Old 1st January 2012, 22:15   #16

re: The Team-BHP Photo Gallery!

Great way to start off the new year!

Couple of Ideas/Suggestions:
1) Permanent link on the forum page to access the Gallery

2) Like the Attachment link against the thread listing in sub-forums showing photos only in that thread

3) Further filtering options under Category

4) the one from vrrraju's suggestion, selector for number of thumbnails.
ajitkumarlb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 09:27   #17

Way to go mods!! A big thanks to you on behalf of all.

It is a really great feature and that's what makes T-BHP the best thread for petrol heads. This is a very useful for all enthusiasts...

6Lac+ is an amazing collection. Wonder what lies next!!!

Wishing all T-BHPians a very happy and prosperous New Year and great miles ahead...
Old 2nd January 2012, 10:56   #18

At the risk of getting an infraction for posting a one-liner, I must say that's a supercool feature. Hats off to the person(s) who thought of adding this feature!
Old 2nd January 2012, 11:37   #19

There is a popular saying (or maybe not ) and it goes like: "Pictures speak louder than words.."

You've taken that phrase to a whole new level, now with the introduction of this fantastic feature. Thank you T-BHP Support for this feature. Another feather in a cap that now resembles a peacock's plumage, I would imagine. *winks*

A big *thumbs up* to the Support-Team.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 2nd January 2012 at 11:38.
Old 2nd January 2012, 12:03   #20

Supercool feature, guys! Tried it for TBHP stickers and Travelogues and it's quite spiffy! Congrats Rehaan and team!
Old 2nd January 2012, 12:21   #21

When the question was posed on Twitter to guess the number of photos uploaded to our servers, I somehow expected it to be around the 600,000 mark!

What a lovely little feature that is! Congrats to the mods team.

Wishing all a Happy and Prosperous new year. Drive safe all!
Old 2nd January 2012, 12:26   #22

i just realized an additional benefit from this - to check if your car has been spotted, one can just scan through the Photo Gallery and if posted, then click on the View Discussion and follow up. i think this would be less time consuming as compared browsing through the spotting thread!

um.. am i getting the Nobel Prize?
IronH4WK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 12:27   #23

This is a very good addition to the forum. Now we can go directly to the pics, without going through the Forum. Very helpful when we want to look for MODS for our cars.

Wishing Everyone at Team-Bhp a Very Happy New Year.
Old 2nd January 2012, 13:28   #24

Originally Posted by blue_pulsar View Post
I believe this functionality will be more useful if used within a thread.
As mentioned earlier, we are hoping to integrating a gallery-view for each individual thread.

Originally Posted by blue_pulsar View Post
Click on any image within a thread, hit left/right key to view prev/next image within that thread. Will be useful for travelogues.
This is an interesting thought! (ie, instead of scrolling down to see photos and captions, BHPians could insert a small "slideshow" at various points in their thread, containing pictures and captions).

Originally Posted by bala80 View Post
Will this be extended to the mobile t-bhp app as well?
Though we haven't started any work on this as yet, we'd definitely like to integrate it somehow.

Originally Posted by vrrraju View Post
Suggestion: Can you please provide a selectable option to display number of images per page like 12/25/50.
Noted. In fact a few DBHPians did mention this earlier too. Thanks.

Originally Posted by ajitkumarlb View Post
1) Permanent link on the forum page to access the Gallery
This will be added real soon.

2) Like the Attachment link against the thread listing in sub-forums showing photos only in that thread
See my reply to blue_pulsar above.

3) Further filtering options under Category
A keyword search within selected categories would indeed be good to have (similar to the forum advanced search).

Originally Posted by honeybee View Post
Hats off to the person(s) who thought of adding this feature!
Credit to several members and mods who have all described something along similar lines over the years. This gallery is parts of all those ideas and suggestions clubbed together!

Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
i just realized an additional benefit from this
Figured you would !

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 2nd January 2012 at 13:30.
Rehaan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 14:55   #25

Well, in that case, 2012 is something to look forward too.

Great work by the TBHP admins
Old 2nd January 2012, 16:04   #26

This is great. Sometimes, we have to dig around quite a lot to see pics of our favorite cars. This feature greatly simplifies that.
Old 2nd January 2012, 18:13   #27

Rehaan and Co.
This is brilliant stuff.

I understand, 6,00,000 (6 lakh) images from 2008 onwards and that's cool.

When you want to upgrade this, check if these additions add value:
  1. Some more category listings viz:
    • By Car Segment - A, B, C etc
    • By Ownership Reviews, By Test Drive Reviews etc
    • By Year
  2. An option to customize / set no. of images displayed. Currently it displays 12 images per page (4 X 3)
  3. Will the navigation pane look better on the LHS?
  4. Bookmarking feature for images of choice.
This is nice and hope the entire user community @ Team-BHP makes great use of it and gets the best out of it.

C_
Old 2nd January 2012, 18:21   #28

Thanx, Rehaan. You have done a good job. Appreciate the effort put in by you and the team.
Old 2nd January 2012, 23:17   #29

Wooow. I am amazed and actually was wanting something like this for a long time. Very good work and this will definitely go a long way in this making this forum even better.
Old 3rd January 2012, 00:23   #30

Rehan and team. This is simply amazing. I had to make a guess or do a random search for specific photos but this makes our life way easier! Great job guys, as usual!