Team-BHP > Team-BHP Directory > Bangalore

Old 28th September 2014, 14:52   #1

Multi-brand Car Servicing & Repairs - Bay 6 Motorworks (Bangalore)

Multibrand Car servicing specialising in engine remaps for diesel cars and engine rebuilds for 1st-gen Honda City Vtecs.

The guys who started this are TBHPians but inactive as of now. The guy I interacted with was Venkat who is kind of a walking Bible on Honda cars and technology. I barely understand half of what he says. I just nod my head pretending to be uber cool and understanding. Occasionally I do ask him some questions when I am feel there is a chance I can learn something.

I called him a few days in advance and sent a mail to bay6motors@gmail.com with the details of my 1 Lakh service and what parts need to be changed. He arranged for it in a couple of days and I took an appointment for Friday.

Landed there and immediately they started the work. Draining engine oil, cleaning air filter (they couldnt source the original air filter), replacing oil filter, checking suspension, replacing spark plugs, took about 2 hours. Then we waitef for a long time for the engine to cool down to check the valve clearance and adjust it. Then engine oil was topped up and wiper blades replaced and I was good to go.

Frankly, if not for the Valve Clearance, I would have been out of there in less than 3 hours.

They also checked the suspension and found a lot of play in the tie rod ends and ball joints. With my limited knowledge I understood it has to be replaced. They will source the parts and give me a call and I will have to take my car back in.

Overall, a fantastic experience. I was very upset with Magnum Honda and didnt want to go back there. So, I am very happy at having found a far better alternative.

My car feels perfect now. It had become a bit rough because I hadnt change the engine oil for 18000 kms and the valves needed adjusting after 1,00,000 kms. Now it revs like it's barely run in!

I paid 14,079/- for the entire service.

4k for Honda branded NGK Iridium Spark Plugs
4k for Engine oil
600 something for AC filter. This is normally missing in a Civic but I got it installed this time.
1k for wiper blades

Then some for labour, tappet adjustment, oil filter, etc...

I dont think it's more expensive than Honda but even if it is, it's a small premium and totally worth it.

Products sold:

Not much. They can source anything you want though. Wiper blades, engine oil, oil filters, air filters, spare parts, etc...

Services offered:

Engine remapping, normal car servicing, engine rebuilds, etc...

What I like:

Honest fellows. If they are charging a small premium on a particular part, they tell you why it is so.

What I don't like:

Their supply chain still needs some work. Some parts take time to procure. But this is not a big deal if you can inform them in advance instead of just dropping in. Do keep in mind that they source original parts through their channels and this can be a slightly time consuming affair.

This is not a place you can go to in a hurry to replace a part.

Speciality / USP:

Attention to detail and customised service. They dont do large volumes so your car gets the attention it deserves.

Technical knowledge of the guys running the place is pretty good.

Contact Information

Bay6 Motorworks
Hosa Rd, Kasavanahalli
Bengaluru, Karnataka 560035

http://goo.gl/VSIhbs

bay6motors@gmail.com

Disclaimer: While the owners/partners are my friends and the trust I had in them is the reason I went there to begin with, my review is not biased in any way. I really did not find much to complain as I had explained all my requirements beforehand.

As with anything in the real world, your mileage may vary.

Last edited by GTO : 29th September 2014 at 16:47. Reason: 1st-gen Honda City Vtec :)
Nikhilb2008 is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 28th September 2014, 15:36   #2

re: Multi-brand Car Servicing & Repairs - Bay 6 Motorworks (Bangalore)

I got my Figo remapped from them about a year ago. Absolutely awesome service and they were never hesitant to fine tune my map infinite number of times, on several occasions till I got the setup I wanted. It's been over 25k kms now, and I'm loving every bit of it.

I've driven figo's with maps from several tuners and by far this is the best!!

I haven't got any mechanical work done from them, since I'm not in Blr, but I would recommend their remaps any day!!
JayD is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 29th September 2014, 10:23   #3

re: Multi-brand Car Servicing & Repairs - Bay 6 Motorworks (Bangalore)

I'm another one of their customers. Got my car remapped by them (Link here), and I love every bit of it. They're good in what they do, as those running the show are passionate and knowledgeable.

Last edited by Aditya : 20th August 2015 at 07:20. Reason: Fixing broken link
silversteed is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th September 2014, 19:00   #4

Re: Multi-brand Car Servicing & Repairs - Bay 6 Motorworks (Bangalore)

I wanted to write about them but for lack of time!

I have been one of their happy customers. The VGT on my Verna was replaced and they procured a brand new genuine turbocharger for me at a significantly lower price than the Hyundai A.S.S.

Owned by a bunch of active plus inactive TBhpians as OP mentioned. Knowledgeable, dedicated, organized and transparent! Overall, extremely happy with the service!

Last edited by Added_flavor : 30th September 2014 at 19:01.
Added_flavor is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th March 2015, 18:38   #5

Thanks Nikhil, I have visited Bay6 yesterday. I never knew my old tbhp friend had started such a venture, Getting in touch with him back after a long time, had a lot of chit chat while the work was going on.

I went for a clutch change for my Civic. It was promptly attended to, and work done with great attention to details.

The OEM stock clutch had done 125K Kms and was almost dead when I went in Was replaced with an Exedy Daikin Clutch set. Car is butter smooth now, and a little bit of eeny weeny rattle I was irritated about was also attended to my satisfaction.

In the end I was one satisfied customer

Costs Clutch Set - 5200 + taxes
Release bearing - 1250+taxes
Labour - 2500 + taxes.

My search for a friendly neighborhood garage has ended with a friend's neighborhood garage

Last edited by laluks : 15th March 2015 at 18:41.
laluks is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2015, 11:25   #6

After my original post, I've been there one again to get the suspension components changed.

Was in and out of there in 2 hours flat. The driving time totalled 4 hours though!

However, it is a testament to my happiness with the team at Bay 6 that I still find it worthwhile to go there.

An added bonus is the Roast Pork at La Casa which is a stone's throw from Bay 6.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th March 2015, 17:51   #7

My turn to experience Bay6 hospitality Had some nicks and knacks was to be done , as well as ordered a K&N filter. Hopefully should be fitted this saturday. Spick and span work floor .
Old 25th March 2015, 10:39   #8

Folks, For some reason I could not locate any phone numbers to call to reach them for any query or to schedule an appointment.

Could any of you kindly post a phone number? For Venkat perhaps as I have Civic that needs attention soon.

Old 25th March 2015, 11:21   #9

Originally Posted by nareshtrao View Post
Could any of you kindly post a phone number?
Jeboy (shop manager): 8095869480
Jaguar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th March 2015, 11:22   #10

Originally Posted by nareshtrao View Post
Folks, For some reason I could not locate any phone numbers to call to reach them for any query or to schedule an appointment.

Could any of you kindly post a phone number? For Venkat perhaps as I have Civic that needs attention soon.
Follow the link below:
https://goo.gl/maps/ogCir

Bay6 Motorworks
Hosa Road
Kasavanahalli
Bengaluru, Karnataka 560035

+91 74113 81001

Not sure if Venkat is still around at Bay6, but their quality of work remains excellent
silversteed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th March 2015, 11:25   #11

https://www.facebook.com/Code6Tuning/info?tab=page_info
Old 13th July 2015, 14:29   #12

I need to get the scratches/dents on my SX4 bumper fixed. I had a good experience at Carz Bellandur about a year ago, but now they seem very disinterested and its a pain to elicit a response from them. So I am tempted to go elsewhere.

Is "Bay6 Motorworks" good at body works also (like dent removal, bumper painting, etc), or are they primarily a mechanical repair shop. Any testimonies?
Old 14th July 2015, 18:06   #13

Originally Posted by vharihar View Post
Is "Bay6 Motorworks" good at body works also (like dent removal, bumper painting, etc), or are they primarily a mechanical repair shop. Any testimonies?
They have a good denter & painter.
Old 30th May 2016, 22:45   #14

Originally Posted by vharihar View Post
I need to get the scratches/dents on my SX4 bumper fixed. I had a good experience at Carz Bellandur about a year ago, but now they seem very disinterested and its a pain to elicit a response from them. So I am tempted to go elsewhere.

HI, did you use the denting and painting services of Bay6? Any experience to share?
Old 31st May 2016, 10:01   #15

Originally Posted by kmadhok View Post
HI, did you use the denting and painting services of Bay6? Any experience to share?
No, i didnt use it. I eventually got a good deal at Maruti dealership itself.
vharihar is offline   (1) Thanks