Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On buying a car

Search this Thread
Old 5th March 2011, 18:47   #121
BHPian

Re: ARTICLE: Lease OR Loan? Which EMI is better for you

Are lease plans open to individuals now? I am a lawyer with a law firm, on a retainer basis. Wondering if I can get a car on lease?
Old 22nd June 2011, 19:56   #122
BHPian

Sharing my experience on Lease...

As I see the Lease and the specifics of how it is executed is different either by leasing company or the agreement between the employer and the leasing company.

In my company its finance leases and works very similar to a loan. (except, for the tenure of the lease the vehicle will be in the name of my company)

The leasing company has little or no involvement in the running and maintenance of the car, unless you are doing a modification that will change the configuration of the car. Which I did in my case by retro fitting LPG kit, they had to issue a NOC (even insurance company had to) for RTO to endorse it on the RC book (now card), except for that I had no interaction with leasing company for the entire tenure.

I suppose the ones where leasing company is managing the fleet the terms of service and the exit policy and buyback option of the vehicle is different...

Interestingly in my company, this policy is not extended to employees in MH, not sure the reason though.

I see two disadvantages with lease:
1. major one being, if you leave the company during the tenure of the lease, you end up doing a pre-closure and may have to pay some penalty.
(dont know if the new company also has a lease policy and tied up with same leasing company are there any benefits)

2. there is no part payment option where you could save on the overall outflow, however two options available are to do a down payment upfront or complete (pre-)colsure when ever you want.

I just completed a lease and planning a new one. The completed Lease was on my Santro AT: (all figures rounded to nearest thousand)

Lease Amount: 4,36,000