Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 31st January 2010, 10:30   #1

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King

The Gypsy bug bit me too... Got permission and money from my Dad to go ahead and buy myself a gypsy . Saw a lot of gypsys including this , somehow i did not like any of those other than this one , either they were too pricy or in a bad condition or too many previous owners . This is 99 Ex-army gypsy king Carb. I'll let the images do the talking..

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p230110_179.jpg

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p230110_17.jpg

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p300110_15.jpg
karizma9292 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2010, 10:58   #2

Congrats buddy. I am sure you will enjoy it now and bring it to OTR's to see the real potential of a Gypsy.

From the looks of it, this seems a very clean Gypsy. Do tell us how much you paid, how you found out about this Gypsy etc etc.

PS: Get rid of that 4x4 sticker. People who matter know that a Gypsy is 4x4. Such stickers look good on Sumo's/Autos..
Old 31st January 2010, 11:02   #3
Sha

Congrats! Gypsy looks neat. I used to see this gypsy around jayanagar 3rd block.
Old 31st January 2010, 11:04   #4

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
People who matter know that a Gypsy is 4x4. Such stickers look good on Sumo's/Autos..
About to say this but Khan being THE 4X4 GUY has obviously has the first say.

Looks very clean. Like to know from where did you pick this up and what was the cost of registering number.
Old 1st February 2010, 02:16   #5

congrats karizma, from the looks of it, seems to be a neat buy. please share the cost details as well.
Old 1st February 2010, 16:32   #6

Originally Posted by karizma9292 View Post
The Gypsy bug bit me too... Got permission and money from my Dad to go ahead and buy myself a gypsy . Saw a lot of gypsys including this , somehow i did not like any of those other than this one , either they were too pricy or in a bad condition or too many previous owners . This is 99 Ex-army gypsy king Carb. I'll let the images do the talking..

Attachment 277951

Attachment 277952

Attachment 277953
Congrats Buddy!!!
please share the buying experiences, cost, how well does she drive, more pictures of the engine bay, interiors etc etc!!!
Welcome to the club!!
Old 1st February 2010, 17:24   #7

hey congrats buddy, that is quite a neat and well maintained Gking. Welcome to the club. Awaiting the details
Old 1st February 2010, 22:32   #8

Congrats buddy

Its a real neat looking Gypsy. Do post some pics of the interiors. By the way how much did it cost for you to register it?

Nishanth
Old 2nd February 2010, 02:50   #9

Congrats Matey. A fine clean one. Enjoy It
Old 2nd February 2010, 18:58   #10

Sorry for the late reply friends, was out of station . Khan sir im a great fan of you and your king , sir thanks for your valuable advice , i actually saw this for sale in TBHP itself , it was quoted 2.10lakhs and it was marked sold before i could attempt to buy it . As usual when i was looking through Sulekha classifieds i saw a this vehicle for sale again for 1.70lakhs , went straight away contacting that person and picked up the vehicle after a negotiation for a price of 1.55lakhs. I picked this up from a Ex-brigadier , he had already done the restoration and registeration . Im used to driving a Honda city so this vehicle feels a bit hard for me. . I'll surely upload pics of the interiors and the engine bay . And friends thanks for all your valuable comments . Will keep updating .

Khan sir , Sha , Rudra sir , Sorcererenator , harjeev , dar3dev|l , hgnishanth , Desmosedici , thanks for all your valuable comments

Last edited by Jaggu : 2nd February 2010 at 19:08. Reason: Back to back posts, please use Multi Quote instead, Thanks
Old 2nd February 2010, 19:53   #11

I plan to upgrade the tyres , thinking of BFG AT 215/75R15 . friends need some advice.
Old 2nd February 2010, 21:40   #12

karizma9292 - Congrats ! sure is a dream come true to have one in your garage!
Old 3rd February 2010, 16:49   #13

Hey guys , just uploading few pics of the interiors , engine bay , replaced the 4x4 stickers with TBHP stickers as told by Khan sir and added few more TBHP stickers.

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p030210_16.jpg

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p030210_161.jpg

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p030210_162.jpg

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p030210_163.jpg

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p030210_164.jpg

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p030210_165.jpg

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p030210_166.jpg

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p030210_167.jpg

My latest acquisition : 99 Ex-army Gypsy King-p030210_168.jpg
karizma9292 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2010, 17:50   #14

Originally Posted by karizma9292 View Post
I plan to upgrade the tyres , thinking of BFG AT 215/75R15 . friends need some advice.
I have BFG AT's on my 550 and in my opinion they are a decent tyre for mixed use. On the road it is decent without excessive road noise. I did not try it in mud/slush but on sand type terrain it was again a decent performer.

I think Harjeev has them on his Gypsy so he can no doubt provide more information.
Old 8th February 2010, 08:06   #15

1.55L for a '99 restored (mechanically fixed+denting/painting+electricals, over cosmetically neat and with decent tyres) is quite a steal i'd say - congrats again buddy.

The tyres seems to be in good condition, and i suggest, spend this addtional cash in converting it into an mpfi than spending on replacing 'already there' good tyres. Eitherways, there is not much you will get for your old ones.