Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 27th May 2011, 15:27   #241

Re: CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??

^ Jaggu, you are 101% correct! A grommet also has a hole in it, the pics shown by you are plugs / stoppers made of different materials. I agree with this idea of yours, doable!

I don't understand why the confusion exists between a Grommet and a plug, such an elementary stuff.

Spike
Old 27th May 2011, 19:09   #242

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
Dr. Amar,

The handles on the windshield are there since I bought the Jeep.
Planning grab handles on the roll frame like the DOG.
The Pup, I thought was a Dog, but as it grew up...realized its a cat, and is now rechristened the 'LYNX'.
Yep, lynx sounds very apt
feline grace and all that, epitomizes the jeeps u build
couldnt resist adding an african lynx i came across in kenya
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-dsc00525.jpg  

Old 27th May 2011, 20:59   #243

Reenforcement within and hinge plates.
why a single support channel?
the cj3b type hoods are very flexible so IMO two support channels should be used.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-cj3bdog2.jpg
just a suggestion.
Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
^^ On a stock Chassis, manufacturer provided holes are for a reason.

Originally Posted by JeepCaptain View Post
Yes your honour Mr.Manufacturer!! We will leave them as it is.

Its so good to have someone from the manufacturer's side in any automotive forum. Thanks Spike for all your contribution to this forum.
i thought spikey is (or was) from our side.
Old 27th May 2011, 21:56   #244

Originally Posted by maverick56 View Post
Yep, lynx sounds very apt
feline grace and all that, epitomizes the jeeps u build
couldnt resist adding an african lynx i came across in kenya
Dr. Amar,
Thanks for contributing the Lynx pic. Lucky you.

Yes, the LYNX..is my inspiration on this build for, its compact and powerful character, size to power ratio, its predatory skills in bursts, the wide paws for grip and traction, its height against a short frame...like a SWB.

Even the colour is planned on similar lines, but like the Canadian Lynx (pic. attached).

Trying to emulate the beauty of nature.
Originally Posted by jeepster View Post
why a single support channel?
the cj3b type hoods are very flexible so IMO two support channels should be used.
Nikhil,
There are three reinforcements from the inside (red arrows) and one planned from the outside which also doubles up as a cosmetic component.

Also, the flexibility is taken care of once the four ends are clamped in closed position.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-3251807349_0f1f7959a3.jpg

CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0762.jpg

Last edited by fazalaliadil : 27th May 2011 at 21:59.
Old 30th May 2011, 14:10   #245

Here goes Fazal again! Very cool.

Fazal Bhai, I am sure that this would turn out to be yet another awesome restoration work/project.

Good Luck! Meet you soon in Hyd!
Old 29th June 2011, 16:27   #246

These WIP photographs are a week old. Presently, colour has been done and the 6 point roll cage is under fabrication.

Entire chassis, differentials, engine with GB, tub were disassembled and sand blasted, primed, filler putty, sanded, WURTH sealant, underbody, RAPTOR truck bedliner and GLASSURIT paint, done at New Mars.

Primer and filler putty done.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0779.jpg
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0782.jpg
Filler putty being sanded.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0785.jpg
Wurth underbody sprayed.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0790.jpg
Differentials back on after paint.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0777.jpg
Spring extended outward with side bed mounts.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0794.jpg

Last edited by fazalaliadil : 29th June 2011 at 16:40.
Old 29th June 2011, 17:16   #247
DKG

Fazal the shock mounts don't seem vertically aligned? Maybe if you install the base plate of the springs reverse with the shock pin inward they should line up?

Last edited by DKG : 29th June 2011 at 17:17.
DKG is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th June 2011, 18:32   #248

Originally Posted by DKG View Post
Fazal the shock mounts don't seem vertically aligned? Maybe if you install the base plate of the springs reverse with the shock pin inward they should line up?
Deepak Thanks,

The plates need to be swapped left to right and vice versa, for the pins to be aligned. That is how I had got it from Jannaiah to here with shocks fitted. The mechanic at New Mars did it the standard fitment and corrected it later.
Old 29th June 2011, 19:14   #249

Fazal, Did you get a feedback from Sivakumar (Trammway) on the helper setup on a short chassis? Have you factored that in? You may need to reduce a few leafs all around.
Old 29th June 2011, 19:28   #250

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
Fazal, Did you get a feedback from Sivakumar (Trammway) on the helper setup on a short chassis? Have you factored that in? You may need to reduce a few leafs all around.
Santosh,

The Siva experience made me reduce not one but two leafs from the pack. Now it is soft but I got to test it off road to make sure it isn't too soft.
Only after 300 more kilometers I will be able to do the off road run as the engine hasn't done over 200 kms. after the overhaul.

Will keep you updated.
Old 2nd July 2011, 10:29   #251

THE ROLL CAGE ( A la the DOG)

A 3.5mm, 2" HR (hot roll) pipe was chosen over CR (cold roll) for its hardness.

Thanks to Prabhu, New Mars...the man behind the entire make over of this project who made it possible to get this job done at his friend, Raji Reddy's fabrication unit, which primarily fabricates Wind Mills.

Mr. Reddy, a wizard took no time in understanding the design of the roll cage in photographs and transformed the images into form. He was personally involved in each and every part of th progress till completion, it was due to him that this beautiful roll weighing about 40 kgs. cage took form.

The bending,

CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0818.jpg
and checking (Prabhu on right)
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0817.jpg
4mm ms plates, (notice, RAPTOR bedliner under the plates)
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0813.jpg
Turned and threaded into perfection,
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0819.jpg
to fit into pipe.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0820.jpg
NOTCHING all ends for that perfect fit.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0833.jpg
The product. A six pointer.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0821.jpg
In profile.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0827.jpg
The X design over the front passenger and driver seat was changed for lack of head room, due to full sized seats.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0824.jpg
Removed for,
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0835.jpg
final welds.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0837.jpg
NDMS vs TREPADOR
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0831.jpg
The scrapped tyre bracket.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_0826.jpg

Last edited by fazalaliadil : 2nd July 2011 at 10:33.
fazalaliadil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2011, 14:15   #252

Excellent RC Fazalbhai. Was just waiting for these pics.

Im a little confused about the front two points. Could you kindly elaborate that set up please? Is that where the front RC ends (on the dash) or does it further continue unseen down to the floor? Is it good enough in case of a roll? Will it not tend to snap out or even rip the mount if the pressure is extensive?
Please give close up and also explain as it really looks drool worthy.
V-16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2011, 16:09   #253

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Excellent RC Fazalbhai. Was just waiting for these pics.

Im a little confused about the front two points. Could you kindly elaborate that set up please? Is that where the front RC ends (on the dash) or does it further continue unseen down to the floor? Is it good enough in case of a roll? Will it not tend to snap out or even rip the mount if the pressure is extensive?
Please give close up and also explain as it really looks drool worthy.
Gogi Bhai,

The two front ends are fastened on the dash, supported by two solidly fabricated 4mm brackets.

The dash and the whole body is in 16 guage CR, good enough to not let the brackets rip off.

In case of a roll over the load/ stress would be randomly distributed on the 6 points of the roll cage, not knowing which would take the worst hit. But your apprehensions are justified as these two, I too fell are most vulnerable of the six.

I had no choice but to go with this (DOG design) as the CJ340 does not have the leg room to accommodate the pipes till the floor. You can incorporate it in your 550 and pray I don't roll over on the front two points.

EDIT: Prabhu is the guy who did the Hyderabad Rubicon in his body own shop, with Arun, Nazim and Ravvenddrra, all T-BHPians..

CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_08271.jpg
The bush threaded inserted inside the pipe is the same one in the previous post.
CJ3B, 'The Dog 2' or 'The Pup': Should I ??-img_08242-2.jpg

Last edited by fazalaliadil : 2nd July 2011 at 16:23.
fazalaliadil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2011, 16:40   #254

Been away from the threads for sometime and what a surprise when i return. Super Fazal saab and love the shade. Exactly what i want in DwArF when he goes in for some cosmetics

Reg Roll cage, is there any way to reenforce the dash point from behind? That should give some additional strength??
Old 2nd July 2011, 17:01   #255

Hi Fazal,

Please run the A-Pillar Roll Bars Right Through the floor and also connect them across the dash board to for a "H".

Don't you think the bracket on the dash board will injure the knee/shim and will come off in a roll over and maim the occupant.

PLEASE FOLLOW A TRIED AND TESTED DESIGN, THE INTERNET IS FULL OF THEM.

Arka
ex670c is offline   (1) Thanks