Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 15th October 2008, 20:28   #16

Another restoration project!!
Congratulations on a decision well taken mate, once completed, I am sure you wouldn't want to leave this baby alone!
IMO, theres no better feeling than driving an open air jeep!!

Do keep this thread updated and most importantly don't miss out on pics!! Click as many as you can of the work under progress.
Old 15th October 2008, 20:43   #17

[quote=GTO;1016050]Congrats! Can you share the number of the agent who was able to procure this Jeep for you? Rebuilding a Jeep is an awesome experience. However, as Sree has already posted, do focus only on the mechanicals first. The end product must be robust & reliable.

The agent is basically from Kanpur and the shop he is running is established in 1948 by his father( as he claims.) The mob No of the individual (Mr. Bhati or Bhatiji as I call him) is 09415711686,09415738252, 05122298415 (shop). If u need any assistance feel free to contact me.
Old 15th October 2008, 20:46   #18

[quote=sreerajunnithan;1016597]Hello Bravo,

Why don't you post a picture of FIP here. Well, i am no expert in Jeeps whatsoever . However, if you post the picture and the brand of the Pump, i can certainly check and compare with mine.

Hi sree,
I'll click some pics of the pump tomorrow and keep u updated. As for the brand of the pump there is nothing I can find on it.
Old 15th October 2008, 21:46   #19

Originally Posted by wads78 View Post
Hey ak916... any idea where can i get a 550 in hyderabad? and where exactly are u restoring your jeep? i am planning to buy one and get it restored... will appreciate your inputs
Hey wads78 - I am restoring a Sierra in Bangalore. Sorry for the confusion!!!
Old 15th October 2008, 21:54   #20

It should look like this:
My 2000 Mm550 Xd & Its Restoration-xd3p-motor-gto-classic.jpg  

Old 15th October 2008, 22:00   #21

The cheapest auction jeep you get here in delhi at mayapuri ratail for 50-55k. This too was six month back. Now with election approaching both in center as well as U.P. prices have gone much higher as jeeps are the preferred vehicles for capaigning in villages.
REASON - Buy an auction jeep for 50k throw in a DI engine + old tyres for another 30k + other works and you have a vehicle below 1 lakh which can take any kind of abuse and any kind of loads and can be repaired in villages by any tractor mechanic.
So you should fell happy about getting one. Mayapuri has been wiped out of 550's the last time I visited. Any 550 is commanding a high price.

If your vehicle doesnot have its original FIP than you are in a soupe. The FIP of these peugot engines are very expensive. I believe a new one will cost you around 50k. Try sourcing an old one from scrapyard and get it repaired. If you can post the pic of your current FIP I can check it for you.

Originally Posted by Bravo Sierra View Post
Guys here I have a problem with the Fuel Injection Pump of the MM550. the mechanic says the pump fitted in the vehicle does not belong to the MM550. I called the seller to inform him, but he says the pump is the original one and it only needs to be calibrated. Now I'm in a dilemma. Can anybody help me out in finding out whats the specification of the FIP on the MM550. I believe Sree can be of great help as he own a MM550.
Secondly my dear mechanic friend broke my heart by saying that the 2000 jeep from the army auction is not worth the 70K I have paid. As per him its worth only 35K. Is this right guys? Or is he simply fooling me?
Before buying the jeep I have done a lot of research on the matter and I believe I have paid approx 5K extra (knowingly).
Old 15th October 2008, 23:04   #22

Originally Posted by DirtyDan View Post
It should look like this:
Hey isn't that GTO's engine!

@bravo Sierra
ANd yeah I posted somewhere a restored 2001 example with nissan diesel.
I hope you will like it.
Old 16th October 2008, 12:13   #23

Secondly my dear mechanic friend broke my heart by saying that the 2000 jeep from the army auction is not worth the 70K I have paid. As per him its worth only 35K. Is this right guys? Or is he simply fooling me? Before buying the jeep I have done a lot of research on the matter and I believe I have paid approx 5K extra (knowingly).
Don't let that get to you and continue with your refurbishment. Whenever you buy something there is always someone who will claim they could get it cheaper. Reality is that they never can get anything cheaper but it gives them something to talk about. My neighbour is like that, buy anything and he will claim he could have got it cheaper, when you ask him to then get the item for you he will claim the shop has closed down etc etc.
Old 16th October 2008, 14:25   #24

Originally Posted by bigman View Post
Don't let that get to you and continue with your refurbishment.
I have been looking around for one of these for 6 months and I have seen several in various conditions. They were asking 70-90 thousand for mm550s in Pathenkot, Punjab, for jeeps in apparent worse shape than the one you bought, most not running. A lot seems to depend on location as to price. I would say you did fine on the purchase price in the current market. In any case, there is no use in crying over spilled milk, a done deal. Looks like you have great potential in this one you bought. It is not a hard restore in the painting and denting department.
Old 16th October 2008, 18:29   #25

FIP Pics

I'm posting a few pics of the FIP as it is. Guys please try to identify it. Awaiting replies.
My 2000 Mm550 Xd & Its Restoration-fip3.jpg  

My 2000 Mm550 Xd & Its Restoration-fip4.jpg  

My 2000 Mm550 Xd & Its Restoration-fip5.jpg  

Old 16th October 2008, 18:38   #26

Regarding the Price factor I thank u all for the assurance.

The FIP as shown in the PIC is from some other vehicle as per the mechanic. Kindly help me in identifying the pump and also if there is anything missing in it.

Note from the Team-BHP Support Staff : Please use the "edit" button if posting within 15 minutes of the first post, instead of creating another back-to-back post

Also use "Multi Quote" option for quoting Multiple posts.

Last edited by Jaggu : 16th October 2008 at 19:51.
Old 16th October 2008, 22:42   #27

I'm posting a few pics of the FIP as it is. Guys please try to identify it. Awaiting replies.
Holly Molly! its in very dire straits. injectors are missing, etc.
Old 16th October 2008, 23:37   #28

you need to find a jeep ONLy garage/specialist to fix this vehicle. dont be disheartend by the replies you get to your posts, take it as encouragement.

only bravehearts restore jeeps......other just watch it passing by!

cheers:
Old 17th October 2008, 00:14   #29

Sorry man! I didn't mean to discourage you in your project. It was just a first hand reaction after seeing the bay.

My friends green 550 was in worst state than yours. Take it as a challange and a hobby rolled into one. Check my restored 1972 land rover. Unlike, atleast mahindra parts are still available with dealers.
Old 17th October 2008, 00:18   #30

Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Sorry man! I didn't mean to discourage you in your project. It was just a first hand reaction after seeing the bay.

My friends green 550 was in worst state than yours. Take it as a challange and a hobby rolled into one. Check my restored 1972 land rover. Unlike, atleast mahindra parts are still available with dealers.

thanx SirAlec, these words of your are sure to encourage the guy in going ahead with his restoration project.

cheers: