Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Bicycles

Old 9th August 2023, 22:52   #1

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders

The project generated from an Idea after watching 14 peaks on netflix after doing Guiness record of Umlingla last year.

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-img20220903wa0025.jpg

List of passes done in 11 months on tandem with various co-riders:

• Zojila - 11649ft - unsupported
• Namikla - 12198ft - unsupported
• Fotula - 13479ft - unsupported
• Norbula - 16991ft - unsupported
• Umlingla - 19007ft - unsupported
• Nathu la - 14,106ft - support car
• Chelela - Bhutan - 13083ft - support car
• Dochula - Bhutan -10,170ft - support car
• Pele la - Bhutan - 11,154ft - support car
• Rohtang la - 13,000ft - support car - 2 woman team
• Baralacha la - 16,500ft - support car - 2 woman team
• Nakee la- 15,547ft - support car- 2 woman team
• Khardung la - 17,580ft - self supported
• Chang la - 17,688ft - self supported - 2 woman team

Categories
High altitude: 8,000 - 12,000 feet (2,438 - 3,658 meters);
Very high altitude: 12,000 - 18,000 feet (3,658 - 5,487 meters); and
Extremely high altitude: 18,000+ feet (5,500+ meters).

Challenges
Long bike and entry level bike, was supported by Polygon India.

Mostly passes have unpredictable weather and permit issues , also tandem is two people so finding correct match who will like this, will have time / funds is very difficult. Many coriders helped. Did last four passes with female riders and it was challenging but rewarding. Included passes like Nathula , permits took four months and could do three from Bhutan too, which was lifetime experience.

Adding few more pictures of each pass, around the pass, road conditions etc.

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-img20230719wa0005.jpg

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-img20230731wa0004.jpg

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-img20220824wa0010.jpg

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-img20220824wa0020.jpg

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-img20220905wa0063.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 24th August 2023 at 13:13. Reason: Moving 1 pic closer to the top :)
MeMo is offline   (26) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2023, 19:24   #2

re: Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Bicycle section. Thanks for sharing!
Old 23rd August 2023, 21:36   #3

re: Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders

Wow, quite a feat. Congratulations!
Would you share more details/specs/pictures about the frame please? Is it custom made one-off or they plan to produce this?
amol4184 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2023, 21:53   #4

Hello Amol, thanks.

I was very fortunate to have support from the Polygon team. These are entry-level. The MRP is Rs. 52,000. Our bike is one size. Many companies like Co-Motion, etc., can custom make one for around 3 lakhs. We had legs instead. It is approximately 8 feet long and without bags, the unladen weight is around 23 kg. With bags, since many rides were unsupported, it was a 32 kg thing.

The rider in the front needs good control and the rider behind needs good trust and leg power. The ground clearance is very low. The chain, which is connecting, slips and sags many times during high-altitude climbing. Spokes breaking is another issue due to the long frame. But in the end, it is all worth it. A tandem is 2 people sharing one frame, one dream and one goal.

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-20230715_052722.jpg

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-20230711_162629.jpg

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-20230714_162617.jpg

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-20230701_115108.jpg

Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders-20230627_182028.jpg

Last edited by Aditya : 24th August 2023 at 19:11. Reason: Merging text from both posts together; edited for better readability
MeMo is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 25th August 2023, 07:56   #5

Re: Tandem Cycling: 14 mountain passes done in 11 months with various co-riders

Nice! Thanks for the details. The two problems you mentioned - chain and spokes are mostly not because of the long frame but as you said in the end its all worth it. All the best wishes for future travels!
Old 25th August 2023, 11:37   #6

Hi Amol, chain is a connecting one not a gear one. It slips due to difference in pedalling and sags due to tension. Spokes yeah, a lot of us have experienced on back wheel due to top tube weight. Who else can say this better than me, having done almost 18,000 kms on this in the last 5 years. Cheers!

Last edited by libranof1987 : 25th August 2023 at 16:03. Reason: Post formatting
MeMo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th August 2023, 11:46   #7

Originally Posted by MeMo View Post
Hi Amol , chain is connecting one not the gear one , slips due to diffrence in pedaling and sag due to tension. Spokes yeah , lot of us have experienced on back wheel due to top tube weight . who can tell better , after me doing almost 18,000 kms on this in last 5 years.cheers !
Lovely ride and achievements. But I'm curious, and I hope this is not a personal question. Usually tandems are preferred by old people on leisure joyrides. Or when one person of the two riders, usually the non pilot, is handicapped, but still wants to ride.

Was this ride specially for a record in the tandem category, or do you actually prefer riding a tandem versus 2 seperate bikes for each of you?
Old 25th August 2023, 12:10   #8

Hey this is really good question. Tandems are used by both fully-abled and specially-abled. Tandem is not essentially for old people, both people have to work. This is not a personal question either. I have no idea what is old for you, but I am 47 years. Yes, this is Guinness record. I essentially like to do something that has not been by anyone in India or world. Unique.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 25th August 2023 at 16:01. Reason: Post formatting
Old 25th August 2023, 13:12   #9

Originally Posted by MeMo View Post
Hey this is really good question , tandems are used by both fully abled amd specially abled . Tandem is not essentially for old people , both people have to work.This is not a personal question either . I have no idea what is old for you ,but I am 47 years. Yes , this is guiness record. I essentially like to do something that has not been by anyone in India or world .Unique.
Old is usually 70-75+ per current life norms, and the WHO's extended middle age criteria.

I still do not get, as a cyclist, why one would want to ride a cycle, assisted by another pair of legs, and steered by another person. If completely able to ride one independently, or if not for a record.

But that's just me. Have fun. That's the important bit.
ebonho is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th August 2023, 13:15   #10

I think your point is valid and you should just try it so you get the answer.

It was not for fun, it was for the Guinness record. Two people riding tandem to the highest motorable pass, Umling La and we got the record. You can check this on the Guinness website by typing: tandem and Umling La. Good day!!

Last edited by libranof1987 : 25th August 2023 at 13:49. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts.
Old 25th August 2023, 13:40   #11

@MeMo,
Great to see and read about your experience. If you ever get time, I would request a more detailed travelogue but if not, this short synopsis is good enough. And congratulations on the record (if you have already got the certification).

I would be on the same page as the @doc - tandem cycling doesn't appeal to me (unless I get to do with a non-enthusiast cyclist like my wife at a leisurely pace at some touristy location/site); but in the end, I agree it comes down to everyone's preference

QQ - what's the angled rear seat on the Rohtang pass pic (and also in the last pic)? Can you expand more on that?

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
I still do not get, as a cyclist, why one would want to ride a cycle, assisted by another pair of legs, and steered by another person. If completely able to ride one independently, or if not for a record.
A year ago, in one of my group rides across Bangalore, I came across a couple who did the ~100 km ride on a tandem cycle. Both husband & wife were in great shape and had mentioned that they have been doing tandem cycling for several years and even attempted brevets (if my memory serves me right).

P.s. Being in the 40s is young, not old. Lots of experience(s) still to be gained. View of another 40-er!

Last edited by ninjatalli : 25th August 2023 at 13:47. Reason: grammar!
ninjatalli is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th August 2023, 13:42   #12

We all do these passes and routes in our cars and on our bikes. Kudos to you on doing it on a bicycle. I can imagine the endurance levels. Congratulations once again.
Old 25th August 2023, 13:48   #13

Thanks people for your interest and opinion on this; thanks for your wishes too.

1. GWR certificate I / we do have
2. I am doing these rides in two-woman team too
3. Yes I know that couple, they are my good friends
4. I do not ride with my husband during the record as he takes care of kids during that time and is at home when I am on road

Originally Posted by ruzbehxyz View Post
We all do these passes and routes in our cars and on our bikes. Kudos to you on doing it on a bicycle. I can imagine the endurance levels. Congratulations once again.
It was intense, it was madness, it was because NIMS did 14 peaks, it was fear to fail many times. We did not go to conquer mountains, we went to embrace them!

Regarding saddle, it is a special endurance saddle: Infy or Salle Italia, priced at 25k to 35k. It was from and for my tandem co-rider for that ride. I use the original saddle and I could not ride well on that. So again personal choice.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 25th August 2023 at 15:55. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts. Kindly use the Edit functionality add content.
Old 25th August 2023, 14:38   #14

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
A year ago, in one of my group rides across Bangalore, I came across a couple who did the ~100 km ride on a tandem cycle. Both husband & wife were in great shape and had mentioned that they have been doing tandem cycling for several years and even attempted brevets (if my memory serves me right).

P.s. Being in the 40s is young, not old. Lots of experience(s) still to be gained. View of another 40-er!
Totally. 40s and 50s are young middle age (per the WHO, again).

And at 52, I'm a whole lot fitter than I ever was through my mid to late 30s and well into my motorcycling 40s. Within sensible limits, age really is a number.

Back on the tandem bit, I once tried riding a sardar ji friend's Bajaj scooter with a sidecar. Thinking it would be a hoot. For a short distance only. To my house gate, where I was to hop off and he would return home.

Man, it was anything but easy to steer that thing I tell you. And in the first few panicky moments I almost side-tailed the rig into a PMT bus passing alongside. I'm guessing riding a tandem for the guy (or girl) in front would be similarly challenging.

The one behind, if able to see, would in my book be equivalent to one of those driving school cars where the instructor has maybe access to the hand brake for an emergency, but nothing else besides that, aside from a deep faith in God.

Me sitting shotgun with my son driving, or him sitting shotgun with me driving, are two similar scenarios that sort of come to mind.
Old 25th August 2023, 14:49   #15

Hahaha, by 40 we all almost know what we should not be doing and I think we are sorted. So, 40s are the new 20s and I think you can be a very interesting stoker, riding back - not in the front.

In reality, there are more funny things, one wants to go to Cafe Coffee Day for coffee and other wants to have filter coffee, one rider wants to ride early in the morning and the other late at night, then people shout - circus nu joker che. It is all part of the game. Then some comments: double hai. The best part is truck drivers waving at you, "double Gaddi"!!

Last edited by libranof1987 : 25th August 2023 at 16:00. Reason: Poorly typed post
MeMo is offline   (5) Thanks Received Infraction