Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Bicycles

Search this Thread
Old 3rd May 2021, 00:26   #5581
BHPian

Re: The Bicycles thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by snr View Post
Hi guys, any good recommendations for a cycle? Primary use is within city limits.
Bicycles you get in various price classes. As a beginner, I would suggest to look for a hybrid bike with enough gears (10-14) to ride in comfort. If you are a beginner who wants to commute within city, look for less expensive brands offered by stores like track and trail, decathlon, choose my bicycles etc. Once you feel comfortable commuting on bicycle, then later upgrade if needed.

Height and inseam lengths are the most important for getting the right fit for a bicycle. Some manufacturers specify sizes as S,M,L etc. and some others in cms (of seat tube length). Best is to try test riding it at a shop one size more and one less to get a good feel of what suits you.

Success with your search. And post a pic or review here, when you get one. And welcome to team-bhp!

Last edited by carthick1000 : 3rd May 2021 at 00:29. Reason: Typo corrected
carthick1000 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2021, 11:59   #5582
snr
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by carthick1000 View Post
Bicycles you get in various price classes. As a beginner, I would suggest to look for a hybrid bike with enough gears (10-14) to ride in comfort. If you are a beginner who wants to commute within city, look for less expensive brands offered by stores like track and trail, decathlon, choose my bicycles etc. Once you feel comfortable commuting on bicycle, then later upgrade if needed.

Height and inseam lengths are the most important for getting the right fit for a bicycle. Some manufacturers specify sizes as S,M,L etc. and some others in cms (of seat tube length). Best is to try test riding it at a shop one size more and one less to get a good feel of what suits you.