Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On buying a car

Old 4th January 2015, 20:47   #466

Re: ARTICLE: How to buy a *USED* Car in India

News from Kerala :
As per a new rule, responsibility to change the ownership of a used car is now with the seller (instead of buyer) and it should be done at the RTO where seller' s address belongs.

Process:
seller to make an online application, take a print out of online application, take it to RTO with other docs and fees.
Sellers RTO then does the needful to transfer the ownership by emailing docs to purchasers RTO.

Article from local news paper (Sorry, its in Malayalam)
arjithin is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th January 2015, 22:28   #467

Superlike. This should eliminate the single largest reason agents were getting used, and reduce the chance - to some extent - that forged documents enter this process

Thanks for sharing
hserus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2015, 21:05   #468

Originally Posted by DOJ View Post
Dear Friends,

I am contemplating purchase of a sedan / MUV and am currently evaluating various options - both new and second hand. One of them is a first owner driven Fiat Linea petrol Emotion Pack (2009 variant - model preceding T-Jet). It has been driven less (~13,000 kms on the ODO in these 5 years) due to frequent international trips of the owner and now he is keen to sell as the car is lying around with much of daily use.

I have driven the car once and there are a few small niggles like Horn not functional, left power window jammed, difficult shift from 2nd to 3rd gear etc. Driving it in traffic was good. Have to test it on the highways once. Also observed that under the hood seemed fine at first glance, excepting that the car may require a service once before usage. The gentleman is quoting a figure of Rs. 3.5 lakhs for the car but may be willing to negotiate.

I know that Fiat has a poor resale value, but other than that, is there any obvious fact that I am missing out here when checking out a used Linea. Any particulars I should be noting in the service history of the car. Also is a sparingly used car like Linea good for another 4-5 years assuming I commute in it for ~40kms daily after purchase. Finally if I should get it checked by a mechanic, is there any reliable Fiat showroom (from your experience) that I can take the car too for a look. I'm based out of Mumbai.

Any pointers / checklist to consider would be very much appreciated.

Hey DOJ, Did you buy the Linea you had mentioned in this post. I had bought a Black Emotion 1.4 Fire last year in January and it has served me pretty well till now. I have not even got it serviced till now, just changed the engine oil. Me and my uncle(he has E-Class 190E, 220E,& several cars in US in his days) are of the opinion that old cars usually do not require frequent servicing as projected by a lot of people, its like they are in their peak between 4-8 Years. Being overseas did not help in getting the servicing done though this is still my primary car when i am in India and I have covered around 8K Kms in a year now with no troubles(touch wood). Just wanted to know if you did indeed buy this car and what is your owner experience if at all. Cheers.
Old 23rd January 2015, 00:27   #469

I recently bought a used car from a certain dealer. The deal was that he was to pay for the transfer process. I have given him all documents pertaining to and for transfer. I will be the second owner of the vehicle.
Its been almost one and a half month and i still have not received the new rc card. The vehicle is registered under Andheri rto and will be transferred to my name which is the same rto.
The dealer did send me some receipt which states that the fees have been paid etc. But the actual card has still not been received.
I need advice on what further action to take and if there is any way where i check the status online. Also is it legal to drive the car. I do have the insurance and xerox of original rc card.
Thanks in anticipation.
Old 23rd January 2015, 00:59   #470

Originally Posted by raycers_honda View Post
I need advice on what further action to take and if there is any way where i check the status online. Also is it legal to drive the car. I do have the insurance and xerox of original rc card.
You need not worry as RTO work tends to take more time than expected mostly.
You can drive the car without any worries. There is no problem in driving it unless you meet with an accident which requires an insurance claim because for that you will need to get the signatures of the first owner on the claim form.
Since you have received the receipt for RTO fee payment, you will receive the RC Card soon.
Old 24th January 2015, 16:43   #471
DOJ

Originally Posted by evillife View Post
Hey DOJ, Did you buy the Linea you had mentioned in this post. I had bought a Black Emotion 1.4 Fire last year in January and it has served me pretty well till now. I have not even got it serviced till now, just changed the engine oil. Me and my uncle(he has E-Class 190E, 220E,& several cars in US in his days) are of the opinion that old cars usually do not require frequent servicing as projected by a lot of people, its like they are in their peak between 4-8 Years. Being overseas did not help in getting the servicing done though this is still my primary car when i am in India and I have covered around 8K Kms in a year now with no troubles(touch wood). Just wanted to know if you did indeed buy this car and what is your owner experience if at all. Cheers.
Hi evillife, apologies for the delayed reply. I din't go for the Linea though as a value proposition I found it to be very appealing. The owner was willing for a final price of Rs. 3 lakhs and was also ready for inspection of the car by an authorized dealership to check for the small niggles present and remedies & costs for the same. The tilting point of the decision however rested with my family as they din't want to go for another 5 seater and we felt with my baby also growing up, it made sense to go for the occasional 7 seater like Ertiga. Hence booked that last month and got the delivery yesterday.

Having said this, I felt this is a solid car (Vault like as aptly described) and a great sedan. (build-wise would rate it several notches higher than my new Ertiga). Thanks.
Old 28th January 2015, 13:03   #472

Team BHP members - I need Some advise. I am planning to buy a used Mercedes Benz E Class. The car looks clean and registration and insurances are in order. The owner has sold the car to a used car dealer. The dealer wants me to make all payments directly to him. Now here is where I get suspicious. What if the owner makes a claim after a few days/months that the dealer sold the car without the owners consent. Shouldn't there be a Seller / Dealer agreement wherin he authorise the dealer to act as his representative and collect payments in all forms on his behalf. Also, the dealer is cooking up stories that the Bank NOC will be done at time of transfer. Should I be suspicious ?
Old 10th February 2015, 20:41   #473

Looking at a Ford Fiesta pre classic version ZXI, Diesel 2010 model 23k on the ODO, excellent condition.

I would be the third owner, the seller is asking for 4.2, does it look like a good deal?
Please advise
Shailesh
Old 1st March 2015, 15:39   #474

We are looking for a pre-owned WagonR to be used in Delhi. Can you please advise if the Maruti True Value is the best bet in Delhi? Very difficult to trust the car dealers in Delhi.

Need your suggestions.

EDIT: Have visited true value at Patparganj Ind Area and Competent Automobiles (Gazipur) in East Delhi but both of them were not having more than a couple of options in WagonR. Any idea which one is the biggest True Value outlet in Delhi?

Irish

Last edited by Irish : 1st March 2015 at 15:42.
Old 1st March 2015, 19:46   #475

You aren't likely to get too many variants of wagonR anyway. Pick the one that's the best suited to you - takes the least to customize, get it upgraded with whatever accessories at a friendly neighborhood garage and/or at that true value.

Just select which true value dealers are closest to you and visit two or three. You'll save yourself a ton of rto paperwork (or rather, RTO tout fees) if you find a car registered in the same RTO office as your residence so keep that in mind.

http://www.marutitruevalue.com/Tools_DealerLocator.aspx and select New Delhi.
Old 1st March 2015, 21:09   #476

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
You aren't likely to get too many variants of wagonR anyway. Pick the one that's the best suited to you - takes the least to customize, get it upgraded with whatever accessories at a friendly neighborhood garage and/or at that true value.

Just select which true value dealers are closest to you and visit two or three. You'll save yourself a ton of rto paperwork (or rather, RTO tout fees) if you find a car registered in the same RTO office as your residence so keep that in mind.

http://www.marutitruevalue.com/Tools_DealerLocator.aspx and select New Delhi.

Thanks for the information. I visited two of the True Value around my place. One of them asked Rs 2,500 as RTO fee apart from the price of the car. Both the True Value didn't have options so still looking for the same. Preference is silver colour after 2010.

I have also visited the website of True Value and it shows only 3 WagonRs that too under second "WagonR" option in the dropdown box. It seems like this site is not being maintained / upated properly. It doesn't show the cars which I saw at two of their locations.

Irish
Old 19th March 2015, 11:16   #477

Hello Everyone,

Since I am new to this, seeking advise on purchasing a new car.

I came across an ad online for a used 2014 Polo Comfortline (Petrol) which has driven approximately 12000 kms. The car has a small scratch, which the owner is saying he will fix it before selling. Though actual negotiations are yet to start, he is looking at around 5.7 lakhs for it. I personally think that I am well positioned if I can get the deal for about 5 - 5.2.

My questions:
1. What should I look at in the car?
2. At a high level, what should be a good price for the car?
3. For bargaining, what is a good price I should start with?
4. Is a Polo a good option for a used car?

I may have missed out on other considerations, would be great if you can guide me on them as well.

Looking forward to your expertise and advise.

Warm regards,
Siddhart
Old 20th March 2015, 09:25   #478

A nearly new polo is a fun car to drive - but can't comment on the car and its price without actually driving it around. It is lightly used, and no idea of what accessories are there in the car, so you may end up splitting the difference between the asking price and the one you're looking at.

VW doesn't really have too good a service network in some cities, no idea about hyd, so keep that in mind.
Old 20th March 2015, 11:03   #479

Originally Posted by swangdi View Post
I came across an ad online for a used 2014 Polo Comfortline (Petrol) which has driven approximately 12000 kms. .... he is looking at around 5.7 lakhs for it. I personally think that I am well positioned if I can get the deal for about 5 - 5.2.

My questions:
1. What should I look at in the car?
2. At a high level, what should be a good price for the car?
3. For bargaining, what is a good price I should start with?
4. Is a Polo a good option for a used car?

I may have missed out on other considerations, would be great if you can guide me on them as well.

Looking forward to your expertise and advise.

Warm regards,
Siddhart
Siddhart, the asking price of the car is very high in my opinion. Agreed it is a 2014 car but still asking 5.7L for it is way over being optimistic. In fact, this would be almost the Ex-showroom price the original owner would have paid for it (checked it on carwale.com). Also, as a brand, VW does not command such a resale value. In my opinion, the fair price should be around 4.5L given that the car has an accident free history and the condition in general is fine. Check service and insurance details to know about these. Polo is a good looking car with very good build quality, but with a mediocre engine in my opinion. And VW service as of yet is nothing to write about. Weigh your options and decide. Just as a seed to thought, if your use demands, then you can easily get bigger sedans in good condition for the kind of money you are looking to plonk in this car.

Check the price here:
ARTICLE: How to buy a *USED* Car in India-untitled.jpg

Last edited by saket77 : 20th March 2015 at 11:10. Reason: Adding the pricing screen shot.
saket77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2015, 13:03   #480

Originally Posted by swangdi View Post
Hello Everyone,

Since I am new to this, seeking advise on purchasing a new car.

I came across an ad online for a used 2014 Polo Comfortline (Petrol) which has driven approximately 12000 kms. The car has a small scratch, which the owner is saying he will fix it before selling. Though actual negotiations are yet to start, he is looking at around 5.7 lakhs for it. I personally think that I am well positioned if I can get the deal for about 5 - 5.2
I will share the details of my deal just to give you an idea.

Model : Polo petrol Trendline
Year and month of purchase (1st owner) : 2011 - September
I bought the car in : 2012 - July
KMS clocked : 11300kms (but 1st service was done by the 1st owner before handing over the car to me).
Accessories : good quality PU seat covers and basic Kenwood single din music system.
Amount paid : 3.55L
City : Bhopal (M.P)

I have no idea about the 2nd hand market in your city, but I still feel that the amount being asked is too much.

All the best
Mr.mitsuvolk is offline   (1) Thanks