Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 21st December 2010, 13:21   #76

Re: Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!

Congrats to the M&M team for bringing out the THAR. Special congrats to DB, Pratheesh & Vinod for their patience and never say die spirit :-)

For me, the pricing is a little on the higher side. A 6.2 - 6.5 OTR would be BEST.

Did not see the video launch but would like to know from M&M or other folks about off-road use warranty -- what is covered & what not. What about water fording? What is the fint print..

Oh, BTW, there is a THAR test drive page here.
Thar

I have filled it to test the responsiveness of M&M on this and when they come back to me with a test drive offer :-)
Old 21st December 2010, 13:24   #77

Congratulations to Mr. Behram, Mr. Vinod, Pratheesh and MM team !!!
Its a perfect vehicle with a perfect price.

Delhi: 5.99 lac
Bangalore: 6.01 lac
Thane: 5.97 lac
Mumbai: 6.28 lac
* Ex-showroom/Standard condition

Sanjay

Last edited by 4x4army : 21st December 2010 at 13:27.
Old 21st December 2010, 13:27   #78

Originally Posted by dhuli View Post
Thar brakes - Is it usual design to provide disc brakes in front and drum brakes for the rear? In another conversation, a Fortuner sales trainer mentioned to me that its appropriate configuration for off-road vehicles.
it is the basic for on road vehicles also.

there are many reasons for that config in vehicles.the main one relates to the weight transfer that occurs when applying the brakes, making the front wheel brakes work harder, thus needing more effective stopping power and more efficient cooling.

my civic in dubai has discs front and drumbs rear. but i guess the civic in india has all four discs.

Originally Posted by Sudarshan View Post
Parambhai , whats the fun in having a revised 540 ? ( with mdi engine & box chassis ) & dont forget its BS 3 , have a rural address ?

Sudarshan

PS edit . CRDE PRICE HURTS ! I will convert my Land Rover to 'PETROL'
Sudarshan bhai, see the design of some classic cars/vehicles dont change with the time, they are loved the way they came out first.

porsche 911
VW beetle
Royal enfield bullet/classic
G-wagon
Landrover defender 90/110

and now the latest to carry on with the design is Maruti Suzuki Swift!

no need to sell your landy, keep it with you. i miss my defender 110 from my days in africa!

Last edited by khan_sultan : 21st December 2010 at 13:31. Reason: back to back posts
Old 21st December 2010, 13:31   #79

Behram Sir, Vinod, Prateesh, and the Thar team (And the proxy team of TBhp)

-----Congrats on the launch-----

Personally I cant buy a 7L OTR offroader, but what are the prices of the Mdi 4X4?
Old 21st December 2010, 14:01   #80

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
Behram Sir, Vinod, Prateesh, and the Thar team (And the proxy team of TBhp)

-----Congrats on the launch-----

Personally I cant buy a 7L OTR offroader, but what are the prices of the Mdi 4X4?
the thar website only gives info and price about the CRDe THAR and nothing about the MDI!

i think some one mentioned in the THAR MDI thread somewhere that the MDI would be around 4.5 - 5.0 lakhs!
Old 21st December 2010, 14:02   #81

Here is the official Thar launch video posted on YouTube

!

Last edited by Jaggu : 21st December 2010 at 16:34. Reason: Cleaning up the link
Old 21st December 2010, 14:12   #82

Any word on the customization options made available for the buyers?
Would be interested if M&M offered AC, HT from the dealer end.
Old 21st December 2010, 14:14   #83

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
The on-road price of Thar CDRe in Karnataka will be within 7.15L, I don't know how others are arriving at much higher figures.
I sure hope so, but am not sure about the tax structure etc and hence quoted 7.25 ish.

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
For me, the pricing is a little on the higher side. A 6.2 - 6.5 OTR would be BEST.
=======
I have filled it to test the responsiveness of M&M on this and when they come back to me with a test drive offer :-)
Yup that would be a reasonable price and eu tu Brutus on Test drive

Originally Posted by 4x4army View Post
After seeing the BLR price i have a feeling samurai's 7.15 might be realistic, still way too high for me. Gypsy at 6.28 is much more affordable and bang for the buck.

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
i think some one mentioned in the THAR MDI thread somewhere that the MDI would be around 4.5 - 5.0 lakhs!
Now there is lot of interest going towards MDi atleast from the offroad community.
Old 21st December 2010, 14:25   #84

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
I sure hope so, but am not sure about the tax structure etc and hence quoted 7.25 ish.
The road tax is 14% + 10% cess on road tax = 15.4% of ex-showroom (this road tax is what makes our roads so lovely)
The insurance is roughly 3% of the ex-showroom.
Then roughly 5K for all the handling and other misc charges.

6.01L X (15.4 + 3)% + 5K = 7.16L
Old 21st December 2010, 14:46   #85

Congrats to the team behind Thar for making it a reality.. I was looking at the pics and am amazed by the articulation of this machine.. Simply adorable.. See these pics:

Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!-lg_11.jpg

Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!-lg_12.jpg

Old 21st December 2010, 14:49   #86

My hearty Congratulations to Mahindra, Behram Sir, Vinod ,Prateesh and the rest of the Thar team,
Old 21st December 2010, 15:29   #87
jp1

Congrats to the Thar team Behram Sir, Spike, Vinod and rest of the team making it a reality, close to almost a year later than the SA launch. It is a wonderful machine, and me longing to acquire one, but my waiting going to be longer due to the price.

Disappointed on price front as I was expecting it lower by 50k.
On Road in Blr is 7.15 + A/C + Hard top = 7.75 or will it be more?.
I can wait for alloys and other goodies. But the above is a must. Let us see how it evolves.
Old 21st December 2010, 15:29   #88

Originally Posted by 4x4army View Post
* Ex-showroom/Standard condition
Congrats to team M&M for finally taking the cover of this excellent "JEEP".

That said, I agree with many others that it is overpriced by about 50K-70K. And A/c should have been a standard fitment - like the PS.

Anyway, going by my Xylo experience, it would take another year for the Thar to reach my town. So I think I will wait one more year and get a nice used Thar instead.

Old 21st December 2010, 15:36   #89
AWD

So, finally its good to see the Thar launch. Called up the local dealer but he's not even heard about Thar, let alone any info.
Will wait for prices in my region & a TD report on t-bhp followed by a first hand experience.
Called up a Dealer in another City(major), he said they are accepting 1L as booking amount & delivery period stretches from 3-4 weeks.

This being winters time, I can easily afford to wait till summers for a retro A.C. fitment.

Guys start suggesting the best color!

Last edited by AWD : 21st December 2010 at 15:37.
Old 21st December 2010, 15:37   #90

Vinod displayed some exhaustive selective customization options, but only for a minute. Where can we see those in detail? Also, want to know about the process.

Sending the Thar back to Mumbai after registration is not practical for most of us. I hope they assign/identify customization workshop in all metros so that we can all consider getting some of the work done without losing warranty. I for one won't send the Thar to Mumbai after registration and twiddle thumbs for months.