Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Search this Thread
Old 1st April 2015, 19:20   #61
BHPian

Re: Can the Duster AWD scale Sandakphu, the highest peak in West Bengal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by arjab View Post
I cant tell you about the newer, fuel injected and more powerful Gypsy King's performance in the same terrain as i have had no experience with it. But you may take a look at the wheel articulation aspect. With grippy tyres the Gypsy may just make it.
Our fellow BHPian avrendu has a Thar and a Gypsy. His Thar (Red) does the climbs pretty easily in our test track that you can see in the video here. The very first video in the opening post of this thread by BlackPearl shows that his Gypsy had a little hard time climbing the same slope with the same driver (avrendu) behind the wheel. The Gypsy has Yokohama Geolanders which is has enough bite on the kind of surface our test track has.

That made us come to the conclusion that Gypsy is going to be a risky contender on the road to Sandakphu because of the following reasons.
  1. Low torque of the petrol mill of the Gypsy makes such steep climb difficult. One needs to maintain higher speed for a successful climb to compensate for this lack of torque which can be risky in the real situation.
  2. Light weight reduces traction which can be dangerous. But this drawback can be overcome by loading some extra stuffs on board.
  3. Lack of power steering makes Gypsy hard to maneuver increasing the risk factor to a higher degree.
  4. Lacking wheel articulation also adds to the risk factor by reducing the total contact surface.
  5. The use of one of good A/T tyres is not enough to compensate for the issues described above.

In short, a newer Gypsy will also suffer going up to Sandakphu.

Last edited by psurelia : 1st April 2015 at 19:22. Reason: Made some text bold for easier visual experience.
psurelia is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st April 2015, 21:56   #62