Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 19th March 2015, 10:59   #136

re: A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer

Originally Posted by wanderernomad View Post
Thinking about relocating the two meteors onto the main dash itself. But working beneath the dash is cumbersome as it is so am thinking of cutting a small square on the main dash around the present Speedo hole and then use the MAHINDRA dash gauge plate to mount the five meters in a cluster. That way I can just pull the dash plate out and have access to the rear wiring. Advisable?
Dear wanderernomad - no! The rear of the dashboard is so accessible, an elephant can go and sleep there. Jokes apart, the more holes you make, the weaker the panel becomes. Kya yaar! .

You went through the cylinder head, you went through the body, you spent time with a tailor, you spent time in garages! Be careful, Jeeps do such things to people! I am mentioning from other completely confirmed nut cases I have observed, the end result should be rewarding, not frustrating! .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th March 2015, 19:37   #137

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear wanderernomad - no! The rear of the dashboard is so accessible, an elephant can go and sleep there. Jokes apart, the more holes you make, the weaker the panel becomes. Kya yaar! .

You went through the cylinder head, you went through the body, you spent time with a tailor, you spent time in garages! Be careful, Jeeps do such things to people! I am mentioning from other completely confirmed nut cases I have observed, the end result should be rewarding, not frustrating! .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Dear Sir, point noted but now what is troubling me is that I am actually enjoying it.

Anyway, the two hanging meters look like eye sores. Moreover the ignition is too far to the left and I was wanting to bring it closer to the steering column preferably onto the right side. Yes, the space is there but the act to twisting and bending the body to open the two nuts on the holding plate behind each meter has sort of aggravated my already bruised back. Haha. Therefore, I thought to simply cut a small hole around the already present Speedometer opening and use the five holed precut dash plate onto the main dash with four screws.
To complete the insanity, today, I have started work on mounting a roplas fibre top with half doors and canvas rollers. I know. I know.

Regards.

Last edited by wanderernomad : 19th March 2015 at 19:39.
wanderernomad is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2015, 20:32   #138

The jeep is getting stripped for painting now. Staying with the original elephant playground the two hanging meters have been moved to the dash plate itself. I plan on putting switches for:
1. Head Lights and Parking Lights combi switch.
2. LED driving lights.
3. Reverse Lights.
4. Wipers.
5. Engine stop.
6. Ignition and heater switch to the right of the steering column.

Dash Indicator lights for:
1. Turn indicators left and right.
2. Full beam indicator light.
3. Reverse Light.
4. Main switch on.
5. LED lights on.

Apart from the above the following will also be added:
1. 12 V charging point, water proof ones on the main dash and one behind the driver seat. Both with inline fuses.
2. A usb reader music playerunder the dash and 4 inch speakers beneath the rearbench.
3. A two way radio dash unit on the right of the steering collumn under the dash.
A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150321163044504.jpg  

A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150321163809484.jpg  

Last edited by wanderernomad : 21st March 2015 at 20:34.
Old 27th March 2015, 11:00   #139

The body tub has been removed and cleaning and scrapping of the chassis has started.
A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150327104210856.jpg  

A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150327104205017.jpg  

Old 7th April 2015, 15:00   #140

Can the gurus please tell me what is the pipe, circled in red, is? It is coming from the engine block just beneath the exhaust manifold.
A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150406142410125.jpg  

A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150406142505459.jpg  

A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150406142516277.jpg  

A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150406143357208.jpg  

Last edited by wanderernomad : 7th April 2015 at 15:02.
Old 10th May 2015, 22:39   #141

The painter did such a horrid job on the chassis that I had to shift the rolling chassis along with the body to another workshop. Money down the drain, though not much but the work quality left so much to be desired that I would drive the bare metal body around than having let that painter paint the tub.
The colour shade finalised in the Irish Cream and hopefully the end result shall be there for everyone to see by mid of this month. Have also bought the US type black out lamp with a long hood to be mounted on the right fender, a coaxial radio mount and the antenna, the shackle and the stirrup for shovel, d shackles for the front and rear bumpers.
Old 18th May 2015, 12:51   #142

The body being sanded down prior to painting. New arrangement for snap on snap off doors has been made.
A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150515110044331.jpg  

A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150516134201770.jpg  

A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150516134206999.jpg  

Old 29th May 2015, 16:39   #143

More WIP pictures. Some pictures of the trailer I intend to attach. However, am unable to find the chassis number to get it registered.
A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150529160009779.jpg  

A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150529155423062.jpg  

A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150529155408621.jpg  

A Mahindra CJ500 DP and a custom made Expedition Trailer-camerazoom20150529155359879.jpg  

wanderernomad is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th June 2015, 17:18   #144

Can someone please provide detailed pictures of how the fibreglass roplaas top is supposed to mount on the body especially over the windshield bracket.
Old 12th June 2015, 12:09   #145

Can someone please provide detailed pictures of how the fibreglass roplaas top is supposed to mount on the body especially over the windshield bracket.
Give me a day's time, i am visiting garage to get back my Jeep after few months. There is one hard top CJ500 4WD lying, will check and let you know.

Shubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th June 2015, 23:09   #146

Originally Posted by Shubhendra View Post
Give me a day's time, i am visiting garage to get back my Jeep after few months. There is one hard top CJ500 4WD lying, will check and let you know.

Shubhendra Singh
And while you are at it, the detailed under the hood pictures of the routing for the pre cleaner to the oil bath will also be highly appreciated.
Old 15th June 2015, 11:01   #147

And while you are at it, the detailed under the hood pictures of the routing for the pre cleaner to the oil bath will also be highly appreciated.
PM me your number, will send you pics.......

Shubhendra
Old 16th June 2015, 10:00   #148

Originally Posted by Shubhendra View Post
PM me your number, will send you pics.......

Shubhendra
Shubhendra je could you get the time. I sent you the pm.
Old 16th June 2015, 14:16   #149

Have decided to get the entire wiring re done as the older one has a lot of patches and is in pieces. I am getting a fuse box installed as well and also a master kill switch as suggested by Shubhendra. Also have got one of those Maruti 800 consoles to fit the Stereo and the UHF radio beneath the original metal dash. The damn rains are not letting up and throwing all schedules out of the window.
Old 17th June 2015, 17:36   #150

Original fire wall rubber grommets could not be found. As an alternate can the electrical flexible conduit be used to run the wires through the firewall? Even the oil pressure line needs to be cushioned through the firewall. What can be the alternate solutions?