Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 4th April 2008, 12:20   #46

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
It has some shortcomings and the biggest is not enough power, its simple yes, easy to maintain yes, but the ultimate?
Of course the Classic has its short-comings. It’s based on a 60 year old design!! That said, it is the best Rs. 345,902 that I have ever spent in my life. Everyone has their own drug, and to me, the Classic is the best Jeep that Mahindra has made to date. The body style + chassis make it a true "Classic", while the overall quality was far better than other Mahindras of the time. It also came loaded with goodies (disc brakes with booster, awesome recaro-replica seats, bull bar etc.) Reason? It was conceived for export markets where expectations were higher.

I agree on the lack of outright power, but again.....this Jeep is not intended for high speed expressway use. Its purpose is different. Even if you plonk in a more powerful engine, the chassis, suspension, steering and road behavior will negate any power advantage. Ask me, I made the horrid mistake of trying to shoehorn a petrol in my Classic. Regrets, yes. But the new XD3P is just my way to making up to her.

The engine has good juice for off-roading....I have taken her to places unimaginable. And the torque + low gearing give it fantastic drivability within the city.

Trying to get a used Classic is a big pain with owners quoting absurd prices for a vehicle more then 5 years old
Agreed. Consider that the Classic was taken off the regular production line in 1997. Therefore, the newest Classic you will find in the used car bazaar will be 11 years old! It’s next to impossible to source a good Classic now, and the only ones you will find are project pieces. Those who have taken the pains of maintaining one won’t sell.

No real offroaders in those Classic owners.
Too bad for those who don't exploits its off-road prowess. But then again, not every Porsche does 300 kph, nor do all of its owners pull high G's around corners. To each his own, I say.

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Exactly how long did it take to get it? It is easily available upon order?
My engine got delivered within a week. Nope, it is not available easily on order.

Originally Posted by IronWolf View Post
GTO - This is the first time I am hearing of a brand new engine being put into a Jeep. GTO.
Also how much did it cost? if I may ask.
Since I don’t ever intend to sell my Jeep, I thought why not go the entire mile and get a brand new engine?

WRT the cost, let me put it this way. It’s going to take about 2.0 lacs to get her back on the road.
Old 4th April 2008, 12:24   #47

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
This is so true Vinod. I was at the Kottayam dealer a few months back to get a price on an Invader 4x4 and the chap was like:

"Sir, why do you need 4x4? It's a waste of money. The two wheel drive version will go everywhere !!"
Exactly the same words being used on my enquiry some time back -
"sir, do you have a farm? Will you be doing hill driving all the time? 4wd is not required, well some even said invader has stopped coming with 4wd!!"
Many of the new sales guys dont even know what 4wd is!! The point is Mahindra must train sales guys on this essentials and the sales guy must understand that anybody willing to buy a 4x4 paying premium is not a fool.

May be few places like north east & in extreme north delars stock 4wd's rest of the country 2wd does 99% of the business. I think Mahindra must learn to sell a 4x4 and shoulnot get into number game only. Or esle they will end up being recognised as a commercial vehicle manufacturer and not by erstwhile jeep manufacturers
Old 4th April 2008, 12:32   #48

Originally Posted by reddy6980 View Post
A small Questions for 4X4 guru's:

Do 4X4's manufactured by Mahindra Come with a Differential Lock(Front,Central or Rear).
No diff locks on any mahindra. Army version comes with LSD
Old 4th April 2008, 12:51   #49

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
. I will post all details regarding the Major on Monday. I am getting a proper test drive for the whole day and probably take it offroad some place to see how it performs.
You will not realize how your report on monday can make or break my mind. Please please please have a hearts content test drive on all kinds of roads, no-roads, galli's, highways(if you are near one), FE, torque through gears, Turning radius(imp), reversing ease, functionality of 4WD system, 4H, 4L, seating position, gear reach et all.!

I wish i was there too, I hardly see one in a city like bangalore, let alone drive one!

eagerly awaiting the report.
Old 4th April 2008, 12:53   #50

Originally Posted by vinod_nookala View Post
For a good info on prices and specs...get in touch with Mahindra local area office
yes sir, am onto it, even tried mailing Pune, but little response. I will keep all posted.
Old 4th April 2008, 12:59   #51

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
You will not realize how your report on monday can make or break my mind. Please please please have a hearts content test drive on all kinds of roads, no-roads, galli's, highways(if you are near one), FE, torque through gears, Turning radius(imp), reversing ease, functionality of 4WD system, 4H, 4L, seating position, gear reach et all.!

I must say that the team-bhp forum has the most comprehensive information on the Indian automotive industry. You will get more information here than on all the manufactureres web-sites/brochures. I sincerely hope the indian manufactures change their pathetic attitude to their products. How much effort does it take to have a link to a pdf document on the Mahindra web-site to give the specs of the Major??

Thanks to Nehru and his socialist views, Indian manufacturers have spend 50 years with a monopoly and without competition and now they can hide behind the 105% import duty. But I wonder for how long? The Amby and Fiat have dissapeared. We need more foreign competition in the MUV/SUV segement where Tata and Mahindra still enjoy a huge cost advantage.
Old 4th April 2008, 13:07   #52

vinod_nookala : Many of the new sales guys dont even know what 4wd is!!
It's the same across all dealers. You will rarely find a knowledgeable sales person. (I'm not sure about the premium /luxury cars, though.)

Do your homework, and remember not to expect too much from him. Involvle them only for basic stuff like getting a vehicle for test drive, price of accessories etc.

Hell, it's the same even with consumer goods - Sony, any electronics mfr, just any body.
svsantosh : You will not realize how your report on monday can make or break my mind. Please please please have a hearts content test drive ....

I wish i was there too, ...
Both of you seem to be in Bangalore. Why dont you two get together for this ? Would make a comprehensive drive. Two's better than one, right ?

Last edited by condor : 4th April 2008 at 13:08.
Old 4th April 2008, 19:53   #53

condor. wish it happens. but I think spitfires major drive is going to be in kerala if i am not wrong.
Old 4th April 2008, 20:43   #54

2007 This means I have to wait until 2013 before I see these jeeps in Army auctions??
Yessh....You got it right, and we already had a discussion on that earlier wherein I was not very happy with the jeeps coming out in the Army auctions.
Old 4th April 2008, 20:43   #55

If 5 Lakhs is your budget..I'd suggest a Gypsy King MPFi..It is RELIABLE unlike any mahindra jeep..

Basically the Mahindra MM540, Cj series are all atleast 30 yrs back in design..which means..no pressurised cooling system,etc..One needs to check the water and oil in the engine every morning. I love to do this personally, but lack of time, and the need for reliability made me look up the gypsy way.

Also, jeeps take a lot of one's time. FYI, Arka has spent half his life building his MM540. It is Amazing and drives like a car, off road too. Has LSD etc etc including GPS.

Whereas, do you have that time to spend on your major..then go for it else i'd suggest a GYPSY anyday..for reliability

BTW, I too have recently acquired a MM540 and am workin on it..the jeep bug bites you eh?
Old 4th April 2008, 21:29   #56

Originally Posted by headers View Post
..One needs to check the water and oil in the engine every morning...
And brake oil level too.

Unfortunately, Maruti has degraded the quality of Gypsies too, a 2005 Gypsy is not the same as a 1995 model, but still much better than any Mahindra.
Old 5th April 2008, 00:25   #57

Also, jeeps take a lot of one's time. FYI, Arka has spent half his life building his MM540. It is Amazing and drives like a car, off road too. Has LSD etc etc including GPS.
Exactly, apart from Arka's Jeep, looking at Aravind's sleeper Jeep in Chikmagalur, I fully believe it. Not everybody can do this. One needs a support system of willing and like minded mechanics too. I too had started with the idea of buying a base Gama and modifying it. Then I realised I don't have the luxury of time or the local support system for such venture. Besides, one needs to get very technical, have to know the vehicle inside out.

BTW, I too have recently acquired a MM540 and am workin on it..the jeep bug bites you eh?
Well, you have the support system around you. Congrats!
Old 5th April 2008, 00:41   #58

Right now most MM550s being sold in the Army auctions in delhi are 2000 model year. That's why I am guessing that 2007 MM550s with the five speed will start showing up by about 2013.
2000? they sell them off once they are 7-8 old?
The question is what does one who wants to acquire one of the Old Army mules need to do? whats the procedure to be able to bid for one of these?

PM me this is too off topic.

Agreed. Consider that the Classic was taken off the regular production line in 1997. Therefore, the newest Classic you will find in the used car bazaar will be 11 years old! It’s next to impossible to source a good Classic now, and the only ones you will find are project pieces. Those who have taken the pains of maintaining one won’t sell.

Since I don’t ever intend to sell my Jeep, I thought why not go the entire mile and get a brand new engine?

WRT the cost, let me put it this way. It’s going to take about 2.0 lacs to get her back on the road.
Phew !!! to say that you have sentimental value for the Classic is a gross understatement.

Personally I did not like the Classic, felt the looks were a little too fake for its time. however the goodies on offer were indeed worth the deal.
The MM540/550 on the other hand are the true 'classics'.

What I agree is to each his own!

If 5 Lakhs is your budget..I'd suggest a Gypsy King MPFi..It is RELIABLE unlike any mahindra jeep..

Whereas, do you have that time to spend on your major..then go for it else i'd suggest a GYPSY anyday..for reliability

Somehow to many a Petrol Jeep does not really click. esp the Gypsy does not really feel like a offroader. (I agree have seen your posts and pics to prove otherwise). The Mahindras are the quintessential Jeeps in India.
Old 5th April 2008, 02:57   #59

IMHO, if hardcore offroading is the agenda, then the best buy
will be Willys/Mahindra CJ3B with the petrol hurricane engine or
a Mahindra Classic, if deisel is the preffered fuel.
But, if a daily driver with some offroading is the need, then look
no further than a gypsy. Its more refined and reliable and can be
driven to work as well as holiday destinations with more comfort
than the Mahindra.
I happen to own both, and what i have learnt is that both have their
strong as well as weak points. The gypsy will get you 99% of the
places the CJ3B will, with lots more refinement and comfort,
only faltering in extreme off road conditions where the longer
wheel base becomes its achilles heel.
Apart from that its a hoot to drive and pretty much unbreakable.

Old 5th April 2008, 03:17   #60

Happy to see so many Mahindra fans. Personally i hate this brand, no offense.

But 4x4 in mahindras and gypsy are just there for the name sake. Engine powering all the four wheels, thats all. If you are in a situation, rainy day, no roads, muddy paths...u will know wat a 4x4 really is. why?? they simply doesn't have Diff.lock. So wheels loosing traction will create a big pond of its own. creating more difficulties.