Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 27th March 2009, 17:05   #1

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.

Hi to all members,

I have been out of the automotive scene since some time now due to all sorts
of reasons. Me and a friend have been searching around for jeeps when we
chanced upon a guy in my locality. He is offering to sell me one of the following:
1) a 1987 model 370D in 2WD (is there such a thing as a 370D??)
2) a later dated 540 again in 2WD

He is asking for a price of a lakh for first and 70K for the second.
Both will be given in perfect running condition all tuned up as per him.

Now I am more of a novice when talking about jeeps. To be truthful I have a
desire to own one and can live with the share of issues they have, but cant
afford to have a dedicated space allotted in a workshop and shelling out
money on a daily basis.
Please guide where can I get a competent mechanic in mumbai to have a look
at the jeeps and decide what final price I need to pay and what minimum work
the jeep will require.

Help me

PS: I am concerned about emission norms as the vehicle is 22 years old. Kindly suggest

Last edited by Rehaan : 30th March 2009 at 01:44. Reason: On request.
Old 27th March 2009, 18:52   #2

You have started something which I was planning to. I am in an intensive search mode since February 2009. If I want to join the off-roading gang here, I need to consider 4WD and if my purpose is just having a jeep but nothing else other than city drives or seldom outstation drives, then a 2WD also might suit my bill. I am yet to clearly define my purpose of owning a Jeep. But the question now is about the price part.

Very few good condition 4WD jeeps are available within 2.50 laks around here. Good condition = conditioned or replaced engine, decent paint, replaced tires, some work on the seating, some fittings here and there. There are also few available in adpost within the 1 lak to 3 lak range. The lesser it gets, body and tires show the age atleast on ad photos. We can never estimate the rusted bottom or aged parts from a picture too !

I have checked just 1 jeep (4WD) in person, which is quoted 2.70. Hope to check 3 more this weekend (2WD). When it comes to budget and what you want, its a tough decision to finalise. I will defenitely take the help of my trusted garage staff for the final inspection once the price & product match my wallet and expectation !

If anyone could highlight the following points, it would have been a great list to carry while inspecting, finalising and buying process;

1. Models which are famous for regular complaints and troubles
2. The most delicate part of a jeep that has to be inspected well
3. Number of owners matter ?
4. Registrations from another state matter ?
5. What to remember while test driving one ?
6. Any special things to notice or check ?
7. How to spot out any major crashes or body damages ?

I might have missed lot of important points, GURUS, please enlighten a bit.

Last edited by shajufx : 27th March 2009 at 18:54.
Old 27th March 2009, 20:08   #3

hi motorheadnic, if you are getting a well maintained 540 with xd3p engine + 4wd for 70k I should say its a very good deal provided that the papers are fine. Though I am not an expert at all and just got the jeeping hang recently since last year diwali, but am going to get one 98 model mm550 army spec next week. It is going to be 60k(asking price by army) + 5 k(by the people who are going to source it. Mr. Uday Bhan singh is helping me a lot in procuring it and I will also do the mechanicals at his workshop. there are two other mm550 of 2000 model for 65+5k and a 2002 model for 70+5k these will come with the army auction papers (all four are almost sold). we will have to make the papers extra and then renovate it also..there was one more 2000 model whose rear differential has some issue and its for 60+5k which was not sold i believe till now.you can contact Mr. Uday Bhan Singh to get to know about it.
Old 28th March 2009, 10:06   #4

@: 4x4 loaded

I am at present in Mumbai. So sourcing from Kolkata is not a very attractive option to me.
I dont want a 4x4 as I am too much a noob in jeeps to get a hang of it. Plus i wont be
going offroad too. So doesnt make sense to get a 4x4.

@ others: contact details of good mechanic based in mumbai. Preferably around dadar bandra area
Old 28th March 2009, 12:32   #5

Hi motorheadinc,

Kindly mention the purpose to buy the Jeep.

Is it for OTRs or its just a Bling Bling thing.

I am not an expert but from the basics I have learned (thanks to TEAMBHP) if you are planning to buy the Jeep for OTR then the 2WD wont help.
Old 28th March 2009, 14:32   #6

Originally Posted by Cloud_Chaser View Post
Hi motorheadinc,

Kindly mention the purpose to buy the Jeep.

Is it for OTRs or its just a Bling Bling thing.

I am not an expert but from the basics I have learned (thanks to TEAMBHP) if you are planning to buy the Jeep for OTR then the 2WD wont help.
Originally Posted by motorheadinc View Post

I am at present in Mumbai. So sourcing from Kolkata is not a very attractive option to me.
I dont want a 4x4 as I am too much a noob in jeeps to get a hang of it. Plus i wont be

@ others: contact details of good mechanic based in mumbai. Preferably around dadar bandra area
I already said it in the post prior to yours. And regarding the bling bling part. Not exactly. More for the wind in hair experience and the joy of having and driving a jeep.
I guess as you are a noob (no. of post wise ) you would have posted it some time before i posted and it appeared only now

Last edited by motorheadinc : 28th March 2009 at 14:48.
Old 28th March 2009, 16:39   #7

Hey motorheadinc,

Found these useful tips on one of the 4X4 forum thought they might be of help.

~12 Golden Rules when buying a 4x4~
1. Not all 4x4s are created equal, not by a long way.

2. Know what you want to do with your 4x4 before you shop.

3. A good salesperson will gladly sell ice to Eskimos. Don’t be an Eskimo.

4. Read up and know more than the salesperson.

5. Myth 1: A 4x2 with a diff lock can do almost as much off-road as a 4x4. Not even close!

6. Myth 2: A 4x4 without low range can do almost as much as a 4x4 with low range. Not even close!

7. Clearance is everything.

8. Low range gearing is required even if you want to be a little adventurous; otherwise the only off-road terrain you can wish for is a bit of sand, as long as it is not too thick.

9. Big wheels and low profile tyres are going to keep you on-road. SUVs with these fitted are going to frustrate ambitious exploration plans. Narrow spares are also pretty useless.

10. Beware of the phrase, “I don’t want to do anything serious”. What does serious mean? Be clear on what serious means and know if your choice can do it, or not.

11. Don’t be fooled by looks. Looks are for town and aren’t any help in the bush.

12. Reliability can mean two things: If you are capable of making repairs to your vehicle, serviceability is as important as reliability. If you are incapable of making repairs, reliability is probably the most important factor in choosing a 4x4 for outback travel.

Source: 4xforum.com
Old 28th March 2009, 17:20   #8

^^^ Dude this is very general talk. I would rather love to hear something about the two jeeps I have mentioned.

And on the availability of a good mechanic
Old 28th March 2009, 19:37   #9

Originally Posted by motorheadinc View Post

I am at present in Mumbai. I dont want a 4x4 as I am too much a noob in jeeps to get a hang of it. Plus i wont be

Some basic need to be consodered before taking the plunge

a) Do you actually want a Jeep pr a Gypsy. As for city driving Gypsy will give you the speed and the dependability you would need. Plus fewer visits to the mechanic. Though the petrol hit on the wallet.

b) If opting for a Jeep. You would like to buy a Short Wheel Base (81 inch) or a Long Wheel Base a (91 inch)

c) buying a Jeep or a gypsy I would always recommend a 4x4 as it the offroad option will always be available. Anyway the mumbai OTR scene is getting developed by intiative of Allan (Xtreme Power)

d) for 91 inch 540/550/major are available. check what engine does 540 have if its a Pegeout 2148 cc engine then the average is going to be low. I think I get around 10 or 11. Never checked precisely though. If its a 4 gear engine and you always wish a 5th gear is there. (I have this in 4x4 version). Max speed you will be able to hit will be 90 kmph

e) 81 inch, CJ340/Classic is a good option. loads of power and looks real cool.

Regds

Amit

Last edited by Tusker4x4 : 28th March 2009 at 19:43.
Old 28th March 2009, 19:46   #10

Thanks for the insights amit. I appreciate it. Well initially I want a trouble free jeep. I
have built a car from scratch in college and I have learnt a very simple yet effective
philosophy from that experience. Keep it Simple. make sure it has everything basic and
it will run like charm. One more reason to go for 2WD. This is gonna be more of a learning
exercise for me as well as my friend. Once we get comfy with the jeep we plan to do
4X4 install like Khan_sultan and engine transplants.

Mumbai members Please help...

MHI
Old 29th March 2009, 12:31   #11

Motorhead, one of the Jeeps is over 20 years old, the second you haven't specified. But I presume it is over 15 years old (going by the price)? I hope you clearly understand that these old Jeeps will NEVER be trouble-free, atleast not unless you revamp everything (engine, gearbox, suspension, electricals, braking etc.) as I did to my Classic only recently. But then, you are looking at a refurb bill of 1.50 - 2.5 lakh upward.

You haven't specified the mileage, engine type, pictures or anything else that will allow us to help you with more information. Sorry, right now, we are only shooting in the dark due to lack of information from your side.
Old 29th March 2009, 13:13   #12

Chennai - Gypsy and a good mechanic

Hi what will be the cost of a army gypsy which is around 5yrs old or so.I am interested to buy but i cant spent much for the workshops.Are there any good genuine mechanics in chennai who can assist me?

let me know...
Old 29th March 2009, 17:59   #13

I visited the guy again. This time in broad daylight to be able to get some pics of the jeep.

I would reiterate that I am not an expert of jeeps. But frankly I think that the jeep is in pretty
good conition. Plus the person has agreed for a full body red paint and an engine + gearbox transplant.
He is the 3rd owner of the jeep and as such is open to negotiation. The jeep at present has the normal
engine + gearbox(3 forward + 1 reverse) and not Peugeot engine + gearbox(4 forward + 1 reverse) as per
what he has told me. I and my friend have taken loads of pictures which are attached here. Please have
a look and see what all we can ask to be done. To my pleasant surprise I see the body is in very good
condition for a 22 year old vehicle. Not too much rust either. The tyres too will be changed.

So guys Please suggest what can i do next.

PS: I have told him that many of my friends are also looking for jeeps and he has agreed to help me and
my friends (read interested fellow BHPians ). So I urge you to please help me in getting this into a
good conndition. I guess if GTO can provide me with a good mechanic to do a full inspection of the jeep,
then i would be able to realise my dream of having a jeep.

Motorheadinc
Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3382.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3383.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3384.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3385.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3386.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3387.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3388.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3390.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3391.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3394.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3395.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3396.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3397.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3398.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3399.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3400.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3401.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3402.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3403.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3405.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3407.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3408.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3409.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3410.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3411.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3412.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3413.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3414.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3415.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3416.jpg  

Old 29th March 2009, 18:12   #14

some more pics including some of the Peugeot...
Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3417.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3418.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3419.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3420.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3421.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3422.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3423.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3424.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3425.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3426.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3427.jpg  

Need advice on buying a jeep! Edit : Detailed pics added.-img_3428.jpg  

Old 29th March 2009, 20:46   #15

The radiator spillage shows that there is lot of rust formation inside. The front cross member shows signs of rust so does the leaf springs. Even certain patches of the underbody are rusted.

22 years is a long period. Time does take its toll. In the peaugot jeep the fuel pump area shows a leakage. The inside of the bonnet hood is rusted.. Even the radiator mounting sidewalls are rusted

Last edited by gd1418 : 29th March 2009 at 20:47.