Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Bicycles

Search this Thread
Old 19th November 2019, 14:37   #4441
BHPian

Re: The Bicycles thread

Not old enough to get my driving license yet, so my primary means of commute is still a bicycle! My first cycle as far as I remember was a BSA champ. It did not last very long before I graduated to a Firefox Raider which was my first geared bicycle. It came with 6 gears and with insanely powerful brakes compared to the BSA. I distinctly remember that I almost did a nose dive into the pavement on a downward slope after pulling the front brakes with the same force as for the BSA. The Raider did a good job and after a while I had to upgrade to a bigger bike as I was growing fast. The Decathlon stores intrigued me and after paying them a visit, I was really impressed with the quality of Btwin bikes. Got a Btwin Rockrider 5.1 which was an amazing choice. It had 21 gears and nothing too fancy. Came with a solid frame, lifetime warranty and peace of mind. Only caveat was that it had gripshifters which I changed to paddles later. It served for a good 8 years with no issues whatsoever. And now(about 6 months back), I decided to go for a proper mountain bike which feels like an upgrade even from the Btwin.