that time. During my visit to my hometown a week back, i thought to start it and it took me a charged battery and few tablespoon of petrol which i put in carburettor and after two attempts it purred to life.
I was happy and amazed. These old things, when they work perfectly, they give you a broad smile and when they dont, you feel like dumping them
After a quick drive realized wheel master cylinder was jammed, a quick servicing and change of brake oil and it was all set. Even during those chilly mornings in jungle, it started in 1-2 attempts, ran perfectly silent. took us to deep in the jungle with loaded trailer and back.
Its now parked again to be used next in few weeks/months. Few pictures from my trip

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img_20160124_133737.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img_20160124_133755.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img_20160124_134004.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img_20160125_155448.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img_20160125_155510.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img_20160124_105153.jpg

We also got one old bantam trailer, which will soon be sent to Bhopal for restoration along with Kaiser

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img_20160128_150737.jpg

Shubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 14:26   #157

Nice looking jeep. Why no pictures of the jungle trip with the trailer?
Old 9th February 2016, 15:23   #158

Originally Posted by wanderernomad View Post
Nice looking jeep. Why no pictures of the jungle trip with the trailer?
It was dark and freezing cold. I was not even thinking of taking my hand out from jacket forget about picture.

Shubhendra
Old 9th February 2016, 22:15   #159

Originally Posted by Shubhendra View Post
Its been more than a year since we restored this Jeep and it was parked covered in garage since that time.
Shuben Bhai - It feels so good to look back from where you started and now where the jeep is. Its come out great, as I keep saying "Please donate/Sell this to me"

I loved the picture that you had in FB, did you move your Enfield back to home town?
Twinn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th February 2016, 11:02   #160

Originally Posted by Twinn View Post
Shuben Bhai - It feels so good to look back from where you started and now where the jeep is. Its come out great, as I keep saying "Please donate/Sell this to me"

I loved the picture that you had in FB, did you move your Enfield back to home town?
Amrth bhai,
Thank you for appreciation.
Working on a CJ5 now a days.
Its all yours, when are you coming home ?
White Enfield is here, green one sold.

Shubhendra SIngh
Shubhendra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2021, 17:50   #161

Found this Willy's Jeep in a barn (sitting under a pipal tree).
Little known history
1. Willy Jeep 1967 army disposal.
2. Has a Toyota engine and GB.
3. Last started around 3/4 years ago.

Now questions to the Guru's, which CJ is this, is it worth buying and restoring?

RC expired.

NB: Sorry Subhendra ji for hijacking your lovely thread. Amazing job done on your Jeep.

Vinod

Mods: please delete this post, as I forgot to add the pictures, which I did in the next post, sorry for the inconvenience.

Last edited by Vinod_nair : 26th February 2021 at 17:57.
Old 26th February 2021, 17:55   #162

Found this Willy's Jeep in a barn (sitting under a pipal tree).
Little known history
1. Willy Jeep 1967 army disposal.
2. Has a Toyota engine and GB.
3. Last started around 3/4 years ago.

Now questions to the Guru's, which CJ is this, is it worth buying and restoring?

RC expired.

NB: Sorry Subhendra ji for hijacking your lovely thread. Amazing job done on your Jeep.

Vinod
Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20210226125047.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20210226125030.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20210226113027.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20210226112957.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20210226113014.jpg
Vinod_nair is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th February 2021, 17:35   #163

Originally Posted by Vinod_nair View Post

There is a patch of red metal showing down towards the right bottom of the last picture. It appears that much of the body is covered with body-filler. This stuff expands and contracts at a different rate than the metal around it and quickly flakes off when baked in the sun. I think this jeep is possibly full of holes and in even worse shape than it appears, and it appears to be in really bad shape, body-wise. Who knows what shape the frame rails and under carriage are in.

Speaking only for myself and what I see in your pictures, I would pass on this money pit and keep my eyes open for a better prospect than this. And I would pass even though I would love to own an early jeep. But that's me...

Last edited by DirtyDan : 27th February 2021 at 17:39.
DirtyDan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th February 2021, 18:05   #164

Originally Posted by DirtyDan View Post
I think this jeep is possibly full of holes and in even worse shape than it appears, and it appears to be in really bad shape, body-wise. Who knows what shape the frame rails and under carriage are in.

And I would pass even though I would love to own an early jeep. But that's me...
Aren't the whole body buckets of Jeeps available online? I have seen ads on TBHP Classifieds also.But I also believe that such buys should only be done if papers are in good order and hence worth spending money.

Rgds,
Old 27th February 2021, 19:48   #165

Originally Posted by ariesonu View Post
Aren't the whole body buckets of Jeeps available online? I have seen ads on TBHP Classifieds also.But I also believe that such buys should only be done if papers are in good order and hence worth spending money.

Rgds,
Yes. And my comments were made from only the pics supplied and my own predilections of what I am ready to do to restore an old jeep. I said as much.

We don't know what mechanical shape it is in. We know the engine is not original...for myself, I would want to restore the jeep to original condition or BETTER than original condition. I am particularly partial to brakes that work, for example. We don't know what the poster's wishes are for the vehicle. We don't know if he has a good mechanic to count on. We don't know if he can get parts for this thing. I am assuming that there is some procedure to follow to get a legal set of papers for this thing...'ay? Laying siege to mindless bureaucrats at the RTO is not my forte.

There is also a question of insurance. Can he insure this vehicle, are there companies that would even do it? Lots of problems with this one. The question is not whether it can be done. The question is, is it worth it. There's no easy answer to that. You could throw a pile of rusty sheet metal on the ground and ask if it can be made into a jeep. The answer is yes it can. How much frustration and money are you game for?

Last edited by DirtyDan : 27th February 2021 at 19:59.
DirtyDan is offline   (2) Thanks