Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 12th July 2008, 13:01   #211

Friend's got a farm wright next to the forest in Nurpurbedi
Old 14th July 2008, 09:27   #212

Mr Grewal, I hope you are aware that "HUNTING" as a Sport is Banned in India, even in the wilds of whichever part of the country that you may inhabit.

And please also note that educated people every where in India and more so, on an Intelligent Forum like this, will not take kindly to infractions of the law.

Even Salman Khan and the so called "Great" Tiger Pataudi found this out for themselves in a most embarrassing manner.

Apart from that, dont you think that all this macho stuff about shooting helpless animals by some people in powered vehicles using powerful weapons is just a tad unfair on the animals?

How would you feel if some of us were to make you run and chase you in a jeep with blinding lights taking pot shots at you now and then?

I do believe you'll agree if you just pause to think a bit.

thanks

Originally Posted by A.P.S.Grewal View Post
I am intrested to buy a Mahindra Major 4x4 for hunting as my second jeep, After a Bolero 2wd, can someone please tell me how much a Brand new Major 4x4 will cost me ? Please help, and it would br nice if someone knows a link from where i can get the exact amount of the vehical
Old 14th July 2008, 11:22   #213

Mahindra MAjor 4X4 costs 7.6 Lakhs on road in Bangalore.
Old 14th July 2008, 11:50   #214

^^ 7.6 lakhs OTR??? are you sure ??? I think that is too high.
Old 14th July 2008, 12:48   #215

Major should be around 5.5 OTR not 7.6
Old 14th July 2008, 12:49   #216

Sorry it's 6.7 Lakhs and i enquired on Friday 11th July. I thought of selling my Gypsy and was planning to go for a new jeep. But now i have changed my plans.
Old 14th July 2008, 14:26   #217

Outrageous pricing

Originally Posted by Hemanth View Post
Sorry it's 6.7 Lakhs and i enquired on Friday 11th July. I thought of selling my Gypsy and was planning to go for a new jeep. But now i have changed my plans.
6.7 lakhs for a soft-top SWB 4x4 Jeep is, I think , outrageous .

Then probably the 8-9 lakhs OTR for the Trax Gurkha is better VFM.
Old 14th July 2008, 14:56   #218

Originally Posted by Blue Thunder View Post
Then probably the 8-9 lakhs OTR for the Trax Gurkha is better VFM.
After seeing the new Gurkha perform in Coorg OTR, I am not so sure. I could hardly differentiate between Gurkha and other MM/CJ when it came to off-road performance. Now I feel that the Gurkha's F/R diff locks advantage can be overcome by some skilled driving in a normal 4x4 Jeep. But the AC and reduced NVH are useful, my ears are still ringing from 3 days of open Jeep driving.
Old 14th July 2008, 15:02   #219

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
After seeing the new Gurkha perform in Coorg OTR, I am not so sure. I could hardly differentiate between Gurkha and other MM/CJ when it came to off-road performance. Now I feel that the Gurkha's F/R diff locks advantage can be overcome by some skilled driving in a normal 4x4 Jeep. But the AC and reduced NVH are useful, my ears are still ringing from 3 days of open Jeep driving.
Wow Samurai welcome truly to jeeps - am sure you've enjoyed your offroad in style.

BTW, where are the pictures? Thought of joining last moment but had some unexpected work. Hope you guys had fun!
Old 14th July 2008, 15:32   #220

Samurai,

If the terrain is bad enough, there is no way that driving skill can replace front and rear lockers.

Old 14th July 2008, 16:24   #221

Now I feel that the Gurkha's F/R diff locks advantage can be overcome by some skilled driving in a normal 4x4 Jeep.
You must be kidding me? If that was the case then the terrain was not demanding enough. I have no idea what the terrain was but if Differential locks were not required then....?
Old 14th July 2008, 16:31   #222

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
You must be kidding me? If that was the case then the terrain was not demanding enough. I have no idea what the terrain was but if Differential locks were not required then....?
Not tough enough? Let's not go off-topic in this thread, I will explain the circumstances in the trip report with photos.
Old 14th July 2008, 17:27   #223

Not tough enough? Let's not go off-topic in this thread, I will explain the circumstances in the trip report with photos.
Okie will be awaiting the report.

PS: Topic went OT after your previous post.
Old 14th July 2008, 20:21   #224

Originally Posted by RedMM340 View Post
Samurai,

If the terrain is bad enough, there is no way that driving skill can replace front and rear lockers.

Quite possible, RedMM340, but you will also agree that if the terrain is real bad enough, then even front and rear diff locks will not help .

And in any case, that makes it all the more outrageous that the Major4x4 can be priced so high (without any diff locks, I mean).

Last edited by Blue Thunder : 14th July 2008 at 20:23.
Old 14th July 2008, 21:36   #225

Is it possible to put a hardtop and doors on a Major? RedMM340, you fabricated a top for yours?

Last edited by DirtyDan : 14th July 2008 at 21:37. Reason: @@