Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 8th February 2011, 21:49   #1

Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413

Hey Guys,
Again I ask myself What have I got myself into THIS TIME?
Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413-101-img_58941.jpg

And this is exactly the kind of question that my family members, friends, neighbors, near and dear ones must be asking themselves. Seriously, what is this guy upto???
  • First he craves for something(Obviously amongst many things, I am talking in context of a vehicle here)
  • Then he goes ahead and buys it,
  • Then, spends his time and dough in bringing it up to shape
  • Later on, as everyone expects, uses it for some time, AND
  • Finally which no one expects or for that matter used to expect, SELLS IT OFF and the circle starts all over again
I know many would be thinking of the above when I am in discussion with my friends about a remote possibility of maybe starting another project. Some have even told me that, ‘Yaar you go ahead buy and restore a vehicle, drive it around, get the teething troubles sorted out and then sell them to us after you’ve used it for a couple of months and had your fill'

he he he

Well this is the kind of reputation that I have earned in my circle of friends as who so ever has known me or followed my blog or threads on various forums knows the above to be true.

Well then, living up to the reputation that I’ve earned I present the following and let time tell whether this too ends up as the previous couple of projects or do I change history.

Till next time, Without any delay YOU CAN NOW SEE, WHAT HAVE I GOT MYSELF INTO, THIS TIME!!!

Click image for larger version

Name:	101 IMG_58941.jpg
Views:	1227
Size:	378.6 KB
ID:	498228

Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413-106-img_59001.jpg

Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413-107-img_5913.jpg

Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413-108-img_5914.jpg

Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413-109-img_5911.jpg

Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413-110-img_5909.jpg

Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413-112-img_5922.jpg

Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413-112-img_5923.jpg

Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413-112img_5915.jpg
Old 8th February 2011, 21:59   #2

Re: What have I got myself into THIS TIME?

looks like one liter MG 410 W.

costs nothing & a great vehicle for all kinds of mods.

BTW are you planning for its heart transplant?
1.3 MPFI, 1.6 MPFI, DDIS, ISUZU P, ISUZU D?

please update ASAP cause i too have one MG 410.
so i can copy.. ahh i mean to say is, get inspired by your project.

Last edited by jeepster : 8th February 2011 at 22:21.
Old 8th February 2011, 22:42   #3

Hai Harjeev,

Been following your actions here and at Facebook. Greatly interested to see what you're up to with this piece. If you remember, I'm still chasing a Gypsy King, hopefully won't be long...

--Ramky
=====
Old 8th February 2011, 23:25   #4

There goes Harjeev again.

All the best for your project. Why a Gypsy again and not something more exotic? This should be easy for you since you have restored one earlier.
Old 9th February 2011, 01:07   #5

Wheels on the car are gorgeous. I reckon they are doing duty on your CJ as of now.
Old 9th February 2011, 05:22   #6

I don't know how bad is the rust on the major underbody components, but otherwise it looks like a good project vehicle that should turn out well.
Old 9th February 2011, 07:51   #7

The car seems to be in good nick overall. The exterior shell has rusted a bit badly, probably been sitting outside in the rain for quite some time. Hope the underbody is not any worse than this.

@harjeev

1 question, what's with all the horns in the engine bay???!!!
Old 9th February 2011, 09:27   #8

Originally Posted by julupani View Post

Ha, tell me that. I was wondering how cam a Gypsy bay is so "full"

Harjeev, congrats.
Old 9th February 2011, 09:36   #9

Hey Harjeev,
So, finally the thread is out! Congrats!
I smell some wicked plans on this one, what say?
Deepak
Old 9th February 2011, 10:13   #10

Originally Posted by jeepster View Post
looks like one liter MG 410 W.

costs nothing & a great vehicle for all kinds of mods.

BTW are you planning for its heart transplant?
1.3 MPFI, 1.6 MPFI, DDIS, ISUZU P, ISUZU D?

please update ASAP cause i too have one MG 410.
so i can copy.. ahh i mean to say is, get inspired by your project.
Thanks Buddy. I definitely have some plans for a heart transplant on this and will be continuing with the story soon.

Originally Posted by ramkya1 View Post
Hai Harjeev,

Been following your actions here and at Facebook. Greatly interested to see what you're up to with this piece. If you remember, I'm still chasing a Gypsy King, hopefully won't be long...

--Ramky
=====
Thanks Ramky.
Regarding your search of a Gypsy king Have a look at FK7's thread. That vehicle was build from scratch and has come out really well to do the 3000 kms+ trip, immediately after a rebuild. In my opinion this speaks loads about the workmanship.
Best of luck with your search.
Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
There goes Harjeev again.

All the best for your project. Why a Gypsy again and not something more exotic? This should be easy for you since you have restored one earlier.
Thanks a lot devdath.
I didn't restore a gypsy previously. The one that I had earlier was a civilian vehicle and in the most pristine on condition. Was really sad to have it let go but I was out of option as I wanted dough for the TLC.
Originally Posted by autoholic View Post
Wheels on the car are gorgeous. I reckon they are doing duty on your CJ as of now.
That's right.

BTW I cannot reconnect you handle with you real name. Can you please PM me your email id so that we can connect on FB or otherwise.
Originally Posted by VCheng View Post
I don't know how bad is the rust on the major underbody components, but otherwise it looks like a good project vehicle that should turn out well.
Thanks VCheng.
The rust on the outside is quite bad, visibly and so is the underbody but not as bad as on the outside. Will post pictures of everything in the coming weeks.
Originally Posted by julupani View Post
The car seems to be in good nick overall. The exterior shell has rusted a bit badly, probably been sitting outside in the rain for quite some time. Hope the underbody is not any worse than this.
This has given me a good base to start.

@harjeev

hehehe thats a story that I would be clarifying in the next post
Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Ha, tell me that. I was wondering how cam a Gypsy bay is so "full"

Harjeev, congrats.
Thanks a lot mjothi
Originally Posted by starter View Post
Hey Harjeev,
So, finally the thread is out! Congrats!
I smell some wicked plans on this one, what say?
Deepak
Hi Deepak
Not toooo wicked, remember I like to keep all my vehicle as stock as possible, Reason: so that in case of any emergency, it can be looked into at any remote place.
Old 9th February 2011, 10:50   #11

Two things I notice:
1. Gypsy doesn't have brake booster, is it missing or its not there by default ?
2. You have got a nice auto blog there! Get a nice top level domain for it!!

Looking forward for restoration pics
Old 9th February 2011, 15:00   #12

Originally Posted by Hashim View Post
1. Gypsy doesn't have brake booster, is it missing or its not there by default ?

Gypsies do not come with a break booster they are after market addons.

Harjeev, could you please PM me the price you paid for this one, I am looking for one myself.

Pramod
Old 10th February 2011, 04:54   #13

re: Story of my Gypsy's transformation Journey from a MG410 to a MG413

only the MPFI's gypsies had brake boosters by default.

i have seen this vehicle in person, what have you gotten yourself into harjeev?
Old 10th February 2011, 20:35   #14

Hi Harjeev,
May I know what the damages were? Because I just sold mine (410, not W, Factory fitted hardtop and A/C).

Sutripta
Old 11th February 2011, 12:13   #15

Harjeev,

Good luck with your upgrades on gypsy. Suggestion go for 1.6 ltr baleno engine and King gearbox. Best combination one can ask for .
dwaraka is offline   (1) Thanks