Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 3rd March 2011, 19:28   #46

Re: A CJ5 for Bangalore ? -- Is this a good buy

^^ Feel free to post any details of the elusive CJ5 in this thread, should be documented well.
Old 4th March 2011, 01:50   #47

Another repro I spotted today when I was having my jeep was getting some minor works done up, seller quoting 4.5 lac which he says negotiable as far as originality is concerned...No single part is original Cj5/7.
A CJ5 for Bangalore ? -- Is this a good buy-spm_a0260.jpg  

A CJ5 for Bangalore ? -- Is this a good buy-spm_a0261.jpg  

A CJ5 for Bangalore ? -- Is this a good buy-spm_a0263.jpg  

A CJ5 for Bangalore ? -- Is this a good buy-spm_a0262.jpg  

Old 8th March 2011, 14:54   #48

@Kumar:
Hope this info helps you in identifying a the CJ-5's around:

CJ-5 (76-83) AMC.
Round Headlights, wheelbase 84", rounded front fenders, door opening is an inverted S shape. Windshield more sloped and flat accross the top. Frame widens after the rear of the front wheels. Fully boxed frame which widens in the rear. Front disc brake option in 77, standard 78 and up. 76-78 have 11" rear drum brakes, 79 and up have 10". Locking steering column with optional tilt wheel. Factory front sway bar. Special models offered Levi's edition, Laredo, Golden Eagle and Renegade.82 CJ-5

Engines - 4cyl(AMC150, GM150), 6cyl(232, 258), V8(304).
Transmissions - 3sp(T150), 4sp(T18, T176, SR4).
Transfer cases - Dana20, Dana300.
Front axle - Dana 30, Rear axle - AMC20.

CJ-5 (72-75) AMC.
Round Headlights, wheelbase 84", rounded front fenders, door opening is an inverted S shape. First Jeep with Saginaw steering and optional power steering. Windshield angle steeper and wiper motor on the outside also windshield frame has a rounded top. Frame is straight front to back. Special models offered Super Jeep and Renegade.
Bill Graham's 74 CJ-5
Engines - 6cyl(232, 258), V8(304).
Transmissions - 3sp(T15), 4sp(T18).
Transfer case - Dana20.
Front axle - Dana30, Rear axle - Dana44.
madhkris is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2011, 22:10   #49

Hi! All,

If you have been thinking why the sudden silence on my passion well.. here's the reason --

I had seen a orange CJ5 with an original petrol engine but in 2WD mode some time back @ a local dealer close to my place when queried i was quoted 4.5 Lakhs.
This Jeep went missing after a few days, this was way back in 2010 maybe about 6 months now. You ask so ??
I happened to visit this place again & was made to understand that there were lot of enquirers for the Jeep & the prospective customers were quoting less than a Lakh so the owner of the Used Car dealership took it home to avoid unwanted queries.
So whatz next ? well am set to meet the owner soon (how soon ? no idea ) & in the mean time am trying to loop in friends / relatives who know the owner so i have a better chance to get it home hopefully @ a good price.

I will get the Jeep validated from all the gurus here & Fazal Sir who is a treasure trove on Jeep-tech before i make the final call.
There will be some delay in the entire process but am confident that this dream will be turning into reality :-)
Wish me All the Luck possible.

Thanks & Regards,
Kumar

Last edited by catchkumar : 10th March 2011 at 22:11.
Old 10th March 2011, 22:18   #50

^ How do you plan to make it a 4wd?