Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On buying a car

Old 6th December 2019, 12:17   #1051

Lambroghini advice

Hey guys, I've never owned an exotic/super sports car.
Recently I came across a Lambroghini Gallardo - 2009 registered in Delhi.
Could anyone with knowledge regarding super cars tell me what would be the implications of buying one such pre owned car.

Also what would be a good price for this?
The dealer is not quoting a price and is instead asking me to make an offer. lol!
Old 7th December 2019, 22:28   #1052

Re: ARTICLE: How to buy a *USED* Car in India

The market in Bangalore is flooded with old Honda City cars, be cautious when buying them from any non-Honda dealership.
deehunk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 19:53   #1053

Want to buy a used fortuner
Can some bhpian from NCR region please lead me to a used fortuner for around 6 lakhs! Because I have found quiet a few of 2009 batch on OLX but I can’t trust the dealers.
Would be grateful if some one can help me.
Planning to buy it next year.

Sorry if this is in an inappropriate thread.

Regards.
Tulok
Old 30th December 2019, 13:05   #1054

I do not think you can get a FORTUNER for 6 lakhs even if it crossed one lakh KM.
One lakh KM and above FORTUNERS are generally available for 14 lakhs.
You can as well buy a SKODA YETI with 1 lakh KM on ODO. That is better and very reliable and also safe.
I purchased a 2012 registered SKODA YETI 4 wheel drive ,top model in 2017 and ever since I am highly satisfied owner. I went to Khatmandu, Badarinath etc., without any type of vehicle problems. On maintenance I have paid more than 1.7 lakh so far for clutch plates and radiator , drive shaft replacement so far but it is very safe and good car.

Skoda Yeti
venuraja is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2020, 21:40   #1055

Hi Folks, how would a 5 yr old Camry petrol (not hybrid) sound? Its Toyota Certified as well!!
https://www.toyotautrust.in/used-car...ta-camry/59339

Old 11th January 2020, 17:01   #1056

Originally Posted by venuraja View Post
I do not think you can get a FORTUNER for 6 lakhs even if it crossed one lakh KM.
One lakh KM and above FORTUNERS are generally available for 14 lakhs.
You can as well buy a SKODA YETI with 1 lakh KM on ODO. That is better and very reliable and also safe.
I purchased a 2012 registered SKODA YETI 4 wheel drive ,top model in 2017 and ever since I am highly satisfied owner. I went to Khatmandu, Badarinath etc., without any type of vehicle problems. On maintenance I have paid more than 1.7 lakh so far for clutch plates and radiator , drive shaft replacement so far but it is very safe and good car.

Skoda Yeti
I found some on olx, for example I've found this on OLX. What do you think? Toyota Fortuner 3.0 4x4 Manual, 2009, Diesel https://www.olx.in/ad/1550003445

But I am not confident enough to crack the deal with unknown dealers. So I was just wondering whether some bhpians from Delhi or NCR region could lead me to a good example fortuner in an around 6 lakhs.

Thanks a ton for your valuable advise venuraja but we don’t have any dealer or service centre of skoda yet in our state. Moreover I find Yeti to be too subtle for my liking. I love the look of the first gen fortuner, a macho looking butch suv of which I have a dream to turn it into a PROJECT of my dreams

Tulok
Old 16th January 2020, 18:35   #1057

[Cross posting from the used car price thread]

Hi All

I am planning to look at used CSUV in Bangalore. I do have a bike for my needs but need a 4 wheeler for city and short trips to my hometown.

I have narrowed my choices down to the ford EcoSport titanium plus AT. This would be my first car (would have preferred the TDCi but since my dad and sister should also be able to drive it I am gravitating towards the AT).

I am assuming that most people in Bangalore would have got this car for short office commute and with a NA engine and a TC gearbox this should be a fairly reliable car for some time to come.

Could fellow members please help with pointers on the expected price that would be fair for something like a 2018 Titanium plus AT (so I can avoid the 17 inchers on the 2017 model) run about 15k to 20k kms.

Also, I had a doubt on whether it would be prudent to go for cars registered in the company name. Last year I had missed out on a ford fiesta 1.6s since I was afraid of the issues that might come to transfer the car from company to me. But it seems in Bangalore this is not uncommon so wanted to know whether it's advisable to go for something like this
JithinR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th January 2020, 16:57   #1058

Originally Posted by Equus View Post
Hi Folks, how would a 5 yr old Camry petrol (not hybrid) sound? Its Toyota Certified as well!!
https://www.toyotautrust.in/used-car...ta-camry/59339

This vehicle got sold. Did you purchase it ?
Old 19th January 2020, 00:58   #1059

Originally Posted by vivek.ks View Post
This vehicle got sold. Did you purchase it ?

Nope - it looks like a glitch as it isnt showing most of the cars. Better call them and confirm.
I wouldnt want it - decided I would rather go for a hybrid when I have more monies

Last edited by Equus : 19th January 2020 at 01:00.
Old 19th January 2020, 11:28   #1060

Watch out

Red Liner is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 00:46   #1061

Does buying a used Mitsubishi Outlander make sense considering the availability of spares and Mitsubishi's future in India? There is a 2010 33000 kms, second owner model available for sale.
Also any FNGs specialising in maintaining Mitsubishi vehicles in Pune?

Last edited by adi.mariner : 28th January 2020 at 00:47. Reason: Added one more query
adi.mariner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th February 2020, 19:15   #1062

I am not sure if this is the right place to post this - apologies to begin with. Need advice/help from members here on my situation. I live in Kolkata.
I would also apologize for the relatively long post to explain my situation.

I currently own a 2006 Santro (still running strong) and a 2013 Ford Ecosport Ecoboost 1.0L apart from a 2018 Honda CBR 250R.
I got the Ecosport used in 2018 end after selling my 2009 Honda City because the latter was getting old and had to pay around 50k road tax on it. Got the Ecosport from a dealer and did the following checks before buying:
1. Checked ownership - was company owned
2. Checked with Ford ASS - all services done regularly there and had only 33k kms on the odo and no major issues
3. Got it checked from local mechanic for any visible issues and there were none

Now after buying it, I got a full service done at Ganges Ford workshop (oil, change, clutch change - it was hard, brakes etc.) and good to go. Within a month I got a check engine light on while I was on a road - this episode went on for months with the dealership when they finally replaced the catalytic converter (in the process a few bushes, brakes, oxygen sensor and rear shockers were also changed).
This was from Feb - June 2019. Then again when they gave me the car to "test" and be satisfied, I found a couple of spark plugs and high tensioner cables of the spark plugs also went kaput. My question was why wasnt this noticed earlier when the car visited the dealership so many times.

Finally I went to a different workshop (Kaikan Ford) and I was relatively satisfied with their service and took my car (around Aug 2019) - I had mentally decided to give one last chance to the car and Ford workshop/brand in general (sorry to be to extreme here but this is just my experience)
Now in October 2019 I got another full service done because we were planning to do a long road trip - that finally happened in Dec 2019.
The car performed like a champ on a 2700 kms round trip. A few weeks later when I took my car out on a Friday, the dashboard showed up engine overheating symbol - took my car to ASS and I had to shell another 8K for a new fan (I never had a car in the past with fan going bad)

Net net, right now, with just a 6 year old car, I am frustrated and want to get rid of it (I was always a Honda/Hyundai guy but decided to go for the Ford as the deal was sweet and heard lots of good things about the Ecoboost). I am not willing to spend another penny/time on the car to get it fixed if something breaks again.

My office is close to my home so my daily run is not that much. I need a bigger car only for road trips with friends/family and occasional weekend drives/airport runs etc.

In either case, have decided to let go of the Ford. Now I have 2 options:

1. Buy something like used Creta/WRV (still have old workhorse santro for the city/local errands)

2. Exchange both for 1 new car - after driving a City and Ecosport, dont want to degrade either. My budget is max 10-11 lakhs.

Please suggest.

PS: Thanks for being patient with reading my long post.
Maverick14 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th February 2020, 20:01   #1063

Team,

I was looking for guidance on the Insurance for Pre-owned 3 years Young Tata Hexa XTA. The Insurance is expiring in mid March, i have been looking for a competitive quote with zero dep.

However I am being told that the premium will be very high since its pre owned and also there is an ownership transfer. So much so that the Online Insurer DIGIT quoted an amount of 49 K with pre inspection as mandatory for an IDV of 12 lacs.

I am really confused as the current insurance is 29k with Tata AIG through Royal Sundaram?? This also is confusing to understand as why Royal Sundaram is involved in between.

Request people who have bought a pre-owned car and gone for insurance to share their experience and guidance.

Manish
Old 20th February 2020, 21:07   #1064

Originally Posted by Maverick14 View Post
--snip --.

PS: Thanks for being patient with reading my long post.
The Santro works, so keep it. My personal choice out of the creta or the wrv would be the Honda. It just feels and looks more capable. Cretas are literally everywhere. However, that's just me. They're both equally reliable and good cars, provided you do the following:
1. Find a reliable Mechanic based on recommendation from local bhpians.
2. Evaluate many many many cars.
Don't fall for a particular one. Even if there is one fault that makes you uncomfortable, pass.
4. Don't try and save time and set a deadline. Do not buy until every aspect satisfies you.
5. Buy directly. No dealers and no company owned vehicles.

Additionally, you can post updates on your explorations here so that we can tell you to pass or buy. Only saying this because the faults you found in the ecosport should have been caught much earlier. Before buying.
All the best in your search now.
mayankk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2020, 23:52   #1065

Mods: Not sure if this is in the right forum, so please move it or merge with another thread if it violates. I tried a few searches, but could not find a recent thread about this topic.

I am in the market for a used car, especially AT. A lot of cars online and at used car lots are Skodas/VWs and are 6-7 years old. This pattern is not as pronounced on other manufacturers. Is it because of warranty expiration or fear of DSG/part failures after 7 years?

There are some good Superbs, Jettas and Passats, but I am wondering why these cars are on the market when they turn 6-7 (no recent 3-4 year models)
sridharj77 is offline   (1) Thanks