Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 7th January 2011, 15:47   #1

monstAr version 1.3

YES!!! i have a KING.

so here is my story (I am BAD at this)

after selling my SPOAed Monstar i was hunting for 1.3 King.

I was even considering MM550 but after driving it once i decided to stick to Gypsy only.

Maharashtra and South gypsies are made of Gold so and right now gold prices are too high so couldnt find any good deals locally.

a month passed and i was finally considering Mayapuri gypsies by now but i got lucky and came accross this.

Its a 1997 second owner DL register Gypsy with AC and really ugly hardtop.
monstAr version 1.3-1.jpg  

monstAr version 1.3-2.jpg  

Last edited by pdev29 : 7th January 2011 at 15:49.
Old 7th January 2011, 15:49   #2

Re: monstAr version 1.3

It was really difficult for me to offer the owner before even seeing the car and on the other hand I was not getting time to go to delhi because of work pressure.

Finally mentos kha li aur dimag ki batti ting hui. I called up Ishan aka iraghav asked him to go and check the car.

Next day ishan called and gave a green signal for this one but still my bad luck continued and didnt get any off.

So I asked Ishan to negotiate with the owner and crack the deal. finally this scene got over.

cut 2

How to get the car to mumbai?? i really wanted to drive it but my kalti.com gang acted asusal and it didnt work.

I finally called Harjeev and Harjeev gave me no for a transporter. I called Ishan and finally the car was shipped from there and landed here on 31st Dec.

Finally 2 months drama got over i had my Monstar for new year eve.

Now its time to for Mods and here is the list

First Stage :-

1) GET RID OF THAT TOP - already done
2) Paint - this was acutally not required but while removing the hardtop there was little bit of paint chipped. so its in process
3) Full service - WIP
4) Soft Top

Second Stage :-

SPOA
Anti Axel Wrap
missing link shackel
MT's
Diff Lock
Crawler Gears

Third stage :-

front and rear bumper
winch
Rolllcage

first stage will get over in next 4-5 days, I will try to get the pics and update this thread as soon as i can.

Devang

Last edited by pdev29 : 7th January 2011 at 16:05.
Old 7th January 2011, 15:51   #3

Congratulations! How much did you get her for? 3.5 lakhs? hahahahaha...

She's my drive for OTRs till i get my 4x4. You can sit in the fortuner in the AC during off roading.
Old 7th January 2011, 15:54   #4

I will sell it for 3.5 lac wink.

Sure Tejas you can drive it from Mumbai to OTR spot its all yours. You should have done it with my old one too.

Oh forgot to give you all some update.

I am going to modify my shackels little bit this time, instead of rubber bushing we are planning to use brass and with Anti axel wrap we are planning to fabricate in such a way that we can get little bit of of side movement too.

some mods for sway bar are also planned.

Last edited by pdev29 : 7th January 2011 at 15:58.
Old 7th January 2011, 15:56   #5

Very Nice Devang, I am excited to see how its turns out. Glad you got the top off.

Are you going to paint her yellow too?
Old 7th January 2011, 16:00   #6

Na this one is not getting yellow anywhere on it. mostly i will keep it white only but with some graphics.
Old 7th January 2011, 16:07   #7

Hahahahaaaa yeah how much did u pay?? I'm sure he must have charged you an extra for that hard top!!! Looks very nice though, clean car.
Old 7th January 2011, 16:15   #8

Congrats on the latest Monstar

Whe i read your intro paragraph, i thought u very just referring to the regular hard top, as i personally, did not like it too much. But when i saw this contraption, i almost snorted out laughing.

Am glued to this thread now, as the SUV fire has been burning in me for the last few months
Old 7th January 2011, 16:25   #9

Originally Posted by thedreamcatcher View Post
.....But when i saw this contraption, i almost snorted out laughing....
Same here, and people around me in office wondering what i was upto.

Good thing you had it transported on a truck, wouldn't want to be seen driving such a 'modified' gypsy!

Congratulations on the buy!
Old 7th January 2011, 16:27   #10

Congrats man..!!!!!. Would have preferred if you had gone for mpfi but as you say, they are selling at prices comparable to GOLD.!! Any plans to plonk in a 1.6?

Good you got rid of that HT :-)
Old 7th January 2011, 16:33   #11

Devang - DO NOT do SPOA. You have already seen how little it helped with articulation. It spoils the driveability on the road and stability off-road. Just a shackle lift and leaf-spring work will give you enough clearance.

Rear Differential Lock - GOOD
Crawler Ratios - GOOD
MT Tires - GOOD
Rock Sliders and offroad bumpers - GOOD
Shackle Body Lift and Leaf-Spring work - GOOD

SPOA - BAD!

Go for 235-75-R15 and 7J rims. With 7J already the tire has only mild sidewall curve. Anything bigger and the sidewall will be absolutely straight and the ride quality will suffer (as Samurai mentioned in the tires/rims thread).

You can also get petrol tank, transfer case guard and diff pumpkin protection.
Old 7th January 2011, 16:57   #12

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
Congrats man..!!!!!. Would have preferred if you had gone for mpfi but as you say, they are selling at prices comparable to GOLD.!! Any plans to plonk in a 1.6?

Good you got rid of that HT :-)
2 reasons i didnt buy MPFI

1) out of Budget
2) I intend to submerge this one in water at least once and with ECU its little risky and might turn out and an expensive affair.

Regarding 1.6 Yes i might do it but no in near future.

Originally Posted by gsferrari View Post
Devang - DO NOT do SPOA. You have already seen how little it helped with articulation. It spoils the driveability on the road and stability off-road. Just a shackle lift and leaf-spring work will give you enough clearance.

Rear Differential Lock - GOOD
Crawler Ratios - GOOD
MT Tires - GOOD
Rock Sliders and offroad bumpers - GOOD
Shackle Body Lift and Leaf-Spring work - GOOD

SPOA - BAD!

Go for 235-75-R15 and 7J rims. With 7J already the tire has only mild sidewall curve. Anything bigger and the sidewall will be absolutely straight and the ride quality will suffer (as Samurai mentioned in the tires/rims thread).

You can also get petrol tank, transfer case guard and diff pumpkin protection.
@ Guru

SPOA works and it makes a big difference. Ask allan,Tejas or anyone else.
i was getting articulation on ramp upto 2.5 ft without anti axel wrap and after anti axel wrap it dropped to 2 ft..

Refer to the link

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-v...ar-back-4.html (MonstAr is BACK)

Yes, ride quality will go for toss if you remove the sway bar. we are searching for something on that so we can keep the sway bar too.
If i cant manage to design anything then i have decided to keep the sway bar and only remove it once you reach the OTR spot. it take 15 mins to do this.

I am planning to get Diff guard, TC guard , Tank guard and rock sliders.

Once the vehicle is mumbai registered and passing is done then i will chop rear overhang.
Old 7th January 2011, 17:42   #13

Congrats Bro!

Finally I got the chance to see your 1.3 HT. I would love to talk to this owner/designer who designed this HT. DC should take some advice from him .

Originally Posted by pdev29 View Post
2 reasons i didnt buy MPFI

2) I intend to submerge this one in water at least once and with ECU its little risky and might turn out and an expensive affair.
Dude you can extend the wiring and place the ECU at desired height.

In carb it is more serious issue, you need to seal the Spark plugs, protect the coils & distributor before submerging it into water.
Old 7th January 2011, 17:56   #14

Originally Posted by Crazy4Power View Post
Congrats Bro!

Finally I got the chance to see your 1.3 HT. I would love to talk to this owner/designer who designed this HT. DC should take some advice from him .

Dude you can extend the wiring and place the ECU at desired height.

In carb it is more serious issue, you need to seal the Spark plugs, protect the coils & distributor before submerging it into water.
you get a kit for 5k which will take care of the ignition coil and distributor and normally water wont enter from spark plug.

I have kept my hood and planning to keep it as it is one master piece ever made.
Old 7th January 2011, 18:22   #15

why did u remove the hardtop
its gorgeous