1) Replaced Tires to JK Brute 4x4-with tube and Small repairs-22500-00
2) Replaced Hood-2800-00

October-2006
1) Got Hi-lift-7500-00.

February -2007,

Warn Winch- 56000-00
New Battery-4000-00

October-2008,

1)New paint and Tinkering and all Suspension work done first major Expenditure after buying the jeep-- 56000-00

March-2009

Got Army rims-12500-00
Rims painting wheel balance - 1500-00

April-2009,

Replaced tires to Michelin LTX 235x75R16- 23000-00

Rear fixed CFLs -18000-00

Now the Big Money for a Small mistake...

REPLACED OLD ENGINE TO NEW XD3P WITH ALL LABOR AND SOME MINOR REPAIRS -120 000-00,

Safari Snorkel with piping work-8300-00

November-2009,

New OPTIMA BATTERY- 22000-00

Still to Come...Harjeev inspired Innova Seats.

Last edited by swastikviji : 3rd December 2009 at 21:40.
Old 3rd December 2009, 21:45   #32

^^^ The MOST expensive stock MM550XDB in the country!!! and nevertheless, The MOST original. Every single nut and bolt in his Jeep is original. I think even the rear platform he replaced was OE from Mahindra

--Sree--

Last edited by sreerajunnithan : 3rd December 2009 at 21:49.
Old 3rd December 2009, 21:46   #33

I will not go into too much detail, here are the rough strokes.

Repairs: Cooling issues (new Radiator & Cylinder head) + Gear box overhaul + other misc stuff = 1L (all using OE parts and Mahindra labour)

Optional stuff: Winch + Alloys + AT-S Tyres + CF leafs + Amaron Battery = 1.2L

Recurring: 500-1000 bucks per month for routine stuff.

Major work pending: Complete Body work

The Jeep itself was not free either...

Last edited by Samurai : 3rd December 2009 at 21:48.
Old 3rd December 2009, 23:14   #34

Mahindra Thar 6.5 Lakhs OTR.

Oops, it's not 2010 yet.

Jokes aside, I am still tallying my damages as my Jeep is still undergoing various surgical procedures not covered by insurance. Will udpate when I am done with my jeep mods or when I go broke (which ever happens earlier).
Old 3rd December 2009, 23:49   #35

Excellent thread @vinod.
This is a ready reckoner for people like me who are newbie's/starters in this section of vehicles.
I have one request, it would be good to post the pic with the cost.
Old 3rd December 2009, 23:52   #36

Jeep MM 540: INR 45,000.00
Nissan TD 25 Engine and GB: INR 68,000.00
MM Scorpio Pr. Steering Box: INR 15,000.00
MM Loadking Power Brake: INR 3,000.00
New Brake Pedals from the floor type: INR 3,500.00
Qualis Di Filter n Lancer Fiter cover: INR 3,300.00

Patchwork n painting: INR 30,000.00
Lights n Switches n Wiring:INR 11,500.00
Seatsn Upholstery : INR 8,000.00
Alloys:INR 35,000.00
Labour( Heavily Discounted): INR 18,000.00

From this to this.
Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-1.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-dscf4967.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-dscf4971.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-dscf4976.jpg  

Last edited by prmd_cochin : 3rd December 2009 at 23:57.
Old 4th December 2009, 00:17   #37

Nice thread, very informative.

Just bought my 4x4 so no big expenditure list. But in future will keep updating this to keep track. My details as follows:

Vehicle bought- GV 2007- 720000
Commission- 2%- 14400
Transfer- 26000

Total till now- 760400

and I was thinking and telling everyone 7.5, good you started this thread Vinod.
Old 4th December 2009, 10:22   #38
DKG

Originally Posted by bigman View Post
Here is a picture of it after a quick wash.
What a lovely colour. Congrats the Jeep looks sharp. Is it a metallic shade?

BTW have you considered bigger feet? It would look gorgeous !

Last edited by DKG : 4th December 2009 at 10:23.
Old 4th December 2009, 12:13   #39

great going guys...it is $$$ spent every where!

@swastikviji
Yours is one of the most costliest stock jeep here and it shows why! Immaculate jeep i must say. As sree said, yours probably is the only jeep here with all original M&M parts and thats why the cost. I think your tyre change 3 times in 3 years could have been avoidable.
The off road equipment you have is great! Only thing missing in your vehicle is A/c and p/s. I guess you didnt feel the need for them staying in cool climate areas. Way to go Vijay. Can you post the pic of your vehicle?

@ym-enjn
Your Gv at 7.5 lakhs is worth the money boss for what you have! Please add a tow hook and make a trailer You will soon need to tow a SWB to that off road spot. BTW what was your expences for your old CL340 beauty?

@prmd_cochin
At 2.5 lakhs approx yours is value for money build. Good jeep. The transformation of your jeep has been dramatic. Apart from the vehicle cost, engine gearbox combo cost is a killer. Hope it gives you good service. Wish yours had 4x4, the desireability factor would have increased many folds! Anyway, you are clear about your requirements and your jeep is living up to it!

@rk_sans
The purpose of this thread is self introspection for the seasoned and to help newbies who would want to take a plunge into the 4x4 world. This would make them realise it is not as rosy as it looks outside. Lot of hardwork and money goes into building that droolable 4x4!

@4x4 addict
Your jeep is one of the best i have seen in terms of build, looks and mechanical aggregates. Just get that damn thing out and drive it yaar :-))
Well try to recover your money what you have spent on it driving it before that elusive Thar arrives:-)

@Samurai
2.2 lakhs on vehicle upgradation and still counting in addition to the vehicle purchase cost at a secret $$$$ price But what the heck, if it brings smile on your face every time you go offroad, then it is well worth it. You have a piece of Mahindra's history parked in your garage which looks and rides gorgeous!

@Davids4x4mm550
I have been watching your 550 build thread closely. All the best. The figures look good till now

p.s Iam yet to see a Gypsy rebuild story here, Khan, headers, Dwaraka where are you guys?

Last edited by vinod_nookala : 4th December 2009 at 12:14.
Old 4th December 2009, 14:23   #40

Originally Posted by vinod_nookala View Post
@swastikviji

@ym-enjn

@prmd_cochin

@rk_sans

@4x4 addict

@Samurai

@Davids4x4mm550
Amazing comprehending skill !!!
Old 4th December 2009, 15:06   #41

Originally Posted by Ym-enjn View Post
Just bought my 4x4 so no big expenditure list. But in future will keep updating this to keep track. My details as follows:

Vehicle bought- GV 2007- 720000
Commission- 2%- 14400
Transfer- 26000

Total till now- 760400

and I was thinking and telling everyone 7.5, good you started this thread Vinod.
Yogesh, congratus on the new buy.. Where are the pictures man..

Originally Posted by vinod_nookala View Post
@Nitrous-LOL :-)

Guys iam eager to listen to some of our senior guys like Arka, the traveller (sanjay david), Samurai , Harjeev, Dwaraka, Trammway, 4x4 addict, khan sultan and desertking among others.

Newbies like Arjun rudra, propeller can also contribute
Am I seeing my name in the senior guys list ??.. seems a typor error

Mine is a Mahindra MM540.

Bought XD3P military motor (76BHP) for 17K, completely overhault for more than 30K.

Overhault the 4x4 KMT90 gear box since the 2W lever was giving problems. Spent more than 6K and than realized that it was the body of the Jeep which was touching the lever and hence the problem. Paid further INR 20 to fix it.

Koyo power steering bought for around 4K or so. Paid 4K for fitting. Later changed the position thrice to have it less visible and also to make space for winch fitting. Every time $$$. No winch as of now but it was always in my wishlist until I did not made my mind to sell.

Rear tail lights of Americal CJ5 imported from US. One set was dispatched by cheap courier and lost in transit. Second time it was sent throught TNT. Overall it costed me $115 or so.

2 Hella with 100W tube for about INR 1500.

Fitted a used break booster from a Armada but later on the advice of Vinod Nookala, I bought a brand new of Bolero and fitted it. The new one costed me 6K or so.

New good ISI grade wiring recently done. Cost 5 K.

Deshboard of Armada Grand and meter accemly of Bolero. Also I have the AC of the same Armada Grand with me but it is yet to fitted. Paid INR 15K for all these things.

4 speaker and sony MP3 music system. Speaker sound quality is not very good.

Taiwan made steel rims 15x8.5J (new one costs now 9k to 10K per wheel). I bought the used one and was a good deal.

Dunlop AT tyre, size 31x10.5 R 15. Tyres having more than 50% life.

Fully customized and convertible soft top. I can remove the rear
soft top fully. Costed more than 12k.

Rear front facing seat.

Front seat of Tata Siera. We can fold the left seat's back in front
so the pessenger can go to the rear seats.

Rear LSD of MM550. Bought for aprox 5K.

Front locking hubs.

Four point roll over cage (Mahindra Thar like) which is designed and
fitted to give you real protection. Costed 10K or so.

Front and rear differential ratio has been changed to 11 : 47 (4.27)
so the mileage and speed (on the same RPM) has been increased. I am
getting 13KM per litre and max speed more than 100 KM (infect never
checked it). I had changed the diffrential thrice of different ratio to figure out the best suit for my requirement. I guess over all it cost me more than 15K.

New clutch plate, pressure plat and other clutch related items. Costed aprox 7k or so.

Plastic putti and 2K matelic paint, costed 16K.

There are many small things in the list but I do not want to make it bigger here. I have used original Mahindra parts to the best possible.

Overall so far I have spent 3.40 Lakh and a handsome amount of my short life on the vehicle.

:: An advice to the newbies. If you are married, never try to own a Jeep as your first vehicle. Else your married life can be put in trouble. India already have a worst ratio of mans vs woman so less chances you will get a other girl for you.
Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-img_6830.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-img_6837.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-dscn0694.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-picture-1517.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-picture-1676.jpg  

Old 4th December 2009, 15:17   #42

jeep=troubled marriage:-)

Originally Posted by DesertKing View Post

Overall so far I have spent 3.40 Lakh and a handsome amount of my short life on the vehicle.

PS :: An advice to the newbies. If you are married, never try to own a Jeep as your first vehicle. Else your married life can be put in trouble. India already have a worst ratio of mans vs woman so less chances you will get a other girl for you.
Naren,
If you see any wonderfully built 4x4 here has crossed 3.5 lakh budget baring one or two. Hence what you have spent isnt too mcuh and you have one handsome beast with you. However even after spending that kind of money we still end up repairing something or the other. That's what bothers me the most

I agree with you on the point of jeep being 1st and only vehice specially when you are married. You see a woman cannot bear attention more than on herself on anybody else and jeep requires lot of it! Hence the trouble
Old 4th December 2009, 15:39   #43

My Jeep

Hey Guys,

I have spent 60K for the scrap Jeep Look at the first 2 pics.

25 K for Body and paint job.

None for Toyota Innova front 2 seats and Extreme double foldable seats - "Jugaad".

20K for Sandgrips - Kind Courtesy Harjeev

Mechanical Job and Engine overhaul - 35 K

Small little tings aith some accessories - 20 K

So In all I have spent about 1.6 lks on the vehicle though its a roug cut summary. The current pics (still 2 months old) attached.

I stopped the work on it due to my wedding (I got married on 1st Nov). Now I will start the work again. As it is said the work on Jeep never stops.

Still to do

Registration - 30K

Some more tinkering and fitting some more accesories - 25 K

And counting so on....

Tarkesh
Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-jeep2.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-jeep3.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-jeep1.jpg  

Old 4th December 2009, 15:53   #44

^^^
Ricky where is the cost factor.

one of the best images of before and after.

It reminds of all those TV shopping channel which shows before and after images of people. after they have used certain products.
Old 4th December 2009, 16:20   #45

Hi Tarkeesh,
What a transformation man, from crap to a beauty! 1.6 lakhs till now sounds good. Thats the advantage of picking up a jeep dirt cheap.

BTW congratulations on your marriage!:-))...hope she too likes your jeep:-)