Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Bicycles

Old 4th October 2019, 18:31   #1

Greenvolt Mantis Electric Bicycle launched at Rs 35,000

Ahmedabad based start-up Greenvolt Mobility has launched an electric bicycle, called Mantis at Rs. 35,000.

Suited for city runabouts, this ARAI certified bicycle comes with fatter tyres, a digital instrument console (speed, batt, odo), cruise control, front/rear disc brakes, led headlight, flashing red led taillight and what looks like a larger & more comfortable seat. Has no pedals, so forward motion is pure electric.

Plan is to launch it first in Ahmedabad & then move to other major cities. They are calling it the #nochallanbike as it does not require any registration, PUC or a licence to use.

The specifications look interesting:
  • Electricity consumption: 0.7 units/charge, which translates to ~Rs. 5
  • Charging time: 2.5 hours
  • Range: 50 kms
  • Payload capacity: 100 kgs
  • Lifetime warranty on motor & controller, 2 yr warranty on the 48v 14.5Ah Li-ion battery. All three are waterproof
  • Colors: Green & Orange

You can visit their website at http://www.greenvoltmobility.com/ and also pre-register your interest.

I feel its a good balance between features, price and looks. What about you?
McLaren Roxx is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 4th October 2019, 20:07   #2

Re: Greenvolt Mantis Electric Bicycle launched at Rs 35,000

I like it. Not sure why they didn't give it any suspension.
Are those chunky tyres good at absorbing bumps?

At 35k and 2 year battery warranty , this does look like a good offer.

Last edited by silverado : 4th October 2019 at 20:13.
silverado is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th October 2019, 20:09   #3

Originally Posted by silverado View Post
+1. I paid more than 35k for my cycle and it doesn't even have a motor!
blackwasp is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 4th October 2019, 21:01   #4

I like it. Not sure why they didn't give it any suspension. Are those chunky tyres good at absorbing bumps?
Looks awesome, good warranty, at a great price. Hopefully there is the regular tube for the seat, and one can install seats with a cushy spring. Hard tails are hard on the back. A hard front would be very hard on the shoulders- especially riding over bumps and potholes.
GutsyGibbon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th October 2019, 21:26   #5

The bike looks good and funky.

This must be in the same category as in Yulu Miracle. Miracle is available for rent in many places Bangalore. As my office is in Outer ring road area, I see people using it often.

But it is hazardous for the rider, is what I feel.
First it does not need helmet. Just because it moves slow does not mean a speeding vehicle will not hit it. The no helmet needed rule seems ridiculous when riding on main roads. Almost all cyclists wear helmets these days.

Second its speed is so low, it cannot keep up with other vehicles. This slows down all the vehicles trailing it and it can cause drivers to get irritated. I have often seen taxi drivers cursing them for being slow.

However Mantis and the likes has good potential on off street residential areas.
fordday is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th October 2019, 09:32   #6

I like it. Not sure why they didn't give it any suspension.
Are those chunky tyres good at absorbing bumps?

Probably it would make the frame a little bit more complex? Reserved for v2 maybe?
Those tyres are extremely high profile. They should do a good job at absorbing road imperfections to a great extent.

Originally Posted by blackwasp View Post
+1. I paid more than 35k for my cycle and it doesn't even have a motor!
Originally Posted by GutsyGibbon View Post
Looks awesome, good warranty, at a great price. Hopefully there is the regular tube for the seat, and one can install seats with a cushy spring. Hard tails are hard on the back. A hard front would be very hard on the shoulders- especially riding over bumps and potholes.
Exactly, at 35k, with the features & warranty, it looks like a great deal.

I'm sure you'll be able to get an add-on aftermarket seat cushion, seats do look comfortable though.

Last edited by McLaren Roxx : 8th October 2019 at 09:33.
McLaren Roxx is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th October 2019, 12:22   #7

I am confused. Is this a bicycle or a light weight moped like yesteryear's luna and others? Not once in the video the presenter shows using it's pedals. At 45 kgs. is this not heavy as a bicycle and the tyres are too broad for pedalling? I haven't cycled in nearly 2 decades and have no idea how much modern bike weigh? I am eagerly contemplating getting a good e-cycle for my commute of 20kms. of to and fro to my office for 1 or 2 days weekly.

Any ideas or suggestions?
Old 12th October 2019, 22:24   #8

Interesting product. I would buy one if i need a bicycle at my hometown where the terrain has lots of ups and downs. The price is comparable to my existing bicycle (that is not moved from last 5-6 months).

2-3 years back i read an article about a motored bicycle wheel (something like this ).
This wheel contains battery and motor inside a concealed wheel (The one saw in the article had no spokes). We can just replace the front wheel of the bicycle with this wheel. The remote can be attached to the handle. So, you can have your existing bicycle converted to an electric powered without any problem.
Old 12th October 2019, 23:06   #9

The tires are too BIG but it looks attractive overall. I think this can work in India.

Far better than the really ugly and jugaad e-hiran costing 38k which is used by Swiggy and Zomato.

http://www.ehiran.in/
Greenvolt Mantis Electric Bicycle launched at Rs 35,000-hiran.jpg

Originally Posted by McLaren Roxx View Post
Ahmedabad based start-up Greenvolt Mobility has launched an electric bicycle, called Mantis at Rs. 35,000.

Suited for city runabouts, this ARAI certified bicycle comes with fatter tyres, a digital instrument console (speed, batt, odo), cruise control, front/rear disc brakes, led headlight, flashing red led taillight and what looks like a larger & more comfortable seat. Has no pedals, so forward motion is pure electric.

I feel its a good balance between features, price and looks. What about you?
Old 12th October 2019, 23:40   #10

Originally Posted by Sran View Post
I am confused. Is this a bicycle or a light weight moped like yesteryear's luna and others? Not once in the video the presenter shows using it's pedals. At 45 kgs. is this not heavy as a bicycle and the tyres are too broad for pedalling? I haven't cycled in nearly 2 decades and have no idea how much modern bike weigh? I am eagerly contemplating getting a good e-cycle for my commute of 20kms. of to and fro to my office for 1 or 2 days weekly.

Any ideas or suggestions?
This is categorised as a bicycle, without pedals. Purely electrically powered.
I think this should suit your requirement perfectly.
Old 13th October 2019, 09:03   #11

Even if it has 30km real world range, this would be SO SO good for our urban short commutes. 35K is a steal. There is a lot of scope for improvements too, TVS XL retails for almost the same price, but it has working suspension, is road legal and most importantly, it has registration and insurance.

Hope company sells enough to get more funding for even better product. They might have the skills to make a proper electric Motorcycle for a Lakh.
giri1.8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th October 2019, 13:50   #12

Originally Posted by McLaren Roxx View Post
This is categorised as a bicycle, without pedals. Purely electrically powered.
I think this should suit your requirement perfectly.
Then it's of no use. A real e-scooty will be better and safe than this, if price is not a concern and if price is a concern then for rs 30,000 it is good. I am thinking about a real bicycle with both pedals and batteries.

After reading this thread yesterday I came across same from hero cycles brand named "Lectro". It's a proper cycle with battery. I couldn't find any user review nor any expert review about it but I think this type of product suits my need. No idea if it's even in production or not.
Sran is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th October 2019, 18:39   #13

Originally Posted by Sran View Post
After reading this thread yesterday I came across same from hero cycles brand named "Lectro". It's a proper cycle with battery. I couldn't find any user review nor any expert review about it but I think this type of product suits my need.
xbhp has a review of one of their models. There is also https://lightspeed.bike/ who have a few models where batteries are fitted to actual bicycles giving it a pedal-assist kind of feature. At around 22 kilos, they are not exactly light but they are in the range of the traditional roadster bicycles from the likes of Hercules.

Originally Posted by fordday View Post
Second its speed is so low, it cannot keep up with other vehicles. This slows down all the vehicles trailing it and it can cause drivers to get irritated.
I think even the rider himself (at least I would be) will be irritated sitting on a motor vehicle that maxes out at 25 KMPH. Pedalling a bike manually at 20 KMPH is one thing but sitting on a motor vehicle just wringing the throttle at those speeds will make me feel irritated when every one else on the road is doing 45 KMPH.
Old 17th October 2019, 11:03   #14

Without pedals it doesn't make sense to me i mean in case the battery discharges i dont want to be stranded and need a way to move ahead , also mostly people prefer the battery to be available for hill climbs ,rest they can pedal.
Ideally we should have dynamo based cycles which won't need charging , am a fan of the dynamo torch and hope dynamo based cycles also come up soon .

Like this one - Dynamo Cycle
Old 17th October 2019, 12:06   #15

Given that we drive at 10 Kmph in Bengaluru, 25 Kmph speed is more than enough ! But then everyone needs to use these so that we atleast ride in pollution free environment. Should be made mandatory for people using vehicles to office

If you need more speed, you should be able to switch to manual pedal mode I want to try and buy the Lectro, really makes sense since its inexpensive. I guess these bikes do not have regenerative mode with pedalling. Helps to burn some calories.

Last edited by srishiva : 17th October 2019 at 12:08.