Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 26th September 2008, 12:33   #61

@ abhik
Thanks for your nice comments. These type of comments boosts our performance.
Well u asked for me standing while doing tough tracks.It is to get maximum vision of the track & jeep.
Although that track was very tough but GPW did it in first go. We IJC believe in extreme offroading.You can watch our videos on .
YouTube - Broadcast Yourself.
search for
Islamabad Jeep Club
There are more than 250 videos of our skilled Offroaders doing different tracks.
Kindly comment on those videos both on youtube & here.
Aamir Malik
Old 26th September 2008, 13:05   #62

Originally Posted by abhik View Post
why are you standing most of the times while tackling downhill terrain? I guess the view while sitting would be good enough, or is it for knowing the exact whereabouts of the front tyres?
He is tall and is standing on the brakes:

Ok Jokes apart, guess visibility off the terrain is important here and he just wants to be sure of where he puts his front wheels as you said.

Any other reason sir?
Old 26th September 2008, 13:07   #63

Sure will sir!! And just looking at the pics itself i can imagine that you guys are very skilled and your Jeeps are equally potent off-roading machines.

Originally Posted by headers View Post
He is tall and is standing on the brakes:
You know that was my first thought!! I thought maybe the Jeep is too old and one has to literally stand on the brakes on inclines.......

Just kidding Aamir Bhai, hope you dont mind. You will find a few of us here who have a nack of pulling off silly ones once in a while, just keeps the mood up...with that i might add DirtyDan is the best at it, trust me you would'nt even know what hit you!!!

Last edited by Rehaan : 30th September 2008 at 16:14. Reason: Posts merged. Please use the EDIT button to add to an existing post within 20 minutes instead of postnig another consecutive post.
abhik is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th September 2008, 16:00   #64

@ abhik
The first lesson which i got way back in 70's was not to apply brakes while going down hills.One should go down on 4x4 special power.
I was not standing on brakes, Actually its MY STYLE.
Haha
Old 27th September 2008, 13:19   #65

Originally Posted by aamir567 View Post
@ abhik
The first lesson which i got way back in 70's was not to apply brakes while going down hills.One should go down on 4x4 special power.
I was not standing on brakes, Actually its MY STYLE.
Haha
No NO Sir you mis-understood me, i was joking about the standing on the brakes thing.

It was very evident that you were trying to locate the exact whereabout of the front wheels.

Maybe you missed out on this part
Originally Posted by abhik View Post
Just kidding Aamir Bhai, hope you dont mind. You will find a few of us here who have a nack of pulling off silly ones once in a while, just keeps the mood up...with that i might add DirtyDan is the best at it, trust me you would'nt even know what hit you!!!

Last edited by abhik : 27th September 2008 at 13:21.
Old 27th September 2008, 15:02   #66

@ abhik
I didnt took it seriously. I know everyone in this community support all friends.
And i am getting excellent response from fellow Bhpians.
Did u checked our videos on youtube? Need ur expert feed back.
Old 28th September 2008, 18:21   #67

@aamir bhai

Excellent pics aamir bhai.
Old 29th September 2008, 13:12   #68

Originally Posted by aamir567 View Post
Need ur expert feed back.
That is quite an overstatement Aamir Bhai, infact i am quite new to Jeeps but have become quite a fan, so much that cars dont seem to exist for me anymore.

Last edited by abhik : 29th September 2008 at 13:13.
Old 29th September 2008, 14:47   #69

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Lovely Jeep you have there and they look great with the M151 "Mutt" Jeep rims.
It is heartening to see the original work horse still going strong and the best part is that you are using the Jeep for what it was meant to be used for. Off-roading.
Please put up your experiences you have had in restoring and keeping the jeep on the road.
Originally Posted by Ram View Post
Lovely pics Aamir.

Those wheels aren't from a Ford GPW.
Rather they are from a Vietnam War era Ford M151 Military Utility Tactical Truck (MUTT), which we never got to see in India.

The MUTT was a chassis-less monocoque 4x4 with independent suspension, unlike our Mahindras.
Exactly what i had pointed out Ram.

Amir, are there as many MBs in Pakistan too? I wonder if you would also have to fish for spare parts in the local Chor Bazars as we do here. Its almost impossible to source parts of these machines any more, even in the Chor Bazars.

You were saying you picked this one up from the Scrap yard and restored it. Would you please give us some insight on that? Do you have pictures of the restoration process? It would certainly be interesting to see them if possible.
Please also shed some light on the 4X4 scene in Islamabad/Pakistan. The terrain should be very inviting for 4X4 addicts so i suppose, 4x4 offroading should be very popular.
Old 29th September 2008, 19:10   #70

Not many MB 1942 available in the market. You have to explore ppl who own these beauties but dont know the worth.
As far as parts are concerned, they are available in local market as well as in old spare parts market, all u have to do is to find the right place.
Sorry i dodnt have restoration period pictures. Actually i restored in 1990 and at that time i never thought of taking pictures of my jeep restoration.
We have lot of terrains in this region. U can see them in our pictures.
Old 29th September 2008, 20:19   #71

More action pictures

More action offroading pictures from my old gallery.In one picture i received a medal for the first position in offroading competition about 4 years back.
File Type: bmp aamir 2.bmp (297.1 KB, 364 views)
File Type: bmp wow.bmp (297.1 KB, 333 views)
File Type: bmp Aamir Medal.bmp (297.1 KB, 342 views)
File Type: bmp jeep.bmp (1,012.6 KB, 1137 views)
Old 30th September 2008, 00:12   #72

Ford GPW in action

This is Ford GPW 1942 in original petrol engine. Most of the parts are original.
I changed the rims because when i restored this in 1990 original rims were not found but now i have them.
Posting pics of my Ford GPW 1942-ijc-29-th-june-2008-002.jpg  

Posting pics of my Ford GPW 1942-ijc-29-th-june-2008-059.jpg  

Old 1st October 2008, 00:42   #73

More offroading pictures

this is picture was taken few week's back on one of our offroading event.
Posting pics of my Ford GPW 1942-ijc-29-th-june-2008-176.jpg  

Old 1st October 2008, 18:39   #74

Nice pic Aamir bhai , hope to see more action pics of 5th offroading event.
Old 2nd October 2008, 23:01   #75

Dear Hassan i will make a new thread for 5 th offroading event. Hope to see some good action stuff on that.