Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 15th April 2011, 16:46   #196
o.D

Re: CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??

Have followed your previous restorations and know sure this too is going to only be the best of fit and finish. came across this site ICON and thought it might give you more ideas for a rollcage and mods. It reminded me of Jaggu's ride and setup as soon as I saw it.

Happy Jeeping!
o.D is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th May 2011, 11:45   #197

Originally Posted by o.D View Post
Have followed your previous restorations and know sure this too is going to only be the best of fit and finish. came across this site ICON and thought it might give you more ideas for a rollcage and mods. It reminded me of Jaggu's ride and setup as soon as I saw it.

Happy Jeeping!
o.D,
Thanks. Yes I did see the ICON's 3B and I am planning the roll cage not exactly but on similar lines.

Meanwhile, as works on a completely new fabricated body continue, I just finished designing the spare bracket and the tail lamps (Tatra) have been incorporated in the same position as the drawing here.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-tyre-bracket.jpg  

Old 9th May 2011, 12:46   #198

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
o.D,
I just finished designing the spare bracket and the tail lamps (Tatra) have been incorporated in the same position as the drawing here.
Can you post pics of the Tatra tail lamps please?
Old 9th May 2011, 13:41   #199

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Can you post pics of the Tatra tail lamps please?
Tejas,
There you go.
These are 30% bigger than the Lumax tail lamps, solid aluminum construction, water proof sealed.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0661.jpg
Old 9th May 2011, 13:45   #200

Thank you.

So, these have the stop and parking lights only?

What is the light at the side? What are you doing for turn indicators?
Old 9th May 2011, 13:52   #201

Thank you.

So, these have the stop and parking lights only?

What is the light at the side? What are you doing for turn indicators?
That is the transparent bottom for the number plate.
Plan to use the top lamp for park and brake and the bottom for turn, as the transparent will be embedded inside the body anyways.
Old 17th May 2011, 13:48   #202

Lovely thread. Read right from the start.

Little OT: Reminded me of a poor little jeep very close to my home left to die. Wish I had the funds to put life into it. Pic of jeep and its engine lying separated. Recognize the jeep? Looks done up once.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-image014.jpg  

CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-image038.jpg  

Old 18th May 2011, 22:53   #203

Finally the 16 gauge CR shell started to stitch together, like a jigsaw puzzle falling into place.

With the engine, gearbox, differentials, chassis etc. swapped and on the cards now are seats, roll bar, rims, tyres, top etc. etc.

Ironically, the bonnet, grille, windshield are the only parts surviving on the CJ 340 I had.

A preview into the wip.

Underbelly, notice the protusion in the rear tyre wells for larger bucket seats, and it will not mess in articulation.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0685.jpg
Firewall redesigned to accommodate the XD3P.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0688.jpg
Notice the recess for seats and (missing) tailgate.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0693.jpg
This fire wall scrapped to make way... (the black firewall in the back ground is the old shell)
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0709.jpg
for this one finalized and fixed.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0703.jpg
This emboss is for the proposed hood (Bolero door) hinges...a la, GTO's Classic.

CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0698.jpg
The tail, now without a gate.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0694.jpg
The humble craftsman, Sharfu bhai. It is due to veterans like him and Janaiah and few others in different Jeep trades, Hyderabad still churns out Jeeps...year after year. May god bless these elders.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0708.jpg

Last edited by fazalaliadil : 18th May 2011 at 23:23.
Old 18th May 2011, 23:13   #204

Superb craftsmanship Fazal saab. Really loved the body work and really fast i say! Can you do something to make the rain channel under the hood hinge area tapper to either side, should help avoid the perennial rust in CJ's.
Old 19th May 2011, 08:11   #205
DKG

The tub looks great ! True these workers are blessed with an amazing skill. The finish is almost like the factory pressings. Why did you opt to seal the tail gate?
Old 19th May 2011, 09:57   #206

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Superb craftsmanship Fazal saab. Really loved the body work and really fast i say! Can you do something to make the rain channel under the hood hinge area tapper to either side, should help avoid the perennial rust in CJ's.
Jaggu,

Yes, I too am impressed with the quality of fabrication, all except the bending of sheet metal is hand crafted. When I watch a plain sheet of metal transform into a 'machine made' like body panel, I am amazed at the skill of this soft spoken, unassuming gentleman.

It would be two weeks back the shell would be complete and the Jeep out of this place, but for the 1 week marriage of his grand daughter he had to attend in Bhopal (Out Of) and another week of his helpers not reporting for work.

Can you kindly elaborate on the rain channel, as one already exists marked in red in below 1st pic.

Originally Posted by DKG View Post
The tub looks great ! True these workers are blessed with an amazing skill. The finish is almost like the factory pressings. Why did you opt to seal the tail gate?
Deepak,

Decided to exclude the tail gate as it is a perennial rattler in sometime, especially with a big spare hanging on it, no matter what you do.

The rear seat is front facing and can be easily accessed from the front, rather than the tail gate entry. The rear is not in use as frequently.

Proposed is a tyre bracket as in the preceding post which I want fixed and not the hinge type, as this 340 is being built with off roading in mind, hence rattles and loosening of parts, I want to minimize.

Lastly, the larger Tatra tail lamps, planned them recessed at higher points to meet the 'closer to eye level', it would not be possible with an open- able tail gate, due to their size.

The 'upwards C' water channel marked in red, which finshes off in an L at the sides(in green).

CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0703a.jpg
Tail gate and tail lamp position, before....
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0587.jpg
after.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0694.jpg
This is an important part..the "Bolero engine mounting bracket" marked in red arrow.
There are two ways to mount an XD3P on to the chassis mounts, the holes marked in green also can take the mounts without this bracket.

The advantages of this bracket are,
1. It can take bigger heavy duty rubbers, thus reduce vibrations and last longer.

2. It is positioned more in the center of the engine, mounting an engine on this bracket means its backward lean and weight will not fall on the GB and its cross member.

3. They are a direct fit on Bolero mounts, blue arrow (changed, as advised by Sir Behram).

The results are very pronounced, so if you come across these, hard to find Bolero mounts, just pick them up and keep them with you. I did, and have an extra pair.

The above is my personal observation, I don't mind being corrected if wrong.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0699.jpg
The earlier mounting position, 540 mount and rubber size.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_7347.jpg
Old 19th May 2011, 11:27   #207

Great work!

I'm even more happy that the work is progressing at a good rate. Increases the chances of you making it to EXAMM! 2011.
Old 19th May 2011, 16:01   #208

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
Jaggu,

Can you kindly elaborate on the rain channel, as one already exists marked in red in below 1st pic.
Yup that area if flat will collect water, and what i had in mind was a slight tapper to RT and LT so that water would easily flow off, or just avoid that piece in totality
Old 19th May 2011, 19:39   #209

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Yup that area if flat will collect water, and what i had in mind was a slight tapper to RT and LT so that water would easily flow off, or just avoid that piece in totality
Jaggu,
Before the paint job I will be getting the whole under body, floor and such crevices done up with Wurth treatment.

Great work!

I'm even more happy that the work is progressing at a good rate. Increases the chances of you making it to EXAMM! 2011.
Tejas,
Thank you.

My eyes, heart and mind are all set for making it to the EXAMM! 2011. Just don't want to miss the opportunity of meeting you guy and so many more from the South.

I am doing my best to get things moving.
Old 21st May 2011, 21:16   #210

Took a whole day and two scraps to finally get this silencer pipe finished.

Worked on the required clearance between the PS and the pipe and the pipe and the skid plate. The flex bellow now in place seems good.

By evening the tail pipe too was bent and fitted and the whole assembly completed. but not in pics here.

The finished shape of the manifold to silencer stretch, arrived after

CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0722.jpg
...lifting front wheels for downward tilt of PS.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0715.jpg
Yoke extension, front wheels grounded 1 1/2 ". Wheels lifted, 2"

CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0730.jpg
1" gap between PS and pipe, at articulation reduction negligible at gear box end.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0713.jpg
3/4th" between skid plate and pipe.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0727.jpg
Fuel tank shifted to rear.

CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0723.jpg