Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 4th January 2010, 17:01   #106

I'm also IN

Originally Posted by headers View Post
Vinod, I thought the deal was done and you are buying a....oops I'm sorry i said something i should not have..

Vinod - Please include me also in if its related to buying a NEW JEEP or Related to 4*4 .

I had spoken to a guy from Bangalore regarding Merc G wagon - He said if i was to buy the vehicle in my companys name and use it its only 15% TAX i need to pay.
Old 4th January 2010, 17:06   #107

tyres

Hello Vinod,

Those are MT tyres . they do have 16 inchers I think. And they also have some awesome ATs . But will have to check with them now.

Babu
Old 4th January 2010, 17:58   #108

Originally Posted by vinod_nookala View Post
I almost went through this experience, but changed my mind after a short ride in my jeep on a cool breezy night.

Well for your freebies i need friends like yours.
Vinod, I thought the deal was done and you are buying a....oops I'm sorry i said something i should not have..

Vinod. Spill the beans. What you planning? Please don't tell me you are going to be Jeepless. You will be incomplete without one.

Originally Posted by propeller View Post
Vinod -
I had spoken to a guy from Bangalore regarding Merc G wagon - He said if i was to buy the vehicle in my companys name and use it its only 15% TAX i need to pay.
Well maintained G wagons are hard to come by here. One of team bhpain called Hanmust has one here.
Old 4th January 2010, 20:27   #109

Originally Posted by ex670c View Post
Hi Kumaran,

1) Prop-Shaft - Rs1500 second hand, change the Universal Joints, and Check the Yoke Splines for slack/play.

2) Single or Dual Lever? Dual Levers Rs500 for a set. Single Lever Rs500.

3) Armada Grand/Bolero/Scorpio 160pcd
CJ3B/CJ500D/MM540/MM550 - 139.7pcd

The Older Axles (Front Steering Knuckle and and all 4 Hubs & Brake Drums have to be Changed to Armada 98)

The Newer Wheel Disc/Rims cannot be fitted straight away.

Arka
thank u so much ARKA sir for detailing the the specifications,
so how much should i spend to fit the bolero rims and tyres? my tyres r nearly at the end of their life! is there any other go for my problem!
Old 12th January 2010, 17:21   #110

My $$$ Expense continue's

Well after all the money spent - I realized WOW they money did not go into the drain .

The Mini OTR on 10th January proved me all the worth and I'm going in for more. The vehicle was able to clear obstacles in 3 High and 2 High
  1. Free Wheel Hubs - INR 7000
  2. Airfilter - INR ???
  3. Service / Timing check up / Black Excess smoke check up INR 1200
Unlike every-time now i do not crib because the more you spend the more the Jeep kicks your Adreline out and the feeling of clearing a obstacles is amazing.
Old 12th January 2010, 17:27   #111

Free Wheel Hubs - INR 7000

WHAT

For what Jeep dear friend? Please share details. A M&M FWH from Lamda costs 3000Rs...
Old 12th January 2010, 18:20   #112

The vehicle was able to clear obstacles in 3 High and 2 High
Thats 3L and 2H in 4WD mode Prop..

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
WHAT

For what Jeep dear friend? Please share details. A M&M FWH from Lamda costs 3000Rs...

Yeah, go for Lamba FWH, there are good!
Old 12th January 2010, 18:50   #113

Thats 3L and 2H in 4WD mode Prop..

Yeah, go for Lamba FWH, there are good!
Sure I'll go for Lamba FWH and Sir its actually what you had driven . I had tried in 4wd H in 2 nd Gear only
Old 12th January 2010, 23:28   #114

My 1997 single owner mm540 had done about 165000kms without any major works or breakdown.But rusting was one of the main concern and i had to shed about Rs 35000 (2002) and Rs 45000 (2005) for patch work and painting.In 2009 there was a damage of about 168000 rs for body work,painting,upholstery,new steering box,pump overhauling,army rim and tyres etc.
Old 13th January 2010, 12:40   #115

Expensive

Originally Posted by jack33 View Post
My 1997 single owner mm540 had done about 165000kms without any major works or breakdown.But rusting was one of the main concern and i had to shed about Rs 35000 (2002) and Rs 45000 (2005) for patch work and painting.In 2009 there was a damage of about 168000 rs for body work,painting,upholstery,new steering box,pump overhauling,army rim and tyres etc.
Rs 35000 in 2002 and 45000 in 2005 is costly for patch work and painting standards. May be you are getting it done at a hep place with a paint booth and all. 1,68,000 for body work painting, tyres and fuel pump job is expensive. Are you getting all these done in M&M dealership? Remember your engine is almost due for a major overhaul
Old 13th January 2010, 14:23   #116

Well after all the money spent - I realized WOW they money did not go into the drain .

The Mini OTR on 10th January proved me all the worth and I'm going in for more. The vehicle was able to clear obstacles in 3 High and 2 High
  1. Free Wheel Hubs - INR 7000
  2. Airfilter - INR ???
  3. Service / Timing check up / Black Excess smoke check up INR 1200
Unlike every-time now i do not crib because the more you spend the more the Jeep kicks your Adreline out and the feeling of clearing a obstacles is amazing.
Propeller, great that you are feeling happy with your jeep's performance.

airfilter(New) papertype with drum - 1100, hose 600, customized clap - 200 to 250.

cheers,
Old 16th January 2010, 18:36   #117

Originally Posted by matchless View Post
Hardtop came with the vehicle 1995 model, later model had different type of hard top.

Hi Mahendran,

How much did you buy your MM540 for?

Finally decided to put a STOP to this $$$.

Yes going to sell my Jeep soon and go in for Thar if launched or Major.

NO more " penny wise pound foolish " 5.25 Lks for the Major and 30 K for the Maxis tyres and lived and offroaded happy ever after

I had crossed 2.5 lks for a 1964 model and still not satisfied so this decision

Propeller

Hi Karthik

New year resolution is it?

Last edited by Rehaan : 16th January 2010 at 20:35. Reason: Posts merged. Please use the MULTIQUOTE button instead of making multiple consecutive posts in the same thread. Thanks.
Old 26th February 2010, 08:47   #118

Finally at 2.50 Lks

HI,

Finally at 2.50 Lks he is perfect and have started using it as a daily drive.

Gear shift is great , drive is great , milage is 14 KMPL with the airfilter getting me on par with cars on the city roads or even faster .

Final outcome with little of bling ( you all know why the bling )
Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-dsc00498.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-dsc00500.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-dsc00501.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-dsc00502.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-dsc00503.jpg  

Your 4x4- How much $$$$ till now and how?-dsc00504.jpg  

Old 26th February 2010, 09:27   #119

Gear shift is great , drive is great , milage is 14 KMPL with the airfilter getting me on par with cars on the city roads or even faster .
What air filter are you using?
Old 26th February 2010, 10:23   #120

Iam happy for you my friend :-)

HI,

Finally at 2.50 Lks he is perfect and have started using it as a daily drive.

Cheers to the man who thinks his jeep is perfect May it remain so!

What did you do to your gearbox? Changed the top cover?
2.5 lakhs for a 3b with complete satisfaction is great!!