Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 23rd July 2015, 10:27   #211

Re: Scoop! Mahindra Thar Facelift spotted testing

Originally Posted by sdp1975 View Post
The thar was launched at 5.99 lac and going by the price chart in a previous post , will be 8.3 lacs - that's a 38.6 % increase in the price of the Thar crde.

Prices of vehicles on an average haven't gone up by 40% in the last 4 years . My 2009 Punto cost 7 lacs , now it costs around 8 lacs. That's about a 15% increase in 6 years, for a car that sells in hundreds.
The missing point here is punto had no features added when it went from 7L to 8L . Thar on the other hand did not come with features like AC, immobilizer (and probably a few more) when it was 6L which got added later on. Also 5.99L launch was ex delhi. bangalore would be about 6.2-6.3 L. So the actual price hike would be probably around 20-25%

On other note I see this on Mahindra Thar Site. I thought the launch was yesterday but there is no news about did it actually happen.
Scoop! Mahindra Thar Facelift spotted testing-thar.jpg

Last edited by malgudi : 23rd July 2015 at 10:33.
malgudi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2015, 10:49   #212
XD2

I don't really see any value in the new version except for (maybe) the redesigned A/C vents and the windscreen defogger. The bumper is hideous, the beige interiors don't go with the character. Even the gear lever seems out of place : might complement the beige interior, though. One might still do away with the bumper in a day - but redoing the interiors will be a reasonable undertaking.

It would have been nice if they addressed some of the key issues we owners have faced (brakes?).

As the owner of a July-2012 Thar, I now think I need to handle it more carefully. At one point, I would have thought that I can replace this eventually with a newer (better) version : but looking at the direction, I can safely assume that is not happening.

Had I walked into the showroom and seen this instead of what I saw back in 2011, there is a very good chance I would not have a Mahindra in my garage.
XD2 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2015, 11:26   #213

As someone who is not that attached to the iconic Jeep look. I actually quite like it, minus the CMVR-blessed bumper.

Scoop! Mahindra Thar Facelift spotted testing-newmahindrathar.jpg

Scoop! Mahindra Thar Facelift spotted testing-mahindratharrearthreequarter.jpg

Couple of interesting points:

1. There is a new catalytic converter

2. The rear diff lock is manual locking.

3. The steering is also properly centered now.

That said, the price is a bummer. With the optional hardtop, it will easily get close to 10L in Bangalore.

Though, it needs to be said, the S4
PLUS BS4 4WD which is the other option is still about 2.5 lakh more expensive than the Thar. But it also gets ABS, dual airbags and automatic locking doors.

Last edited by codelust : 23rd July 2015 at 11:41.
codelust is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2015, 12:04   #214
//M

Automobile Journalist Bunny Punia of Gaadi.com shared a couple of pics of the facelifted Thar in its element on facebook.
Scoop! Mahindra Thar Facelift spotted testing-11232993_10155936478710226_1890815734124341483_n.jpg  

Scoop! Mahindra Thar Facelift spotted testing-11753727_10155936478795226_2255150788053936960_n.jpg  

Last edited by //M : 23rd July 2015 at 12:07.
//M is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2015, 12:09   #215

Dayum!

Those alloys are one of the HOTTEST looking under 10 lacs!
The THAR was always a cool looking car but I have become a BIG FAN of those alloy wheel design!
Old 23rd July 2015, 12:15   #216

So the New Mahindra Thar CRDe has launched at Rs 8.03L ex showroom Nashik. The scoop and spy pictures were right on target.
Source: carwale website http://www.carwale.com/news/19510-ne...-803-lakh.html
Old 23rd July 2015, 12:54   #217

Some more details from Kushan Mitra at the Mahindra event.

"The HT will cost ₹1 lakh on top approximately is what they say. ₹2.75 lakh for the snorkel+winch++ kit".

The difference seems to be that these will be available as options from the dealer, compared to the earlier case when the vehicle had to be sent to Mahindra Customization. Will have to wait for official word from M&M on this, though.

The HT is pretty boxy and looks distinctly unappealing.

Scoop! Mahindra Thar Facelift spotted testing-cklnw5qumaadyvs.jpg
codelust is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2015, 13:04   #218

Description says, "Sorry for messing with an icon. Presenting the New Thar CRDe, built to handle the unknown."

After seeing that hideous hardtop, they can put their sorry in a sock.

Locker is good
Dash is good, once ripped out & painted flat black.
Seats look good.
Wheels are good.

Atleast the other damages are reversible. Good enough.
Old 23rd July 2015, 13:25   #219

Mod Note: Our Thar Facelift Report has been taken live at this link. Please continue the discussion over on the new thread. Thanks!

What exactly are they trying to portray? Are Mahindra people really sorry about Butchering a good product?. I am not able to understand how beige would be maintainable on such a product? Black would have been pitch perfect.

Any ways found this in their official bolero FB page. Thank you for being sorry Mahindra.

Scoop! Mahindra Thar Facelift spotted testing-image.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 9th September 2015 at 09:43. Reason: Linking to our review
ldk2 is offline   (3) Thanks