Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 3rd March 2009, 17:25   #46

There should be a dedicated thread that classifies all M&M jeeps with proper specifications & detail.
There is a lot of confusion between diff. models & same things keep on getting discussed in diff. threads.
Old 3rd March 2009, 17:30   #47

Originally Posted by bigman View Post
What extras will a Classic have over the regular CL340 ?
Originally Posted by starter View Post
..How different is this CL340 from your CJ340?
All answers provided here:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-of...sic-cj340.html

Originally Posted by bhp1 View Post
There should be a dedicated thread that classifies all M&M jeeps with proper specifications & detail.
There is a lot of confusion between diff. models & same things keep on getting discussed in diff. threads.
Just use the 'Search' feature and go through the jeep/MM related threads. All such things have been discussed in detail 'n' number of times.

Last edited by khan_sultan : 3rd March 2009 at 17:32.
Old 3rd March 2009, 17:43   #48

He did said that this one came before the wire rim model came. One q, did the classic badge came with this model originally? And

Gurus, whats the verdict? Is it a good buy between 1.1 to 1.25 lakhs?
Old 3rd March 2009, 17:50   #49

Originally Posted by bhp1 View Post

Yes a sticky would be a useful addition.
Old 3rd March 2009, 17:51   #50

It is not a Classic by any stretch of imagination. This one is same as my CJ340, just a year newer, hence the name CL340, that's all. If everything is in good shape, it is definitely a bargain. Get it thoroughly checked for any problems.
Old 3rd March 2009, 18:44   #51

Its not Classic. But a CL340 made like a classic. Now, if the owner tries to convince you saying that is a Classic, then there is something wrong. Some points to quickly identify a Classic. Classic has Hanging Pedals for Brake Cluch and throttle. This is coz classic has a Servo assisted Brake unlike CL340s. There will be cluster of lights in Dashbord for all indicators. Checkout GTO's classic interiors. Classic always had a Disc Brake upfront. Having said that, don't loose your heart, coz CJ340/CL340s are an extremely capable Jeeps, even better than Classic in off-roading applications. Thanks to the 5.88 Gear ratio of 340. And if you get it for 1.10 to 1.20 Grab it.

--Sree--

Last edited by sreerajunnithan : 3rd March 2009 at 18:57.
Old 3rd March 2009, 18:59   #52

Originally Posted by Ym-enjn View Post
He did said that this one came before the wire rim model came. One q, did the classic badge came with this model originally? And

Gurus, whats the verdict? Is it a good buy between 1.1 to 1.25 lakhs?
Just noticed this now. The first Classics came out with wire wheels. There is no Classics before that.
@GTO, are you listening?

--Sree--
Old 3rd March 2009, 19:03   #53

The CJ340/CL340/Classic are Jeeps. Nuff said.
Old 3rd March 2009, 19:20   #54

just my 2 cents. Even if this is not a CLASSIC, a CL340 is more then worth for 1.2lkh assuming the jeep is in good condition. just grab it!
Old 3rd March 2009, 21:11   #55

Don't think what it is worth. Think how much can you afford.
If you have a total budget of 2 lakh than grab it. This way you can drive it around and keep upgrading it as you become more accustomed to the vehicle. Just get the engine checked by some mechanic. Even if it is in half decent shape it is worth it. Rest of the body work etc looks fine in the pics.
First upgrade I did recommend should be Discs + booster. Should cost you 10~15k.

vishwas
Old 3rd March 2009, 21:13   #56

Thanks all for feedback. I will go and get it checked tomorrow and if all goes well then I will buy it. So now will study how the 4x4 gears work...

Edit: Will put up the photos of willys clone later...

Last edited by Ym-enjn : 3rd March 2009 at 21:20.
Old 3rd March 2009, 21:17   #57

That Willys clone is not even worth half the asking price. If you are game for that clone and doing all the work to get it into decent shape then you would be better off getting an army MM550 and doing it up.

If you want easy life then get the CL340 you mentioned earlier after a mechanic has check it for you.

Last edited by bigman : 3rd March 2009 at 21:18.
Old 3rd March 2009, 21:23   #58

i agree with big man.
that vehicle looks very "jugaad" and there is something fishy about it.
keep looking and dont jump in for the first vehicle that you find.you might regret it later.rajasthan is known for good jeeps and there shouldnt be a shortage. if u can then take a trip to mayapuri and see whats on sale.
Old 3rd March 2009, 23:06   #59

Yogesh you are one lucky guy,
Most of us dont even finid one jeep even after months and months of searching and you seem to have found 3. The black one, the red one and now the willys clone.

I think that if anyone is searching for jeeps, jaipur has to be one of the places to search and look around
Old 4th March 2009, 00:13   #60

Originally Posted by 0333 View Post
i agree with big man.
that vehicle looks very "jugaad" and there is something fishy about it.
keep looking and dont jump in for the first vehicle that you find.you might regret it later.rajasthan is known for good jeeps and there shouldnt be a shortage. if u can then take a trip to mayapuri and see whats on sale.
Big man comments of Willys clone were not about this CL340, but another one i uploaded and removed in edit in previous post..

Harjeev, anytime man, now the bug is in me i will keep telling options.