Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 21st December 2010, 12:22   #46

Re: Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
You are not alone, for us poor folks in BLR if we are not even getting alloys at 7+ OTR price, how will it make sense? That too for a soft top, no ac, life style vehicle which will be 2nd or 3rd vehicle at home. My dreams are royally shattered
IMO , the target audience is 18-30 year olds and enthusiasts.

Enthusiasts will buy it at this price too , but to get the young crowd buy this (first vehicle for people new into jobs) it cud have been priced lower. 7L shud be with a/c power steering alloys and everything

Anyways a person like me would prefer to put his money on bikes
Old 21st December 2010, 12:26   #47

Where can I see the video of the launch?? Any links guys??
Old 21st December 2010, 12:26   #48

In Karnataka, it will be between 7.10-7.15L on-road, all included. Then of course, you gotta upgrade tyres, may be alloys, HT, AC, Winch, roll cage.
Old 21st December 2010, 12:28   #49

How much does a ST gypsy cost on road in Bangalore?
Old 21st December 2010, 12:29   #50

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Expect anything between 7.2 to 7.5 lakhs in BLR. State Tax, transportation, Road tax, insurance etc
This ( crde ) pricing is a 'mystery' , that many of us are 'aware' of .

This is 'unrealistic' that everybody knows .

Anyone ready to break the 'Ice' on this ? Yet ?

Sudarshan

edit . should have been at least 50 k less.

Last edited by Sudarshan : 21st December 2010 at 12:43.
Old 21st December 2010, 12:29   #51

The OTR of ST gypsy is around 6.2 Lakhs in Bangalore. Looks like a better deal to me than the Thar.
Old 21st December 2010, 12:30   #52

Originally Posted by niks_devil666 View Post
IMO , the target audience is 18-30 year olds and enthusiasts.
The real money is with 28-40 year olds But yes what you said is 100% correct, need alloys and AC at 7+ lakhs or else home ministry might not really accept the deal for this age group.

Anyways lets see how the test drive reports go, then we can decide better. Meanwhile let me go invest some much needed pampering on my DwArF.
Old 21st December 2010, 12:32   #53

A silly question ? Does everyone have to pay 'lifetime' road tax during registration of a new vehicle ? For instance once you pay 'lifetime' road tax and shift states then you have to renew road tax according to the rates prevailing over there. So can one opt for 2 year tax for the Thar in KA ?
Old 21st December 2010, 12:35   #54

How soon will it be available through CSD? The dealer here has no clue.
Old 21st December 2010, 12:36   #55

I was hoping to hear once the questioning round started on the warranty validity issue. Alas, i think the video feed ended before that.

Especially since all the marketing and branding is being done via promotions of Thar's off roading history, feedback from Team-bhp OTR members,formation of THAR club and last but not least - "Thar hates Tar". Would this mean that customers will be covered for all claims made for mechanical damage during off-roading since customers would be buying the vehicle based on their own branding and marketing?

Last edited by absynthguzzler : 21st December 2010 at 12:50.
Old 21st December 2010, 12:37   #56

Many thanks to BD, Vinod and Pratheesh for giving us the THAR.

I was late to catch the launch so can anybody please confirm the prices and the options package.

Old 21st December 2010, 12:39   #57

Delhi price calculation:
  • ex showroom=Rs. 5,99,000
  • Registration= Rs. 31,636 @ 4 percent including 4676 MCD parking tax and 3000 brokerage to the authority
  • insurance (approx figure)-between 20-22,000
  • logistics=Rs 4500
  • temporary registration charges=Rs 1500
Total on road price in Delhi by taking 22,000 as insurance= Rs. 6,58,636
Old 21st December 2010, 12:42   #58

im glad i didnt went for a restoration of an ex army jeep or gypy and waited out for Thar, after selling my civic!

the initiall reaction of the tbhp members is amazing, now lets see how many THARs will have tbhp sticker on them!
Old 21st December 2010, 12:43   #59

Congratulations to Mahindra, Sir Behram, Vinod, Spike aka Prateesh and the rest of the Thar (technical) core team from Mahindra who worked hard, close knit, dedicated, driven by self belief under the leadership of Sir Behram to bring this project to reality.

Had it not been for the personal interest of the Mahindra CMD Mr. Anand Mahindra, Thar would not have seen the light of day.

Congratulations to Members of Team-BHP for their feed back and suggestions which played a pivotal role in guiding Project Thar from inception to completion, their mention is well deserved.

Quote:" The THAR will change the complexion and standards of Indian off-roading is my conviction." after my test drive experience on18th April 2009.

I have been fortunate to be the first Indian and Team-BHP'ian to drive the Indian Thar Prototype and maintain my above quote.

fazalaliadil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st December 2010, 12:45   #60

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
Delhi price calculation:
  • ex showroom=Rs. 5,99,000
  • Registration= Rs. 31,636 @ 4 percent including 4676 MCD parking tax and 3000 brokerage to the authority
  • insurance (approx figure)-between 20-22,000
  • logistics=Rs 4500
  • temporary registration charges=Rs 1500
Total on road price in Delhi by taking 22,000 as insurance= Rs. 6,58,636
ah! now i can say that santa claus stuck to the price he promises us for the THAR. ie 6.5 Lakhs on road!

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
Congratulations to Mahindra, Sir Behram, Vinod, Spike aka Prateesh and the rest of the Thar (technical) core team from Mahindra who worked hard, close knit, dedicated, driven by self belief under the leadership of Sir Behram to bring this project to reality.
===========================
I have been fortunate to be the first Indian and Team-BHP'ian to drive the Indian Thar Prototype and maintain my above quote.

congrats to you too Fazal Bhai.

Last edited by Jaggu : 21st December 2010 at 12:51. Reason: Back to back posts, please use multi quote (Quote +) instead. Thanks